ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

More than Great Barbecue at Epic BBQ: A Review

Updated on December 13, 2016
Source

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

Although the city of Stanton rises in the middle of suburban Orange County, California, it lies at least half-an-hour away from any freeway. Its isolation has turned it into a sad and decaying island surrounded by prosperous continents. I have little reason to pass through it. However, in the past two weeks, I have entered its borders twice. My ultimate destination was Epic BBQ.


My Rating

5 stars for Epic BBQ
Source

Environment

The restaurant occupies a couple of storefronts behind the parking lot of a non-descript shopping center. Inside, 14-foot ceilings enlarge the space, which only has nine wooden tables. Three of them consist of picnic tables, painted in black, and seating at least six each. Although we’ve always come when it’s empty, I’m told it’s hard to get a seat during the lunch and dinner hour, even though much of the traffic is take-away.

The floor is a checkerboard of black and white, and an open kitchen lets you watch the cook prepare your meal over mesquite charcoal. A handwritten sign on a yellow piece of paper offers a 25 percent discount if you recommend the eatery to friends or review them on Yelp.

Source

Menu

The menu only has about a dozen or so dishes showing sandwich and meal variations of BBQ beef, pork, chicken, hot links and tri-trip. The five side dishes include macaroni salad, potato salad, grilled squash, garlic bread or baked beans. Newbies should try the lunch meal, which offers any two meats and one side, or the dinner meal, which allows any three meats and two sides. They’re both available any time of day and under ten dollars. Look for the colorful flyer on the counter, which includes 15 percent off those meals.


Beef rib near the top. Pork ribs near the bottom. Barbecue sauce in the cup to the left.
Beef rib near the top. Pork ribs near the bottom. Barbecue sauce in the cup to the left. | Source

Food

You can sample the mild, medium and spicy sauces before deciding on one, with the first being hot enough for me. Expect a house-made, reddish-brown delight that flows easily and seems to have a tomato base with some sour tamarind. The smoky flavor burns the throat slightly, which is a reason to take advantage of the soda with unlimited refills.

I mostly use the sauce, which comes in a small plastic cup, for dipping sides. Because the meat does not need it, which to me is always the mark of good barbecue. Whether you order the beef (my favorite) or pork (my partner’s joy), expect a juicy interior and a crispy, charred exterior. The beef ribs are at least six inches long and encourage the use of hands and frequent gnawing because the meat does not fall off the bone. Prepare to get bits of meat and sauce on your face and cheeks. You can always clean up with the moist towelettes or in the restroom.

Skip the hot links sausage, which is undistinguished though adequate, and may come from a store-bought package. The beans also come from a can. The garlic bread is grilled on-sight to a light, crispy and buttery taste, and the squash comes from zucchini, which is sliced lengthwise, and grilled with some oil, leaving it firm, chewy and delicious.


Bottom Line

The restaurant is inexpensive and offers generous portions of mesquite-flavored barbecue. We’ll continue to visit it frequently. Though we haven’t tried the chicken or the tri-tip, we’ve heard good things about them. Another sign of the excellent quality are the regular patrons who simply ask for “the usual” to get their orders.


More like Pet Purgatory.
More like Pet Purgatory. | Source

Warning

The colorful and expansive signs of humungous Pet City next door seem to presage a nirvana of animal companions, worthy of post-meal exploration. Steer clear of the deception, especially if you have kids. Though large and impressive, establishment is neglected and dingy, with forlorn dogs whose cages you want to open so you can yell “Flee!” One deformed creature suffered from underbite with protruding fangs, which he used to threaten with between barks and growls.


Update

Sadly, Epic BBQ reduced its opening days a couple of weeks after this review was published. It then closed soon after. I was never able to return to enjoy the barbecue. I tried to call them several times on the phone but no one was there. Incidentally, the pet store next door is still going strong.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ishwaryaa22 profile image

      Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 

      5 years ago from Chennai, India

      Another well-written restaurant review! I am fond of grilled/barbecue food. When I have the chance to visit USA in the near future, I will try this place thanks to your engaging review. Well-done!

      Thanks for SHARING. Useful & Interesting. Voted up

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      5 years ago from Peru, South America

      I can relate to being lured into a sorry area of town for good BBQ. Since we're originally from the Midwest, we can relate to meat so delicious it doesn't even require sauce. It sounds like the BBQ sauces offered are pretty spicy. It's too bad about the Pet City. : ( Great review, thanks!

    • MarleneB profile image

      Marlene Bertrand 

      5 years ago from USA

      This is an excellent review. Now, I just want to run out and get a plate of BBQ beef ribs. This is such a thorough review. I have a food website and would love to share your review with my food readers. I know they will enjoy it.

    • loveofnight profile image

      loveofnight 

      5 years ago from Baltimore, Maryland

      I am hungry already, I wish that I had a sample to taste right now. Thanks for the info. and keep hubbing.

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Lol, molometer. You have to be careful about that. Sometimes the ratings are an author's rating, and sometimes they're an audience rating.

    • dragnhaze profile image

      dragnhaze 

      5 years ago

      What a great looking plate of BBQ and the sauce looks similar to my favorite BBQ sauce, mmmmmm. I have to agree with mprop, I want some, I'm on my way...jk California is a bit to far for me at this moment.

    • molometer profile image

      molometer 

      5 years ago from United Kingdom

      I just spent a few minutes trying to give this hub 5 stars, before I realised it is an authors ranking. lol

      Great hub Aurelio. Sharing.

      Michael

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      Perhaps, attikos, but it tastes great.

    • mpropp profile image

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      Now I'm hungry for BBQ. I don't suppose there is an Epic in MN? Seriously, I love the smaller mom & pop restaurants that use their own recipes. And the price range sounds perfect!

    • Attikos profile image

      Attikos 

      5 years ago from East Cackalacky

      Beef? Tomato? Tamarind?

      Sacrilege!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)