ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

DSi XL Review

Updated on January 2, 2011

Best DSi XL Review

The DSi XL is the latest Nintendo DS Console to be released!
The DSi XL is the latest Nintendo DS Console to be released!

The DSi XL Review

The Nintendo DS has been one of the worlds most successful handheld consoles worldwide. It is fun, simple and has a long battery life, which makes it perfect for portable entertainment.

The DSi XL is the latest in the Nintendo DS series, and is nearly identical to the Nintendo DSi in specifications, except for a few very simple, but important aspects. The main change that has been made is the screen size, which is 93% larger than the Nintendo DSi!

The increased size of the DSi screen does is a fantastic move, the screen is sharp, bright, and clear. This is much more useful for text based games, with clearer writing, and more space to draw with the stylus for games such as Scribblenauts. However because the games are still set at the DS resolution, some of the graphics may seem blocky, as the stretched images have no extra detail, the pixels can become apparent.

Despite this, the DSi XL is a fantastic piece of kit, it allows for more enjoyable gameplay, with more accessibility and ease of use. Along with the larger screens the DSI XL comes with a more substantial stylus, giving you more accurate handling on the DSi XL. It is a shame therefore that these are some of the few benefits which I can mention in this DSi XL review.

The actual controls are still the same size as those on the original DSi, leaving them as fiddly as before to anyone who had trouble with the previous DSi controls. The specifications also remain the same, so the new DSi XL is no faster than a standard DSi. Surprising since we had to pay so much more for the smaller DSi, a larger DSi should be able to hold more components, or at least cost less. The DSi XL will actually be coming in at a premium price, which has annoyed some.

All in all, I can recommend the new DS console in this DSi XL review, however the DSi brings little new to the DSi console, so if you already have a Nintendo DSi console, a DSi XL console is probably not worth the additional cost. If you are new to buying a Nintendo DSi, I do actually think the larger screen is worth the slight additional cost, it does make the gameplay more immersing, and with the new pen like DSI XL stylus, it really is much easier to use.

Whats New in the DSi XL Features

The new DSi XL only has a few features, but I will go through them here to keep everything simple and apparent.

Size - The DSi XL is much larger than the original DSi, it's screen is reportedly 93% bigger. This improves gameplay, but does reduce the quality of the graphics. This size makes it great for playing around the house, but when it comes to portability, the DSi XL leaves a lot to be desired.

Stylus - The DSi XL comes with an enlarged pen like stylus, this allows for more comfortable and accurate gameplay on the DSi XL.

Buttons - The DSi XL Buttons are the same size as the original DSi, so while the stylus may be better for those who had trouble with the original DSi, don't expect any further relief from the buttons themselves.

Finish - Whereas the DSi had a matte the DSi XL has a gloss finish. It looks much better, but it is once again susceptible to fingermarks and grease smears.

Games and Applications - Unlike the DSi, the DSi Xl comes with two games, Dr Kawashima's a Little Bit of Brain Training, and the 6 in 1 dictionary. On top of this you also get some additional basic items which increase the DSi XL functionality.

The DSi XL Review Conclusion

The DSi XL is a great piece of kit, it gives great functionality, increased viewing pleasure and further accessibility.

While the DSi XL's larger screen size does give the console some major benefis, it also causes some major issues with portability. I would however say that all in all it allows briliant extended gameplay especially for those games which require intricate stylus gameplay and have lots of reading involved.

That is the other benefit of course, if you are one of the few people using the Nintendo DS series as an eBook reader, the larger screen size makes reading MUCH more comfortable!

If you already have a DS Lite or DSi, then this is probably not a worthwhile purchase, If you are looking to buy a new handheld console though, then the DSi XL could be a good buy for you!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      LEndsifreak449 

      7 years ago

      The dsi is waaaaay better than the 3ds!!!! The 3ds is freakin nerdy!!!!

    • profile image

      travis 

      7 years ago

      its great the nintendo dsi xl is alsome but still kind high priced but ive already have one the mario edittion one but i think this review was great.

    • profile image

      Medkh9 

      8 years ago

      humm i ll try buy one then lol , thanks for the hub

    • kidsklamotten profile image

      kidsklamotten 

      8 years ago

      It's indeed a nice improvement. This is a fair review!

    • TheGlassSpider profile image

      TheGlassSpider 

      8 years ago from On The Web

      Oli, a great hub...all I can say is great minds think alike...but it seems we took different routes to the same thing. I agree that the DSi XL is a wonderful improvement. I'm looking forward to getting one even though my DS "Phat" is still going strong!

    • profile image

      consolegamer 

      8 years ago from UK

      I'd say the DSi XL is a good upgrade for anyone with bad eyesight. Also, the original DS consoles must be nearing the end of their battery life now and maybe it's time for an upgrade.

    • CodyPhrenism profile image

      CodyPhrenism 

      8 years ago

      One of your amazon capsules is defunct! :p

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)