ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Food and Cooking»
  • Beverage Recipes

Crane Lake Chardonnay Review

Updated on August 11, 2007

How Does Crane Lake Chardonnay Rate?

I've had such good luck with white wines lately, so I couldn't pass up giving this one a try (it doesn't hurt that it was on sale at the time). Something about warm summer days puts me in the mood for a good, chilled, white wine.

Quick Five Finger Rating Breakdown

To read the full description for the ratings, click here.

Five Fingers: Awesome, drink it now!

Four Fingers: Not bad, share with others.

Three Fingers: Pretty good, but no raving.

Two Fingers: Need a buzz fast? Add some juice.

One Finger: Uh...only if you are already drunk.

Zero Fingers: They call this wine? More like vinegar.

The Wine Goof's Review

I was unexpectedly disappointed with this wine because it lacked one important quality: flavor. While many white wines are ruined by being overpowering in flavor or too sweet, this one was so underpowering that I might as well have been drinking water.

Of course, this wine does contain alcohol, making it a bit different from actually drinking water. That's what makes this wine so perfect for using in mixed wine drinks. Simply add it to juice or use it in a wine smoothie recipe.

I'll give it: 2-½ Fingers

(The ability to use it in mixed drinks is what gives this wine the half finger.)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Victoria 6 years ago

      i found the wine at the 99 cent store it is very good- voigneir 750ML

    • profile image

      Christne 6 years ago

      I bought a bottle of Crane Lake, CA Viognier for $3.00 at Big Lots and it was very tasty and would definately buy a case if I can find it.

    • profile image

      Linda 6 years ago

      My brother brought this wine to my house, He usually brings lousy wine over, poor tasting. I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of this wine. I would like to buy another bottle to see if the taste is consitsent. I usually buy Chardonay from the russian river valley or sonoma, Calfornia, usually pay 20 to 30 dollars a bottle.

      This wine was good.

    • MarkAse profile image

      MarkAse 7 years ago from San Diego, CA

      Not sure I would say it was "good" but Crane Lake does a good job considering the price point they work in. I think it's a ton better than Charles Shaw's $2 Chuck

    • profile image

      Sabrina Sabala 7 years ago

      I found this wine at the dollar store off tully rd in Modesto Ca, and I loved it. I then webt back to the same $1 tree store and no more...:( I even called once a week to see if they got anymore in. Nope- not happening... So- now I buy it at Winco for $3.85 a bottle...:) It works be- I drink like 2 bottles a week. So it wrks for me. I enjoy the merlot, Cab-, and chardonnay. Luv and now I really want to visit the winnery SOON!

    • profile image

      Alex 7 years ago

      I just bought this and love it...best 2 buck chuck chard ive every had...

    • profile image

      Matt Warren 7 years ago

      I drink it for what it is. 4 bucks a bottle.

    • profile image

      VINCENT FONTANA 7 years ago

      BRAVISSIMI....

    • profile image

      carol m 8 years ago

      Well, I'm drinking a glass of the pinot noir as we speak (write!) and i am finding it to be one of the tastiest I've had in a while, and I've had some 15.-20. bottles lately...VERY surprising at 3.49 a bottle.

      As long as I don't get a headache, I'm hooked.

    • Stacie Naczelnik profile image
      Author

      Stacie Naczelnik 10 years ago from Seattle

      Hey, everyone's tastes are different--that is what makes it so interesting. I bet with the right food, it would be very good.

    • profile image

      Shawn 10 years ago

      I had the house white at one of my favorite Manhattan restaurants and, when asked, was told it was Crane Lake (@$7.50 a glass!) I couldn't believe my local wine store carries it @$5.99 a bottle. Sorry to disagree with the n egative comments but I thought it was excellent!

    • Stacie Naczelnik profile image
      Author

      Stacie Naczelnik 10 years ago from Seattle

      Carol, thanks for your input. That's the thing about wine: everybody's tastes differ! My cheap wine reviews end up with some unexpected, positive surprises, but Crane Lake was not one of them. Maybe it is because I had just had a couple of surprisingly good cheap chards before trying that one!

    • profile image

      Carol 10 years ago

      I think Crane Lake is good for what it is. It's cheap wine, so you're just not going to get much depth in a $4 or $5 bottle. When I had it, it met my expectations for a cheap chard. Better than Barefoot for around the same price point.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)