ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

California Pizza Kitchenʻs Margherita Pizza

Updated on November 11, 2012
California Pizza Kitchen Margherita Pizza
California Pizza Kitchen Margherita Pizza | Source

When Queen Margherita of Savoy visited Naples in 1889, tavern owner Raffaele Esposito had three pizzas awaiting her. Her favorite was the one whose ingredients mirrored the red, white and green of Italyʻs flag. While some consider Esposito father of the modern pizza, he is more the father of the margherita pizza, which gained popularity and soon became an Italian classic. I recently tried California Pizza Kitchenʻs (CPK) frozen margherita pizza.

CPK says this is their best recipe yet.
CPK says this is their best recipe yet. | Source

Frozen vs Fresh

There are those who cringe at the idea of frozen food; My Italian American mother comes to mind. Modern society has a place for frozen pizza. Sure Iʻd rather have a hot homemade one fresh from the oven. Major cities with Little Italys are hotbeds for hot and cheesy margherita pizzas with only the freshest mozzarella, tomatoes and basil. My mouth waters remembering a fresh margherita pizza I had in San Francisco. Frozen pizzas are cheaper and more convenient that restaurant pizzas and sometimes just as tasty.

What happens when hungry cranky kids are ready to sabbotage your closet cleaning or or last minute tax filing session? Frozen pizza to the rescue, margherita for me, pepperoni for them.

Crust

According to Italy Magazine a true margherita pizza has a crust only 3 mm or .1 inch thick, and even thinner edges. As I enjoy a crispy, crunchy crust, the margherita is my favorite. If you are a deep dish crust lover, the margherita is not for you. Italy magazine says to hand toss the dough with no rolling pin for a genuine margherita pizza.

CPK Cons

  • The basil was there, but I could not taste it. It did not look fresh.
  • A bit bland. Something is missing in the spice department.

CPK Pros

  • How CPK creates their thin crust is anyoneʻs guess. I canʻt envision factory workers hand tossing dough. CPKʻs margherita crust was crispy enough for me. I baked it in my electric oven so my expectations werenʻt high.
  • The diced tomatoes were a delight - they tasted and looked fresh. I did not know you could freeze fresh tomatoes.
  • The hot melted cheese was fresh and tasty.
  • The pizza was ready in 16 minutes. Five minutes to preheat the oven and 11 minutes to bake.
  • My CPK 14.8 oz/ 419 g pizza cost $8.29 at Foodland.

3.7 out of 5 stars from 3 ratings of CPK Margherita Pizza
Nutrition Facts
Serving size: 1/3 pizza or 140g
Calories 350
Calories from Fat144
% Daily Value *
Fat 16 g25%
Saturated fat 6 g30%
Unsaturated fat 0 g
Carbohydrates 33 g11%
Sugar 3 g
Fiber 2 g8%
Protein 19 g38%
Cholesterol 50 mg17%
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Creativity

The simple margherita pizza makes the perfect base for culinary exploration. Adding fresh basil and red crushed pepper easily adds another star to this 3 star pizza. My garden has fresh oregano, rosemary, kale and red pepper. Adding any of these with a little diced garlic, onions or mushroom could create a whole new taste experience.

On the box, co-founders Larry and Rick suggest getting creative by pairing it with baby spinach salad that has been tossed in a vinaigrette. They suggest serving the salad on top of the hot pizza. Attorneys Larry Flax and Rick Rosenfield created CPK in 1985, opening the first restaurant in Beverly Hills. I may take Larry and Rickʻs creative advice. With CPK frozen pizzas in most grocery stores and a restaurant chain that spans the globe, Larry and Rick are rolling in Pizza dough.


Sources

Italymagazine .com http://www.italymag.co.uk/italy-featured/recipes/pizza-margherita-history-and-recipe web 11/11/12

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • YogaKat profile image
      Author

      YogaKat 5 years ago from Oahu Hawaii

      Stessily, sorry to hear you are ill over he holidays. There is way too much food around this time of year. My belly is bloated from all the sweet treats at Christmas parties. I have not tried the spinach atop pizza yet, but it sounds delicious . . . next time for sure. Thanks for your kind words.

    • profile image

      stessily 5 years ago

      YogaKat, The historical, cultural background which you include is interesting and gives a fascinating view of cuisine. Food is more than what we eat; it tells its own story.

      Have you tried eating the spinach salad atop the pizza? I'll have to give that a go.

      I've been under the weather lately and not been able to eat much; Christmas Eve and Christmas Day were spent in bed! I'm on the mend and finally am reinserting food into my routine. This frozen pizza series is perfect reading. Ah, the aromas, tastes, and textures of pizza hot out of the oven!

      Kind regards, Stessily

    • YogaKat profile image
      Author

      YogaKat 5 years ago from Oahu Hawaii

      Thanks Mhatter . . . I have seen these go as low as $6.00 for one large pizza. The crust is thin though. So one large could feed two to three adults.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 5 years ago from San Francisco

      great review, Thank you. A favorite at this house, especially when on sale.

    • YogaKat profile image
      Author

      YogaKat 5 years ago from Oahu Hawaii

      Thanks for commenting and rating Millionaire Tips. I am going to put lots of fresh basil on the next one I make. Donʻt you love the multiple rating format? eHealer, pizza is the best junk food . . . donʻt forget to come back and rate it after you try it. It will be fun to watch that reading fluctuate as commenters respond:)

    • eHealer profile image

      Deborah 5 years ago from Las Vegas

      The best junk food is pizza, and does have some nutritional value, great hub and can't wait to try it!

    • Millionaire Tips profile image

      Shasta Matova 5 years ago from USA

      I really enjoy the thin crust of California Pizza Kitchen pizzas, and the margherita is my favorite. It is quick and easy to prepare. The basil tastes fresh, but I would like to have more on mine. Voted up - great idea to include the nutrition label!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)