ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Music from Prince of Egypt and Joseph King of Dreams

Updated on March 8, 2016

Watching the movie just for the music? Yes I am guilty of that.

Yes on more than one occasion I have popped in a video just to have the music going in the background. The main culprit is doing dishes. Now its not just music videos that are being placed in the player. There are some movies that also have lots of songs / music in them.

The two movie soundtracks that I am relaying today have both songs and music throughout. In fact listening to the words helps to make the animation jump further out and mean that much more.

With that being said please lean back and listen to the music that is being shared on this page. If you wish to read my comments then I hope that they will make the music mean that much more.

Now go forth listen, read and enjoy.

Sound Track from The Prince of Egypt

This also includes the artist

1. The Prince Of Egypt (When You Believe) - Mariah Carey/Whitney Houston

2. Deliver Us - Ofra Haza/Eden Riegel

3. The Reprimand - Stephen Schwartz

4. Following Tzipporah - Stephen Schwartz

5. All I Ever Wanted (With Queen's Reprise) - Amick Byram/Linda Dee Shayne

6. Goodbye Brother - Ofra Haza

7. Through Heaven's Eyes - Brian Stokes Mitchell

8. The Burning Bush - Stephen Schwartz

9. Playing With The Big Boys - Steve Martin/Martin Short

10. Cry - Ofra Haza

11. Rally - Stephen Schwartz

12. The Plagues - Ralph Fiennes/Amick Byram

13. Death Of The First Born - Stephen Schwartz

14. When You Believe - Michelle Pfeiffer/Sally Dworsky

15. Red Sea - Stephen Schwartz

16. Through Heaven's Eyes - K-Ci & JoJo

17. River Lullaby - Amy Grant

18. Humanity - Jessica Andrews/Clint Black/Boyz II Men/Shirley Caesar/Jesse Campbell/Carman...

19. I Will Get There (A Cappella) - Boyz II Men .....

Through Heaven's Eyes

From The Prince of Egypt this is my favorite song. In fact I actually picked up the sound track for this song alone. And yes it was from the local library so I paid for one song and got the rest for free. In fact I have this song memorized and can sing it back. The others not so much. But in my opinion any song that I am willing to memorize is worth sharing with others.

You will also see that there are two version of this song. Please take some time and listen to both. I will be asking your opinion of your favorite.

Animated Version

Live Version

Through heaven's Eyes from the movie

Through Heaven's Eyes live in concert

A quick question

Which version of Through Heaven's Eyes do you like better?

See results

The Prince of Egypt - All I Ever Wanted

Imagine if you will, your life being changed in a matter of moments. Well that's what this song is in response to. Moses had been raised the son of Pharaoh. To him that was his life all he ever knew all he ever wanted. And yet he found out he was not an Egyptian but of Jewish birth. From those that the Egyptians said were their slaves.

All I Ever Wanted

The Prince of Egypt - Playing With The Big Boys Now

To be honest this is my least favorite song because of whom it is about. It is understood that the time of Moses that those in Egypt worshiped what they believed were gods. Even though Moses was able to out do their parlor tricks they were playing to the crowd. I do have to say the graphics in this video were well done.

Playing With The Big Boys Now

The Prince of Egypt - The Plagues

The plagues on Egypt were brought together in this song. The main words don't list the plagues but the graphics in the video do. Its things like this that make me wonder which came first the music or the movie.

The Plagues

The Prince of Egypt Trailier

Check out the trailer and listen to the music that is being used.

Sound Track from Joseph King Of Dreams

This also includes the artists

1) Miracle Child - Maureen McGovern, Russell Buchanan, David Campbell

2) Bloom - Maureen McGovern

3) Marketplace - Ensemble Cast

4) Whatever Road's at Your Feet - David Campbell

5) Better Than I - David Campbell

6) Bloom (Reprise) - Jodi Benson

7) More than You Take - David Campbell & Jodi Benson

You know better than I

It's amazing how a little time away allows a bit of thinking time. Granted in this case the song was about the main character spending two years in prison. Reflecting on his life till this point. It also get him ready for what is yet to come.

Again your opinion is requested as to which you like better:

Animated Version

Live Version

You know better than I - Animated version

You know better than I - Live Version

Another quick question.

Which version of Better than I, do you like better?

See results

Joseph King of Dreams - Miracle Child

This song describes the birth, childhood and a little bit of Joseph's adulthood. You get to see how he learns with his dad. And through this training his mother is weaving and decorating a cloak for him. You are also able to see how his brothers wish to help but as Joseph grows up he becomes mom and dad's favorite. You see the resentment in their faces.

Miracle Child

Joseph King of Dreams - More Than You Take

This duet takes the story through the seven years of plenty in preparation for the seven years of famine. Throughout this song you also see Joseph's family growing. With the plenty a percentage will be set aside each year for the seven years of famine. In conjunction to the title with the years of plenty if they did not know about the years of famine they would not be prepared.

Genesis

41:34 Let Pharaoh do this, and let him appoint officers over the land, and take up the fifth part of the land of Egypt in the seven plenteous years.

More Than You Take

Joseph: King of Dreams Trailer

Check out the trailer and listen to the music that is being used.

There are two sound tracks to choose from.

Which sound track do you like better?

While you have a tune stuck in your head. - Please leave a comment about this site.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PaigSr profile imageAUTHOR

      PaigSr 

      4 years ago from State of Confusion

      @Anna2of5: You are welcome. Now go to bed.8-)

    • profile image

      Anna2of5 

      4 years ago

      Well done. So much more uplifting than the movie I watched before switchng to read your lenses. Thanks for taking the time to put together this. :D

    • PaigSr profile imageAUTHOR

      PaigSr 

      4 years ago from State of Confusion

      @ideadesigns: You are correct. I checked over my lens layout on my computer and that is what I had. But when it made it onto the lens I had the wrong choice selected. I have removed that quiz. Thanks for catching it.

    • PaigSr profile imageAUTHOR

      PaigSr 

      4 years ago from State of Confusion

      @ideadesigns: Always glad to share. And also glad to hear how things I am sharing are being used by others. I hope your son enjoys the movie.

    • profile image

      ideadesigns 

      4 years ago

      One more... the quiz at the bottom has the wrong answer (i think)... Joseph came in as slave, Israelites there for 400 yrs, then Moses (Prince) came to lead them out. Right? :)

    • profile image

      ideadesigns 

      4 years ago

      My 7 yr old son looking over my shoulder said, I like that movie, I want to watch it right now, so he's looking for it. :) I love both movies. They are what I would play all the time when my two oldest kids were little. At least they know two bible stories really well, Moses and Joseph. I like the song "Bloom" and many others, your right it's good music. My favorites stories as you can tell by my lenses. Thanks for sharing!

    • WriterJanis2 profile image

      WriterJanis2 

      6 years ago

      I sure have. Love the music from Prince of Egypt.

    • PaigSr profile imageAUTHOR

      PaigSr 

      6 years ago from State of Confusion

      @rawwwwwws lm: I am not a child. (At least on the out side) I will often time put the movie on just to have the music playing in the back ground. Good possibility that may have also motivated me to do up this review. Also to purchase them instead of taking out from the library so many times.

    • rawwwwwws lm profile image

      rawwwwwws lm 

      6 years ago

      I love the Prince of Egypt! One of my favorite childhood movies.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)