ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

South Asian Standout: A Review of Wrap n'Roll Kabob House

Updated on November 9, 2012
Source

© 2012 by Aurelio Locsin.

If you’re unlucky enough to visit the Wrap n’Roll Kabob House at around noon on a normal business day, you may not find a free space among the packed 15 or so square wooden tables that seat from two to four people. The restaurant has become popular with the workers that staff the surrounding offices and industrial buildings in Brea, California.

The preponderance of South Asian faces among the patrons tells you that the food is authentic and might lead you to believe that this is an Indian restaurant. But the appearance of beef in burgers, kabobs and the spicy dahl quickly dispels that assumption.


My Rating

5 stars for Wrap n'Roll Kabob House
Source

Restaurant

Upon moving to the United States, Chef Sameer was disappointed that he could find no restaurants serving the cuisine of his beloved Pakistan. So he returned to Karachi for training under local chefs, so he could bring his favorite foods back to Orange County, California. His culture has no qualms about including beef in its dishes, unlike the neighboring Indians who hold cows sacred. In fact, Chef Sameer confesses, one favorite repast of his countrymen is the Shanghai Steak Sandwich, which appears on the menu as pieces of steak with onions, bell peppers and melted Swiss cheese on a French roll.

I’ve had many of the menu selections for dinner. Despite their uniform deliciousness, I advise you to eschew the regular choices for the lunchtime specialty: the all-you-can-eat buffet, which costs under $10, not including drinks. It’s an excellent way for those unfamiliar with Pakistani cuisine to gain a quick introduction to the culture’s flavors.

Source
Source

Buffet

To those familiar with South Asian food, I’ll enumerate some of the favorites that have appeared on the buffet:

  • Garlic Naan – a wedge of tandoori bread stuffed with fresh garlic. Chef Sameer cooks this staple just 90 seconds before serving it, although the flour-based bread easily disappears in that interval during the buffet. He offered samples of a new cheese version during one lunch, adding mozzarella to bump up the flavor factor.
  • Vegetable Korma, which primarily consists of button mushrooms and peas in a sauce containing cloves, ginger and a dozen other spices.
  • Lamb Curry. The chef did not serve lamb for the longest time, citing lack of a reliable supply. Fortunately, he’s found a regular source, so he can offer my favorite dish, with just a hint of lamb flavor in the slightly spicy sauce.
  • Chicken Shashlik Kabob, which marinates chicken breast pieces in a blend of yogurt and cheese, and then grills the remainder in bell peppers, onions, tomatoes and cucumbers.
  • Potato Somosas. Golden-brown puff pastries packed with a fluffy potato curry mixture.
  • Chicken Tikka Masala. Arguably the dish we most associate with the Indian subcontinent, this version boasts a “signature tomato and butter cream sauce” with cashews.
  • Gulab Jamon – donut holes swimming in slightly sweet rosewater flavored with coconut flakes.


Bottom Line

For the adventurous, the Wrap N’Roll Kabob House is worthy of a trial just because it’s the only Pakistani restaurant in Orange County. For the rest of us, the tasty ingredients, inventive selections and low prices warrant repeat visits with friends, especially during lunch.


Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ishwaryaa22 profile image

      Ishwaryaa Dhandapani 

      5 years ago from Chennai, India

      An engaging review! Tandoori food is one of my top favorites! I am already familiar with the dishes listed by you. Well-done!

      Thanks for SHARING. Useful & Interesting. Voted up

    • alocsin profile imageAUTHOR

      alocsin 

      6 years ago from Orange County, CA

      I imagine the cuisine is a lot tastier in India, Ruchira.

    • Sandyspider profile image

      Sandy Mertens 

      6 years ago from Wisconsin, USA

      I haven't tried this kind of food yet but it sounds real good.

    • Ruchira profile image

      Ruchira 

      6 years ago from United States

      Indian cuisine is delicious but takes quite an effort to cook.

      I am glad you enjoy that cuisine.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 

      6 years ago from Peru, South America

      Pakistani and Indian cuisine are some of my favorites. How great to have a local chef who knows his stuff. This is a great review. I hope to try this restaurant someday. Thanks!

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 

      6 years ago from Houston, Texas

      I love chicken tikka masala and would certainly try all of those other dishes you mentioned from the Wrap n Roll Kabob House were I ever to visit Brea, California. They sound really good. Thanks for the heads up. Voted up, useful and interesting.

    • vocalcoach profile image

      Audrey Hunt 

      6 years ago from Idyllwild Ca.

      Indian and Pakistanian food is my favorite. I'm a vegetarian and enjoy the meatless entrees. Thank you for this useful review. My mouth is watering:) Voted up useful, interesting and will share.

    • Denise Handlon profile image

      Denise Handlon 

      6 years ago from North Carolina

      Alocsin, what a great review. We definitely don't have that restaurant in my state...it sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing. Rate Up/U/I

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 

      6 years ago from Orlando, FL

      Great review!!! I've never eaten most of the foods mentioned, I tend to stick to certain food groups and seldom go off track. I'm tempted though since I read your hub. Well done!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi alocsin, as I tend to live on Indian or Pakistan food anyway this sounds just my thing! lol! my mouth was watering just reading it! Over here in England we have adopted what we call 'Indian' food, but of course it originates from all parts of Asia, so yes this sounds great, and votes all round!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)