ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Firestone Walker Reserve Porter - Beer Review

Updated on January 30, 2012

Firestone Walker's Reserve Porter - Firestone Walker Brewing Company, Paso Robles, California

Firestone Walker’s Special Reserve Porter is an exceptionally smooth and well-mannered beer that I believe will please the most discerning palate. It is very dark, even for a porter, with a richly complex flavor that is unique.

When opened, the bouquet is mild if not faint. Poured, the beer develops a head that is tan in color, thick in consistency and about a half inch deep in a twelve ounce glass. The color is strikingly dark, beautifully dark, not quite black, shot with bubbles that seem tinier than bubbles in other beers.

I was surprised when I took my first sip. Instead of the standard flavor associated with porter or the grittier palate of a stout, I was confronted by a very different, pleasantly complex set of taste sensations. Neither bitter nor sweet, but a very smooth and honest flavor with layered overtones: a little smoke, a little caramel, maybe a hint of sassafras, a little coffee and a little baker’s chocolate, all in a very understated way.

Drinking this beer is like listening to Brahms. Just as you can listen to the same Brahms symphony and hear something new every time, I suspect it may be the same with the flavor of Firestone Walker Special Reserve. There is a lot going on with that flavor, and all good.

With a moderate alcohol content of 5.8 percent by volume, you can enjoy that deliciously complicated flavor longer, and though it is a world class drinking experience, it does not leave you feeling as if your mother-in-law made you finish off the potato salad after you were already full.

Therefore I unreservedly recommend Firestone Walker Special Reserve with food or alone.

Drink responsibly, campers.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      I think you will enjoy it, my friend :)

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      When I tasted the beer I thought, "complex." Later, when I wrote the review I thought "complex", then wrote, "Brahms." :)

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      Well, that's good!

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      Although that which was in that glass passed through me. :)

    • Hawkesdream profile image

      Hawkesdream 

      6 years ago from Cornwall

      Hi Tom, This beer sounds exceptional, all those flavours! I will go and find it and give it a taste or two.

    • juneaukid profile image

      Richard Francis Fleck 

      6 years ago from Denver, Colorado

      Thanks for this review. I loved the comparison with listening to Brahms!

    • rjsadowski profile image

      rjsadowski 

      6 years ago

      I don't drink much porter but it is interesting to read about anyway.

    • Al Shield profile image

      Al Shield 

      6 years ago from Bendigo, Victoria

      No light will ever pass through that glass.

    • Tom Rubenoff profile imageAUTHOR

      Tom Rubenoff 

      6 years ago from United States

      This one does possess the attraction of a singularity.

    • Al Shield profile image

      Al Shield 

      6 years ago from Bendigo, Victoria

      Dark is right, you've obviously just poured yourself a glass of black hole..

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)