ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Arrogant Bastard Ale - Beer Review

Updated on August 24, 2011

Arrogant Bastard Ale - Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, California 

This is my favorite ale of all time.  It's chi is summed up by the tag line to its name:  "You're Not Worthy."  This is not an ale brewed to please.  It does not care if you like it or not.  It is secure in itself as a bad ass ale that pulls no punches.  If you can't handle it, go drink your Bud Light.  I'll forgive you, but Arrogant Bastard will not.  It is not the forgiving kind.  

Poured into a glass, AB is a rich brown and has a musky bouquet.  I've found the head to vary between negligible and around a quarter inch thick - not accounting for my sobriety while pouring.  The first sip hits the back of the throat with a bit of violence, truthfully, but it gets all the cobwebs out of the way immediately.  From the throat it feels warm going down (no matter how cold it really is) and sits warm in the belly, almost like a good shot of JD.  

Every sip of AB is consistent through an hour of mindful enjoyment.  Each sip is a new experience in unabashedly strong flavor, a full-on ale assault on the taste buds that hits hard and goes down with a strong, lingering bittersweet finish.  

Whenever I finish a bottle of Arrogant Bastard Ale I immediately want another.  That's why I always buy only one bottle at a time.   At 7.5% alcohol content by volume, it packs a respectable, but not excessive punch, and leaves you feeling good without feeling out of your reckoning.  I am thinking it must be made with healthy ingredients because I always feel great the next day, when I've had a bottle the night before.  

I cannot recommend this ale highly enough.  It has the taste, the finish, the color, the bouquet - hey, it's got it all.  

No wonder it's arrogant.  

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      Oh, I think it's worth a fiver, but that's all subjective. Thanks, Brandon!

    • Brandon E Newman profile image

      Brandon E Newman 

      6 years ago from North Texas

      LOVE IT! At $5.00 a pint, it's almost worth the money.

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      My kids think the beer is named appropriately for me, too. :)

    • CyclingFitness profile image

      Liam Hallam 

      6 years ago from Nottingham UK

      Great name for a beer. Sounds like my kind of drink.

    • danielleantosz profile image

      danielleantosz 

      6 years ago from Florida

      good stuff!

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      There is a bit of bitterness to it, I think, unapologetic, bald bitterness that challenges the pallet in a unique way. And you know, I should write copy for Stone. No bout a doubt it. :)

    • theseattlegirl profile image

      theseattlegirl 

      6 years ago from Seattle, WA

      I've passed this along to my husband, who is a big fan of strong, no-bones-about-it ales.

      I haven't tried this one yet myself, but a few people I've talked to say it has a sort of coffee undertone, a similar dark complexity. Not bitter, just...dark. Would you say that's the case?

      I suspect this is one I'll like, judging by your review.

      Oh, and "If you can't handle it, go drink your Bud Light. I'll forgive you, but Arrogant Bastard will not. It is not the forgiving kind" is hilarious. They should hire you to write marketing copy, in my opinion!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)