ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Review and Meaning of David Bowie's "Where Are We Now?"

Updated on October 15, 2015

Genius Returns!

What a surprise to wake up to a new David Bowie single this morning! The last time I felt like this was in 1980 when he released Ashes to Ashes. I didn't know what to expect, I clicked on the Vimeo play button with trepidation, would it be worthy or a bitter disappointment? I needn't have worried, it's a brilliant song that gets better every time I hear it.

As with most of Bowie's music, this song is certainly multi-layered. The lyrics are poetically ambiguous but the melody is visceral. The overwhelming emotions it evokes are sadness, regret and nostalgia.

The Definition of Elegiac

Some people described "Where Are We Now?" as elegiac. I knew this word but I wasn't sure of its precise meaning. One dictionary defined it as "Of, relating to, or involving elegy or mourning or expressing sorrow for that which is irrecoverably past". In future, I suggest the definition will read; Please refer "Where Are We Now?"

Video, David Bowie's - "Where Are We Now?"

Why So Sad?

The song, whilst undeniably beautiful, is achingly sad. Bowie and his companion in the video seem to be choking back the tears. This is more than nostalgia, it's foreboding, it's fearful, it's summoning up courage, it's clinging onto hope. Bowie's physical persona is absolutely stripped back, no color, no mask. The way he stares down the camera is confessional.

The lyrics reference his time in Germany when he was at his most creative but also recognize that those times are gone; "walking the dead". I was intrigued by the phrase "The moment you know, you know you know". This could refer to the moment of creative inspiration, I took it as something altogether more sinister, the awful revelation that your worst fears will be realized. This is supported by "fingers are crossed just in case". The song finishes on a defiant note; "as long as there's sun, as long as there's rain, as long as there's fire, as long as there's me, as long as there's you"

Fittingly, the video closes with shots of the Victory Column in Berlin. Bowie's life has been a triumph of talent, durability and artistic integrity. I hope that the new album can fulfill the promise of this song.

So, where are we now? Bowie and the majority of his fans are nearer the end than the beginning but we still have something to contribute, something to say and nobody says it better than David Bowie. I can't wait until the next day to hear it.

David Bowie's New Album "The Next Day"

Due for release March 2013

Here are the tracklistings for the two versions (Standard and De-luxe) of the upcoming album (you can pre-order now)

The Next Day

Standard Version:

01. The Next Day 3:51

02. Dirty Boys 2:58

03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56

04. Love Is Lost 3:57

05. Where Are We Now? 4:08

06. Valentine's Day 3:01

07. If You Can See Me 3:16

08. I'd Rather Be High 3:53

09. Boss Of Me 4:09

10. Dancing Out In Space 3:24

11. How Does The Grass Grow 4:33

12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30

13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41

14. Heat 4:25

Total (Approximately) 53:14

Deluxe Version

01. The Next Day 3:51

02. Dirty Boys 2:58

03. The Stars (Are Out Tonight) 3:56

04. Love Is Lost 3:57

05. Where Are We Now? 4:08

06. Valentine's Day 3:01

07. If You Can See Me 3:16

08. I'd Rather Be High 3:53

09. Boss Of Me 4:09

10. Dancing Out In Space 3:24

11. How Does The Grass Grow 4:33

12. (You Will) Set The World On Fire 3:30

13. You Feel So Lonely You Could Die 4:41

14. Heat 4:25

Bonus tracks:

15. So She 2:31

16. I'll Take You There 2:44

17. Plan 2:34

UPDATE: Now released, here's a YouTube video of the whole album:-

David Bowie's Latest Album, The Next Day

Where Are We Now? Links

I find it fascinating to read what other people think about Bowie's work. As I find other stuff, I'll add the links here.

Search for more David Bowie Records and Books

Guestbook Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • juditpaton profile image

      Iudit Gherghiteanu 

      5 years ago from Ozun

      beautiful songs, i am sorry because did not know about David Bowie before. At least now i got there...

    • DJ-TBone profile image

      DJ-TBone 

      5 years ago

      hey i had never heard "wild is the wind" before so thank you for posting it, awesome song! And good creative insights :) cool lens!

    • Jasonsuffolk profile imageAUTHOR

      Jasonsuffolk 

      5 years ago from Ipswich, England

      @CMatthewHawkins: Thanks for your kind words. I found your excellent lens and I've added it o the "related lenses" in the right hand column above.

    • CMatthewHawkins profile image

      CMatthewHawkins 

      5 years ago

      I like the way you walk the read through the process of thinking about lyrics and music. There are several Squidoo lenses that go beyond simply saying "I like this," and "I don't like that"; but, rather, enable the reader to have a deeper understanding of the creative work. I am going to add this lens, as a link, in my David Bowie page.

    • ismeedee profile image

      ismeedee 

      5 years ago

      Such an insightful review! I didn't know he had a new single until this lens! I like the song, too!

    • profile image

      aquarian_insight 

      5 years ago

      I'm listening to the song now and I agree, it is achingly beautiful. I enjoyed reading your comments on the song and the meanings you derived. Thank you.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)