ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Preacher's Wife, a Christmas movie review

Updated on December 29, 2014
ecogranny profile image

Feel-good movie, historical fantasy novel, or an eclectic library of music, Kathryn goes for entertainment that inspires and invigorates

The Preacher's Wife video cover
The Preacher's Wife video cover | Source

Download and watch it now

Whether it's the music, which soars, the sad/funny story, hunky Denzel Washington taking prat falls, the rocking feel-good finale, or all of the above, The Preacher's Wife is my favorite Christmas movie by far.

With the inimitable voice of Whitney Houston and a moving, as well as a get-up-and-move soundtrack, the film makes a lovely stocking stuffer for the music lover as well as the romantic-comedy lover in your life.

Funny, poignant, and shining a little light on the rich diversity of inner city life

A remake of the 1947 film, The Bishop's Wife, this flick warms our hearts and cheers our souls with poignant moments and fun twists, not the least of which is that it is set in the inner city and sheds light on inner city problems, admittedly in that glossy, feel-good, comedic Hollywood way. Don't expect any deep discussions here, but if you're paying attention, you might see something that surprises you, all woven seamlessly into the story.

Plus it takes those of us who grew up in rather staid white churches inside the rollicking community of a Black church, which extends far beyond four walls and a steeple.

Did I mention the handsome, the debonair, the oh-so-gorgeous Washington? Sigh.

Washington's co-stars shine

While Whitney Houston and Courtney Vance are not the heartthrobs or the eye candy for this little old lady that is Denzel, both do a credible job in their roles, Vance playing the heart-weary, faith-challenged minister to a tee.

Houston's vocals are sublime, as though these songs were for her a labor of love, and that is coming from one who has never been a huge Houston fan. This is one movie track album I enjoy listening to again and again.

So yes, The Preacher's Wife is in my holiday-watching queue, at the top of the list, and I'm looking forward to sitting down with my main squeeze and laughing, and crying, and singing, and jumping up and dancing to it (blinds closed, of course), one more time.

Like the vocals? Get the soundtrack.

If you like the movie, or if you are a Houston fan, you absolutely must get the album.

The Preacher's Wife: Original Soundtrack Album
The Preacher's Wife: Original Soundtrack Album

Houston's voice is perfection on this soundtrack, sending shivers through my body at times, at others, forcing me out of my chair to dance.

 

Here's a taste--The official trailer

Won't you sign my guest book? Maybe share what you think of this movie, or tell us all about your all-time favorite holiday film. What touches you this time of year?

© 2013 Kathryn Grace

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ecogranny profile imageAUTHOR

      Kathryn Grace 

      3 years ago from San Francisco

      Catherine, thank you for stopping by this page and for letting me know about the scenes video having been blocked. When last I viewed, the video was alive and well, but I've removed it. If Disney doesn't want us to share that clip, we'll just have to get the flick!

      Thankfully, it doesn't cost too much to stream the movie, nothing at all if one is an Amazon Prime customer, so we can still feel inspired by all all those fiery, romantic songs.

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 

      3 years ago from Orlando Florida

      A very nice review. I saw this movie long ago and clicked to watch the video of the music scenes to refresh my memory. The video is blocked due to copyright infringement.

    • ecogranny profile imageAUTHOR

      Kathryn Grace 

      4 years ago from San Francisco

      @anonymous: I am touched that you shared memories of your mom, and especially of her sitting with the tree lights after everyone else had gone to bed.

      Many thanks for stopping by.

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      4 years ago

      I love this movie. And to hear Whitney sing "Yes, Jesus Loves Me" is just magical. It's a remake of the original "The Bishop's Wife" starring Loretta Young, Cary Grant and David Niven and I've got that one, too.

      My all time favorite holiday movie is "Miracle on 34th Street", the original with Maureen O'Hara.

      What touches me most this time of the year is remembering my mom. This was her favorite holiday season. She passed away 20 years ago, but it's as if she's still right here. I can remember how she would sit and watch the lights twinkle on the Christmas tree well into the wee hours of the night. And she could bake some of the most delicious desserts! Fond, fond memories.

      Thanks for sharing.

    • ecogranny profile imageAUTHOR

      Kathryn Grace 

      4 years ago from San Francisco

      @aka-rms: It is! Thanks for stopping by and being my very first commenter.

    • aka-rms profile image

      Robin S 

      4 years ago from USA

      I somehow missed this one. Looks enjoyable.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)