ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

My Little Pony Equestria Girls: Twilight Sparkle Goes on a Quest!

Updated on October 27, 2014

Twilight Sparkle Travels to a Strange World of Humans in a New Movie!

''My Little Pony: Equestria Girls'' is the new movie starring the cartoon characters from the My Little Pony Friendship is Magic television series. The animated movie stars Twilight Sparkle, her dragon Spike, and her friends Rainbow Dash, Fluttershy, Applejack, Rarity and Pinkie Pie, and everyone gets a good scene or two.

My 11-year-old son took me to see the movie for Father's Day, which I suspect was more for his own enjoyment than anything I would have wanted to do.

Here is our review of the movie.

The Pony Princess Travels Through a Magic Mirror

The movie begins just after Twilight Sparkle has been named a princess, and she and her friends travel to the Crystal Empire to meet with Princess Celestia. But that night, a former student of Celestia's steals Twilight Sparkle's magic crown and escapes through a mirror to an alternative universe.

Twilight is sent on a quest to retrieve the crown, and is told she only has three nights to do it or she will be stuck in the alternative universe for many moons (the equestrian way of counting years). Celestia tells Twilight's friends that sending six ponies through the mirror might upset the universe's balance too much, so Twilight must travel alone. But at the last moment Spike jumps through the mirror and follows Twilight.

They land in front of a frighteningly strange place called a high school, and even worse, Twilight has turned into a human!

Twilight Discovers the Joys of Being Human!

The funniest part of the movie occurs after Twilight discovers she is no longer a pony and must adjust to being a human -- she finds that walking on all fours, for instance, leads to many strange stares from real humans! After a series of mishaps and helped by Spike (who has turned into a dog), she finally makes it into the school to find out that the crown she is seeking has been turned over to the principal, who will bestow it on the student chosen as princess of a dance being held in three days.

Even though she is a new student in the school, she determines to win the vote to get the crown back. The only problem? The pony who stole the crown, Sunset Shimmer, is also a girl in this universe, and she has risen to the top of the student body through intimidation and fear. And that pony, Sunset Shimmer, will stop at nothing to get the crown and use its magic to expand her power.

Will Twilight be able to find the help she needs to win the crown?

All the Ponies are Human After All...

The next part of the movie is handled very well. Twilight discovers that all of her Ponyville friends -- Applejack, Rarity, Rainbow Dash, Pinkie Pie and Fluttershy -- have human counterparts!

The movie does a good job transferring the personalities and foibles of each pony to its human double, and even though I had never seen My Little Pony before it was easy to see how seamlessly the friends work together.

The television series does make the point that ``friendship is magic,'' so it should come as no surprise that in the final confrontation the six friends' love for each other plays a large part in determining the outcome.

One thing that I should point out: the final battle may be a bit frightening to really young children, though none of the kids in the movie with us seemed bothered by it.

I don't want to give away too much else, because the movie has just opened. I will say that my son, a big fan of My Little Pony, loved the movie, while I found it one of the more enjoyable children's movies that we have seen in recent years.

Of course, any fan of My Little Pony will like this movie. But I really believe that any parent or adult who is dragooned into chaperone duty won't regret the time spent!

The Movie Trailer

Who is Your Favorite Character on My Little Pony Friendship is Magic?

My son's favorite is Fluttershy, who is very shy and is an animal caretaker in Ponyville.

I kind of liked Rarity, who does the fashion for the human versions in the movie. Spike has a crush on her, which leads to a few jokes in the movie.

Pinkie Pie is the funniest, while Rainbow Dash is the most enthusiastic (everyone to her is ''awesome''!). Applejack seems to be the most sensible next to Twilight.

Which character is the best?

See results

Of Comic Books and Family Vacations

About Goldenrulecomics

My daughter and I usually write about places we go on family trips and comic books from my youth, so reviewing a movie that my son wanted to see is a bit different for us. If you want to know more about what we do, please see here:

Of Comic Books and Family Vacations: Who is GoldenRuleComics?
Who is GoldenRuleComics? Actually, the better question is who ARE GoldenRuleComics! I am the father of a teenage daughter, and we live in New Jersey. I hand...

My Little Pony Equestria Girls Official Movie Poster

My Little Pony Equestria Girls Official Movie Poster
My Little Pony Equestria Girls Official Movie Poster

If you have seen the movie we'd love for you to share what you thought? Or please comment on My Little Pony or this review if you haven't.

Thanks for stopping by!

What's Your Opinion?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • shadowfast7 profile image

      Sure Temp 

      4 years ago

      i LOVE my little pony!

    • profile image

      Ruthi 

      4 years ago

      Not being around young children much, I've not seen My Little Pony in years. Good to see the character and friends still entertain the wee ones.

    • profile image

      shabi9764 

      5 years ago

      Maybe i will buy it to my little girl thanks!

    • Vikk Simmons profile image

      'Vikk Simmons 

      5 years ago from Houston

      No opinion offered as I haven't seen the movie. Sounds like it's one the kids will love, though.

    • profile image

      johnrh1 

      5 years ago

      Wow, I remember them on the commerical's over 20 years ago my sisters loved loved them!...looks like something my niece would like now :)

    • tophatpro profile image

      tophatpro 

      5 years ago

      Sounds like a movie girls would love.

    • CherylsArt profile image

      Cheryl Paton 

      5 years ago from West Virginia

      Sounds like it was a nice father's day present.

    • profile image

      Vacation-In-My-Head 

      5 years ago

      Haven't seen the movie yet, but after watching the trailer, I know that my daughter will love it. Thanks for sharing you thoughts on the movie!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)