ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Thor Movie Review

Updated on January 30, 2015

Thor Movie - Drops The Hammer!!

Well, Summer may not have started yet, but the Summer movie season has officially arrived. With the arrival of "Thor" in theaters this weekend, we have our first of at least three, highly anticipated superhero Summer blockbusters (with "Green Lantern" and "Captain America" waiting in the wings). While I was excited to see this film (and thought the trailers looked promising), of all the Marvel comic films heading our way in the coming years, given its basis in Norse mythology and magic, I thought "Thor" had the greatest chance of striking out and rating high on the cheese meter. Fortunately, I was wrong, as "Thor" does not disappoint.


Thor - One Sheet

Starring:

Chris Hemsworth as Thor

Tom Hiddleston as Loki

Natalie Portman as Jane Foster

Anthony Hopkins as Odin

Stellan Skarsgard as Erik Selvig

Idris Elba as Heimdall

Kat Dennings as Darcy Lewis

Rene Russo as Frigga

Clark Gregg as Agent Phil Coulson

Colm Feore as Laufey

Written by: Ashley Edward Miller, Zack Stentz and Don Payne

Directed by: Kenneth Branagh

Studio: Paramount Pictures

Rating: PG-13

Run Time: 130 minutes

Thor Trailer

type=text
type=text

Thor Movie - The Review

Summary

* * * WARNING, SPOILERS AHEAD * * *

The film begins with Thor (Chris Hemsworth) being banished to Earth by his father Odin (Anthony Hopkins), without his powers and enchanted hammer (Mjolnir). Thor's banishment is punishment for defying Odin's orders and traveling to Jotunheim, the realm of the Frost Giants (in violation of a long standing truce), to seek revenge following a sneak attack by the Frost Giants, on the day Thor was set to ascend to the throne of Asgard.

Upon arriving on Earth, Thor meets, and of course, eventually falls in love with Jane Foster (Natalie Portman). Thor later learns that Mjolnir was also sent to Earth by Odin, but with an enchantment upon it, allowing it only to be lifted by someone worthy of wielding its' power (which, at least initially, Thor is not). This leads to some humorous "sword in the stone" type moments, as beer guzzling rednecks from all over New Mexico show up to try to pry the hammer loose, including a very funny attempt and cameo appearance by Stan "the Man" Lee.

Meanwhile, back in Asgard, Thor's brother Loki (Tom Hiddleston), who not surprisingly, manipulated many of the events leading to Thor's banishment, takes advantage of Odin falling into a weakened state, and takes the throne of Asgard for himself. Knowing that his rule will never be secure as long as Thor is alive, Loki sends The Destroyer, an unstoppable enchanted suit of armor that is used to protect Asgard's treasures, to kill Thor. Thor, of course, eventually proves himself worthy (after learning some humility and sacrifice) and regains his powers and Mjolnir, and is able to defeat The Destroyer, and finally returns to Asgard for a climactic showdown with his treacherous brother Loki.

type=text
type=text

THOR MOVIE - THE GOOD

Directing & Acting

The direction and performances were great from top to bottom. Director Kenneth Branagh succeeds by showing respect for the core material and staying true to the comics. He manages to deliver a fun and entertaining Summer popcorn flick, without sacrificing plot and character development. Branagh's Shakespearian background serves him well here, especially in the scenes shared by Hemsworth, Hiddleston, and Hopkins. In fact, Loki's backstabbing plot to ascend to the throne of Asgard has a bit of a Julius Ceasar feel to it. Branagh also manages to strike the right story balance between the mystical world of Asgard, and the events taking place on Earth, while somehow still making it seem possible that these two places could exist in the same universe.

Hemsworth and Branagh do a great job of capturing Thor's brash and arrogant personality, including the delight he takes in battle (not to mention Thor's patented spinning hammer strike). While taking the character seriously, Hemsworth truly appears to enjoy the role of Thor (much like Robert Downey Jr.'s portrayal of Tony Stark/Iron Man), and he brings a true sense of fun and adventure to the character.

Hiddleston nearly steals the show as the deceitful god of lies, Loki, who, appropriately, is not set up as a one-dimensional villain. In fact, much like Magneto in Marvel's X-men films, Loki's character is somewhat sympathetic (especially after he uncovers a deep dark secret about his true lineage), and doesn't see himself as evil. Hiddleston's portrayal of the trickster is spot on, and I look forward to Hiddleston, as Loki, playing a large role (presumably) in the Avengers film, and any "Thor" sequels.

Hopkins is perfectly cast as the powerful all father, Odin, and delivers his usual impressive performance. Portman is believable as Jane Foster, and shows she has a lot more range than she was able to show in the limited material she was provided in the "Star Wars" prequels. Kat Dennings brings some comedic relief to the film as Foster's quick-witted intern, Darcy Lewis, and Stellan Skarsgard, as fellow scientist to Foster, Dr. Erik Selvig, does well with the little screen time he is given. The performances of the actors playing the "Warriors Three" were also on the money, and Idris Elba is great as the intimidating and all seeing Heimdall, sentry of the bi-frost bridge.

Action & Effects

As far as action and effects, "Thor" delivers and earns first-rate marks in both departments. Thor's first battle against the Frost Giants in Jontunheim fantastically demonstrates the scope of his power, while still allowing Sif, and the "Warriors Three" to shine, and leaves the audience thirsting for more.

At this point (after seeing movies like Avatar and Transformers), it is getting more and more difficult for me to be awed with anything that movie-makers can seemingly accomplish with CGI anymore. However, the shots of Asgard, Jontunheim, and the final battle scenes between Thor and The Destroyer, and then Loki, were still impressive and exciting to watch.

Finally, I enjoyed the continued establishment of a shared Marvel movie universe. I'm not sure if the general audience realizes, appreciates (or even cares) about the lengths Marvel is going to set up this shared universe among all their movies since the release of "Iron Man," but as a comic fan, I for one love it (and can't believe no one thought of doing it before). It's just a shame that the licensed out "Spiderman" and "X-men" properties will probably never be able to join in the fun.

"Thor" acts as a further stepping stone in this shared universe, with references being made to Tony Stark, as well as a certain scientist with "an expertise in gamma radiation," who, apparently disappeared after being investigated by S.H.I.E.L.D. There is also a great (but too short) cameo appearance by "Agent [Clint] Barton" (Jeremy Renner), setting up his future debut as "Hawkeye" in the upcoming "Avengers" film, as well as the continued and welcomed appearance of S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Coulson. There is also the now obligatory, post-credits, scene that, in this case, foreshadows the threat that the Avengers may be dealing with, and is worth waiting until after the credits to see.

type=text
type=text

THOR MOVIE - THE BAD

Not much.

As with most of the recent movies being released in 3D these days, I did not think that the 3D effects were needed or added much to the film. Although, I did not necessarily think it detracted from the movie either.

While well put together, the story did have some fairly predictable moments, including the usual humorous "fish out of water" gags as Thor adjusted to his new and unfamiliar Earthly surroundings. Also, as with any superhero origin story, the film dragged a bit through the middle while the hero comes to understand himself and learn the errors of his prior ways. It also would have been nice to see Thor in action a little more, and for The Destroyer to offer him a little more challenge in battle, after Thor finally regains his powers.

Further, while Skarsgard could have used a few more scenes, Rene Russo's acting talents seem to go completely to waste in her role as Thor's mother, Frigga, as she is given only two or three scenes and not very many more lines to work with. I have also heard some complaints that there was no mention of mainstay "Thor" characters like "Balder the Brave," and the "Enchantress," of course, all of that is why they make sequels.

type=text
type=text

CONCLUSION

In sum, "Thor" stands as another feather in the cap of Marvel Studios, and is a fine addition to the recent wave of successful Marvel films. If "Captain America" can even come close to delivering the same quality of action and storytelling, then Marvel should have two home runs on their hands this Summer.

Four out of Five Stars.

WHAT DID YOU THINK OF THE THOR MOVIE?

type=text
type=text

How Many Stars Would You Give The "Thor" Movie?

See results

THOR SEQUEL DATE ANNOUNCED!!

It was announced that the "Thor" sequel date has been rescheduled for November 8, 2013, and will be called "Thor: Dark World." I am not sure why they moved the sequel to a fall release date, rather than a summer date. Marvel Studios had already previously announced May 3, 2013, as the tentative release date for "Iron Man 3." So maybe they wanted to spread them out more.

CHECK IT OUT!!

First Movie Poster Released For "Thor: The Dark World"

Just a little something to get everyone pumped for the much anticipated Thor sequel, which is still a few months from release!!

Here is a summary of the film so far: "Marvel's "Thor: The Dark World" continues the big screen adventures of Thor, the Mighty Avenger, as he battles to save Earth and all the Nine Realms from a shadowy enemy that predates the universe itself. In the aftermath of Marvel's "Thor" and "Marvel's The Avengers," Thor fights to restore order across the cosmos...but an ancient race led by the vengeful Malekith returns to plunge the universe back into darkness. Faced with an enemy that even Odin and Asgard cannot withstand, Thor must embark on his most perilous and personal journey yet, one that will reunite him with Jane Foster and force him to sacrifice everything to save us all."

The first trailer for "Thor: The Dark World" has premiered and can be seen here.

THOR VILLAINS FOR THE SEQUEL

type=text
type=text

Which one of Thor's enemies do you most want to see him battle in the sequel?

See results

Best Marvel Comic Book Movie? - You Tell Me

type=text
type=text

What is the best Marvel Comic Book Movie of All Time?

See results
type=text
type=text

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD!!

Did you enjoy reading this Review? If yes, chances are you know someone else who would enjoy reading it too. Please spread the word. It is easy to share this page on Facebook and Twitter, by clicking on those buttons at the top of the page, or just attach it to an e-mail to a fellow Movie fan, or simply bookmark it below. Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate it.

type=text
type=text

Please Follow Me!!

If you liked this lens or any of my other lenses, and would like to be informed when I post any new lenses or lens updates, please follow me on Twitter at: www.twitter.com/#!/NvrTllMeThOdds

What Did You Think of The Movie, and My Review? Let Me Know.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      asmaelkhair 

      4 years ago

      Good review.

    • bensen32 lm profile image

      bensen32 lm 

      6 years ago

      good lens and the movie I thought was very good, nice action love the fact that it kept to the norse methology and got it correct.

    • profile image

      Jan-Sebastian-Sreckar 

      7 years ago

      Nice review. I like this movie. Especially the end and the transformation of the main character.

    • erniesliter lm profile image

      erniesliter lm 

      7 years ago

      Nice long lens. I like it.

    • Pierre Pine profile imageAUTHOR

      Pierre Pine 

      7 years ago

      @VoodooRULEs: I haven't seen Green Hornet yet, but it is in my Netflix queue. I'll let you know after I check it out.

    • profile image

      VoodooRULEs 

      7 years ago

      This is wonderful! I know it's not exactly the same kind of movie, but did you see Green Hornet? I'd really like to know what you thought about that one.

    • vauldine profile image

      vauldine 

      7 years ago

      Just awesome! Great Job!

    • JackNimble profile image

      JackNimble 

      7 years ago

      Great review. I have 3 little guys at home so I don't get to go out to the movies very often and my wife is not big on action films, but I will definitely check Thor out on DVD. Thanks for the review.

    • WindyWintersHubs profile image

      WindyWintersHubs 

      7 years ago from Vancouver Island, BC

      Haven't seen it at the theater but will definitely watch it on DVD. The review and trailer was awesome. I'm a big fan of superhero movies but not too familiar with this comic book hero. It's amazing how a comic book character can come to life on the big screen. Thanks for your review!

    • kitsiu lm profile image

      kitsiu lm 

      7 years ago

      THumbs up to Thor and your lense.

    • FanfrelucheHubs profile image

      Nathalie Roy 

      7 years ago from France (Canadian expat)

      I am a big Thor fan, and was very nervous when i heard they were going to make a movie (nervous but really happy). I was so afraid that the movie would not do justice to my favorite hero. Glad I was wrong, the movie is excellent and I was pleased with the cast, especially with Tom Hiddleston who plays Loki

    • Rockett LM profile image

      Rockett LM 

      7 years ago

      Haven't seen it yet. Looking forward to it!

    • bucketofshrimp lm profile image

      bucketofshrimp lm 

      7 years ago

      great lens, and correctumundo on the review!

    • profile image

      anonymous 

      7 years ago

      Great review. I really liked this movie too. Bring on "The Avengers"!!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)