ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Fresh and Filling: A Review of Redbrick Pizza Café

Updated on November 9, 2012
Source

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

Few can argue that tasty pizza constitutes a health food, weighed down by its large concentrations of fat, carbohydrates, salt and cholesterol. This paean to all things murderous about the American diet is often accompanied by such damaging accomplices as beer, cheese sticks and pasta. Redbrick Pizza Café manages to mitigate the dish’s unfortunate side effects while adding flavor twists to old standards.


My Rating

5 stars for Redbrick Pizza Cafe
Pizza oven.
Pizza oven. | Source

Place

Primarily concentrated in California, the franchise is slowly spreading to other locales such as New Mexico, Texas and Florida. The Brea, California, restaurant faces the Birch Street shopping area, nestled among chain stores, movie theaters and restaurants. An outside patio is surrounded by a rusted metal fence about waist-high and affords people-watching from five two-person tables, also covered in the same rusty color.

The modern interior features a dozen tables seating from two to six, topped with planks of honey-colored wood marked by knots and other homey imperfections. You can watch your order made in the open kitchen, and baked in an open-flame oven.

A terra-cotta colored accent wall is decorated with a chair-rail mosaic of red and pumpkin-tinted tiles, peppered by a strange photo combination of vintage cars and California wildflower landscapes. Golden oldies play lightly in the background and flat-screen TVs hang from the corners, offering subtitles instead of sound for diversion.


RBP Works Pizza
RBP Works Pizza | Source

Pizzas

So confident is the chain of its healthy advantages that it posted its nutritional content information online long before California law required it. The pizza is available in small (four slices), medium (six) and large (ten). The paper-thin or Chicago-style crust is made with hand-rolled artisan dough held together by olive oil and baked to a golden-brown in just three minutes.

Only a few of the available combos are listed on the display board – the menu lists more. My favorite is the RBP Works, which includes pepperoni, ham, bacon, Italian-style sausage, mushrooms, black olives, red onions, bell peppers, mozzarella and red sauce. I substitute the black olives with garlic. Feel free to do the same with any of the other ingredients. If none of the options suit you, you can make your own by filling in a special form, or simply telling the attendant first-hand. Calorie hounds will relish the RBP Works calorie count of 640, for the entire small pizza.


Italian Salad
Italian Salad | Source

Salads

In an attempt to reduce my carb consumption, I’ve been ordering the salads lately. The half size is plenty big for one. The Italian Salad features romaine, red bell peppers, salami, mozzarella, kalamata olives, red onions, ham, feta cheese and croutons. Leave off the Greek dressing, which can be a bit oily: the concoction is flavorful enough. The salad contains 144 calories plus another 160 for the Greek dressing.


Other Dishes

Other specialties of the house include the following:

  • Fhazani, which is an Italian fire-roasted flatbread loaded with fresh organic lettuce and tomatoes, plus whatever toppings you pick. The ingredients among the pizzas, salads and fhazani are interchangeable.
  • Pizzada, which puts any salad on top of a thin fire-roasted mozzarella artisan crust.
  • Gelato, with ten choices appearing behind a glass case, and more options from the back room. The small cup can squeeze up to two flavors, which are ever-changing but can include biscotti, coconut, tiramasu, chocolate and vanilla.
  • Bhrazani, which puts any gelato on top of a triple chocolate fire-roasted gourmet brownie, topped with chocolate drizzle.
  • Wine by the glass or bottle, such as Beringer Merlot, St. Michelle Chardonnay and Ruffini Chianti. Your beverages can also be a standard soda with unlimited refills, organic bottled sodas, handcrafted microbrews, and premium Italian coffees like Americano, expresso, latte and cappuccino.


Bottom Line

The casual atmosphere, speedy and friendly service, customization and varied selections have turned Redbrick Pizza Café into one of our favorite haunts. We go there at least once a week and recommend it frequently to friends.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      6 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Wouldn't you just know that I would be reading this as it is getting closer to dinner time. Now...you have made me hungry for a good pizza. Perhaps another time since we already have dinner planned for tonight. The Redbrick Pizza Cafe sounds good. Hope we get one here in Houston in our end of town. Up and interesting votes.

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 

      6 years ago from USA

      The Redbrick Pizza Cafe sounds like a place I would really enjoy. You described my favorite type of pizza with everything on it - the RBP. Except, while I really enjoy garlic, I would keep it just like it is. Nice review.

    • Crystal Tatum profile image

      Crystal Tatum 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Sounds like a great restaurant, and very good review. Voted up!

    • tsmog profile image

      Tim Mitchell 

      6 years ago from Escondido, CA

      Sharing this insightful review with your San Diego neighbors and more I am tempted to have a pizza soon. I discovered a treasure of sorts for some of those in a budget crunch with the link to restaurants who celebrate birthdays. Giving cause to that son or daughter feeling special came to mind.

      Thank You, alocsin for helping to lead the way to a time with family or even a slow pitch softball team after the game . . .

      tim

    • Victoria Lynn profile image

      Victoria Lynn 

      6 years ago from Arkansas, USA

      I LOVE pizza! I wish there were a Redbrick around. Your descriptions of the place were wonderful. Great review!

    • tillsontitan profile image

      Mary Craig 

      6 years ago from New York

      Oh dear, now I want pizza too! Those pizza photos are very inviting. Living in New York, I can only say Effer has told you what franchises we have and don't have, but I have to say I love the idea of that nice pizza oven at the Redbrick! Well done review.

      Voted up, useful, and interesting.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      6 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Obviously I have never been to a Red Brick Pizza as we do not have one in my country, Alocsin. However, your description of the RBP Works pizza and the picture makes me want it right away. Also the Italian salad and the other dishes sound cool. I wonder if any of their outlets is located in the LA area as then I can have it when I happen to visit the place.

      Voted up, useful and shared.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 

      6 years ago

      Red Brick cafe is right up my ally! I even like the salad you posted. I will have to look this up and see where the nearest one is to me. Can't wait to try the pizza!

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      6 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      We obviously do not have Red Brick Pizza in New York. However we have, Pizza Hut, Papa John's, Little Caesars, Dominos....and at the very least, a million independent, family-owned pizzerias on every street corner and some in between.

      I accept your review and can see why you rate Red Brick so highly....I'm beginning to crave pizza and salad..

      Just for the record.....These foods mentioned here really CAN be made healthy and nutritious. Maybe not commercially, but certainly at home......which is where I make all ours!! LOL...UP+++

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)