ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Best Jamie Oliver Cookbooks Reviews

Updated on September 29, 2010

Jamie Oliver, Chef

Jamie Oliver aka The Naked Chef

Jamie Oliver, aka The Naked Chef is my favorite celebrity chef. Not only is he easy on the eyes and has a disarming personality, but this man can cook. His cookbooks let his personality come through as well. Here are two favorite cookbooks of mine by Jamie Oliver, The Naked Chef.

Favorite Jamie Oliver Cookbook Review

Cook With Jamie: My Guide to Making You a Better Cook

This cookbook is fun just to read. Jamie attempts to take the stress out of cooking with this hugely popular cookbook. This cookbook by The Naked Chef goes over cooking basics, but includes recipes fit for a gourmet restaurant. Jamie doesn't use hard and fast measurements. The style is more of a dash of this, a splash of that. This may turn some cooks away. But it is Oliver's way of showing that you don't have to be anal to make most dishes.

Besides recipes, My Guide to Making You a Better Cook plans on attacking the task in other ways. There are several photographic tutorials in the book. They show how to accomplish cooking skills like cleaning fresh lobster.

Favorite Italian Cookbook Review

Jamie's Italy

He may be British, but The Naked Chef knows how to make delicious Italian dishes. If you love authentic Italian food, you've got to try this Italian cookbook. Not only are the dishes fantastic, but the writing throughout the book is a joy to read. Oliver recounts his travels throughout Italy as he teaches his Italian cooking methods. Many of the recipes are from Sicily. This cookbook doesn't limit itself to just well-known, popular Italian recipes, either. It includes traditional Italian recipes such as rabbit and fish.

Other Jamie Oliver Cookbooks

If you haven't used any of Jamie Oliver's cookbooks, you really should do yourself a favor and buy one. Besides the two favorites I mentioned, Jamie has also published Jamie's Dinners: The Essential Family Cookbook, The Naked Chef, Happy Days with the Naked Chef, Jamie's Kitchen, and The Naked Chef Takes Off, Oliver's Twist, and other excellent cookbooks for beginning cooks, gourmet chefs, and everyone in between.

Jamie Oliver Cookbooks Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Angela Harris profile imageAUTHOR

      Angela Harris 

      10 years ago from Around the USA

      Gordon Ramsay cracks me up, Uninvited Writer.

    • Uninvited Writer profile image

      Susan Keeping 

      10 years ago from Kitchener, Ontario

      I like Jamie. I also like Gordon Ramsay.

    • Angela Harris profile imageAUTHOR

      Angela Harris 

      10 years ago from Around the USA

      Marlo, you too? Rachel Ray gets on my last nerve. Jamie Oliver can come visit me anyday, however.

      The title "The Naked Chef" isn't nearly as interesting as it seems. His first cooking show was so named because Jamie makes recipes with basic, fresh ingredients. He is firmly against processed foods.

    • Patty Inglish, MS profile image

      Patty Inglish MS 

      10 years ago from USA. Member of Asgardia, the first space nation, since October 2016

      Sick of Rachel Ray? - too much or too cutsie?

      Semi-Homemade is bogus.

    • MarloByDesign profile image

      MarloByDesign 

      10 years ago from United States

    • MarloByDesign profile image

      MarloByDesign 

      10 years ago from United States

      It is good to know that there is a good chef out there because I am really getting sick of Rachel Ray!

      What is the "naked" part about this chef?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)