ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Great Taste with the Illusion of Health: Yogurtland Review

Updated on November 9, 2012
The very first Yogurtland in Fullerton, California.
The very first Yogurtland in Fullerton, California. | Source

What’s cold and creamy; entices with flavors like pistachio, white chocolate macadamia and peanut butter; features calcium, vitamins, probiotics and live active cultures; comes from a kosher-certified facility and has only 30 calories an ounce? Fat-free frozen yogurt, specifically from Yogurtland.

Founded in 2006 by Phillip Chang, the franchise started with one store in Southern California, across from California State University Fullerton.As of 2012, Yogurtland boasts over 190 locations in the USA and Mexico. This review applies in general to almost any location but comes from the Brea restaurant in Orange County, Southern California.


My Rating

5 stars for Yogurtland
Yogurtland Brea
Yogurtland Brea | Source

Store

Set in a suburban shopping center with ample parking, Yogurtland Brea greets patrons with a row of 16 spigots inset into a green tile wall proclaiming the store’s name in silver and pink. Each of the constantly changing 16 flavors gets a spout, with an extra spout between every two flavors that mixes them in one pour. Picture labels illustrate each selection.

Past the yogurt are the 48 toppings, three sauces and cashier, and facing the spigot wall are about a dozen 2-4 person circular aluminum tables that can easily be moved together or apart, depending on the crowd. A concrete slab patio outside has an additional five 4-person tables, some topped with green umbrellas, and surrounded by small ficus trees.


Yogurtland Brea Interior
Yogurtland Brea Interior | Source

Concept

If you can’t decide what flavors to get, ask for some taster cups, which allow you to sample as many selections as you need to make a choice. You can then grab a large or larger container from a pile before the spigots, travel down the line and pump as much yogurt as you want into the container. Flavors range from such standards as chocolate and vanilla; fruity combos like juicy peach tart, blue lychee bliss and taro; and more fanciful concoctions with dulce de leche, salted caramel pecan, red velvet cupcake batter and matcha green tea.

The toppings come next consisting of fruits like banana, maraschino cherries and mango; Asian goodies such as lychee, coconut flakes and mochi; nuts like walnuts, peanuts and almonds; and sweet favorites including chocolate sprinkles, mini M&Ms, peanut butter cups and gummi bears. Finally, you can cover your collection in dark chocolate, white chocolate or caramel sauce, courtesy of Ghirardelli.

Your selection is weighed and charged by the ounce. You then receive a pink or green spoon, and can either take home your creation or consume it there.


A typical creation finished with white chocolate macadamia nut yogurt, chocolate chip cookie dough pieces and caramel sauce.
A typical creation finished with white chocolate macadamia nut yogurt, chocolate chip cookie dough pieces and caramel sauce. | Source

Food

The ingredients taste as delicious as they sound with the yogurt sporting authentic flavors. The toppings seem fresh, though most probably don’t last long enough to spoil and, in fact, you may have to ask the attendants to fill an empty container or two during rush hour. If you manage to stick only with the yogurt, you’ll have a cupful of deliciousness for between 200 to 300 calories a cup, which is far less than an equivalent serving of regular ice cream.

However, it’s the toppings that get you. If you limit yourself to fruits, each ounce costs between 10 to 30 calories. But consider the calorie count that an ounce of these more flavorful additions contain:

  • almonds: 160
  • brownie bites: 130
  • macadamia nuts: 200
  • mini M&M’s: 140
  • peanut butter cups: 150
  • yogurt chips: 140

Unlike most folks, who pump all their yogurt into the container at once, then finish with additions at the top, I layer my yogurt and toppings. Given that the average weight of my mixes exceeds 13 ounces, it’s doubtful that I get away with less than 1,000 calories per cup.


Spoons from the Hello Kitty promotion.
Spoons from the Hello Kitty promotion. | Source

Bottom Line

So what if Yogurtland desserts aren’t as healthy as they’re supposed to be? They’re fun to make, offer the ultimate in freedom of choice, and taste yummy, especially on hot days. The gaggle of kids who crowd the shop agree with me.

And if you need additional incentive to visit the one nearest you, the franchise often runs special promotions throughout the year such as Hello Kitty, which decorates the spoons with the famous Japanese cartoons, or the Twelve Days of Christmas, which adds a new flavor every day before the holiday. Sign up for the You Rule club for frequent coupons awarding three free ounces with a visit.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      According to Google, Houston has at least three Yogurtlands. Lucky you!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      6 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Great review of Yogurtland. Wonder how long it will take to get one of these franchises in Houston? Sounds like a lot of fun making your selections. As to the dieting...sounds like that needs to be laid aside when visiting a Yogurtland! Up and interesting votes.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      6 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      Alocsin yogurt is a favorite food of mine no matter what or toppings it contains. wonderful review of yogurtland. BTW, how much does it cost for that close to 1000 calories of yogurt you have?

      Voted up, interesting.

    • fpherj48 profile image

      Paula 

      6 years ago from Beautiful Upstate New York

      Mmmmm, Yum! Frozen Yogurt. Just as delicious and so much healthier than ice cream! I can't believe this hub! My son, who lives in CA. with his wife and daughter, just emailed me a picture of himself and dghtr, sitting at yogurtland, chowing down on their favorite treat! He tells me this is where they bring "Sydney" to reward her for being an "Angel," in school (She's ONLY 3....doesn't that automatically qualify her as an Angel?....asks Grandma) She gets quite a kick out of making HER OWN!........Great hub, Alocisn..UP+++

    • GiblinGirl profile image

      GiblinGirl 

      6 years ago from New Jersey

      Even though it's in the mid 40s here and there's snow on the ground, you've got me hankering for a cold tasty treat.

    • thumbi7 profile image

      JR Krishna 

      6 years ago from India

      The place looks inviting...

      You gave a detailed description...

      Thanks for sharing

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      6 years ago from Peru, South America

      Wow, this makes me want to hop on a plane bound for Yogurtland right now! I'd go for salted caramel pecan and chocolate, and I like your idea of layering the toppings parfait-style. This is a very helpful review...voted up and shared.

    • cclitgirl profile image

      Cynthia Calhoun 

      6 years ago from Western NC

      Awesome review! That picture of the yogurt cup up there is mouth-watering. And I need me some dulce de leche like now. Hehe. Voted up, awesome, tweeted and shared.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)