ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownie Mix (Review)

Updated on January 19, 2015
Used with permission providing credit is given to Bob's Red Mill.
Used with permission providing credit is given to Bob's Red Mill. | Source

Please Note

HubPages uses ads and affiliate links to pay its writers (in this case me).

If you normally use an ad blocker, please consider turning it off while you are visiting this site.

Thank you!

Gluten Free Goodies are so Hard to Find

One of the biggest laments from those with wheat and gluten dietary restrictions, is how hard it is to find dessert foods that are tasty and affordable. I've noticed that if it's affordable, it probably tastes like the box it came in and if it tastes great, it's out of my budget range.

But, sometimes the need for a chocolately-good brownie overpowers the need to save pennies, which is exactly what happened when we came across a gluten free brownie mix at a local shop. I had to have some P.D.Q. (Pretty Darn Quick) ... Maybe it had something to do with being 5 months pregnant ...?

I looked at the powder mix and visualized simply adding a little water, mixing, baking and YUMM-O!! ...


Turns out, this wasn't that simple, because this was Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownie Mix.

What's in the Mix

My big problem with gluten free flour mixtures and "instant" mixes is that they often use garbanzo bean flour, also known as chickpeas. Don't get me wrong - I love chickpeas and even add them to recipes you wouldn't expect to find them in, such as my tomato soup. What I don't like is the horrible aftertaste that garbanzo bean flour leaves in the back of your tongue.

So, the first thing we did when we discovered this package of gluten free brownie mix was do a quick scan to make sure the detestable wheat substitute wasn't among the listed.

The ingredients for this mix are:

  • evaporated cane juice
  • Ghirardelli cocoa
  • potato starch
  • white sorghum flour
  • tapioca flour
  • whole corn flour
  • sea salt
  • baking powder (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate)
  • xanthan gum


YAY!! No garbanzo bean flour!!

The Missing Ingredient(s)

Unfortunately, some key ingredients needed to make it an "instant" mix aren't present. According to the recipe instructions, we needed to add butter, egg, vanilla and water to make these brownies. Ouch! That's half the ingredients required for make-from-scratch brownies!

How yummy are they?

4 stars for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownie Mix

The Proof is in the Brownie

So, how did it turn out?


The Good: These brownies are, in a word: Amazing!


The flavour is rich; a little bite goes a looooong way. I found that a small square of this brownie (enjoyed with a cold glass of milk) maxed me out on my chocolate intake for the day. Unlike other brands, Bob's Red Mill brownies are moist, even after sitting in the refrigerator for several days. The texture is smooth and although it does crumble when you put a fork to it, you get big fluffy chunks of "crumble". Easily the best gluten free brownies I've ever had.

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownies freshly made and gooey good!
Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownies freshly made and gooey good! | Source

The Bad: The instructions also includes a recipe for a fudge topping (Yay!), but of course, the ingredients for this are not part of the package (Boo!). If you want to make this topping, it'll cost another $4 or so, depending on how much the ingredients cost in your area. (Note: The frosting in the above photo is a little something my husband whipped up himself and not the fudge topping from the instructions.)


The Ugly: The major down-side is that these brownies are so expensive to make! Gluten free products are dramatically marked up in our area. One 21 oz bag of Bob's Red Mill Brownie Mix costs $6.99 CAD ($8.04 after taxes). If we decide to buy this product again, that is the cheapest I'd be able to get it. Amazon.com has this product for a decent price, however the shipping costs to Canada doubles the price! ... Oddly enough, that is still cheaper than ordering directly from Bob's Red Mill's website which charges $5.19 CAD per 21 oz package plus shipping.

Butter and eggs are expensive in my area. A pound of butter averages about $4.49 CAD and a dozen large eggs is $3.79. Using one egg won't break the bank, but this recipe calls for approximately half a pound of butter. That's about $2.57 on top of the cost of the mix, which brings the total cost to $10.61 CAD for one tray of brownies!

The Verdict

No doubt about it, Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Brownie Mix delivers on its promise of an "intense dark chocolate flavor combined with a wonderfully moist cake texture" as you can see from the photo above. These brownies are the most delicious gluten free dessert I've had so far.


We love them.


The reason this product only gets 4 out of 5 stars is the cost to buy a package of Bob's Red Mill Brownie Mix and the cost of the ingredients needed to actually make the brownies using this mix. These brownies are "very special occasion" treat only.

© 2012 Rosa Marchisella

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • I Am Rosa profile imageAUTHOR

      Rosa Marchisella 

      5 years ago from Canada

      That would be awesome! lol Thanks so much for your feedback and vote!

    • ALL4JESUS profile image

      ALL4JESUS 

      5 years ago from USA

      Very honest review. Hopefully demand will bring the price down and more people will have access to this product. Voted up!

    • I Am Rosa profile imageAUTHOR

      Rosa Marchisella 

      5 years ago from Canada

      YIKES! How does anyone survive in SF?? I never hear of Ghirardelli before reading these ingredient - I had to look it up LOL It certainly works well in this mix! Thanks for the comment, Nicole!

    • Nicole Winter profile image

      Nicole A. Winter 

      5 years ago from Chicago, IL

      Wow, this looks fantastic! I'll definitely have to give these a try. I'm so sorry your guys food prices are ridiculous, that really sucks. When I was living in San Francisco (like 11 years ago,) our food prices were just a little bit higher than yours, ($5 for a pound of butter, on sale!,) and it'd gotten to the point where it was literally cheaper to eat out! Ghirardelli makes the *best* chocolate.

    • I Am Rosa profile imageAUTHOR

      Rosa Marchisella 

      5 years ago from Canada

      My *slurp* pleasure *chew-chew* ... Food reviews ... *nomnomnom* ... always my favourite ;-) LOL

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Thank you for this cleverly written review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)