ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Red Dead Redemption Review For Xbox 360

Updated on June 8, 2011

Rockstar have done it again,not only did they release one of the biggest video games of all time in Grand Theft Auto but they have now gone and turned that game into a wild wild west movie with the release of Red Dead Redemption,This game is basically GTA in the wild west of America and is one of the biggest free roaming games available today,i have been playing this game for several weeks now and i am going to give you an insight into exactly what it is like,How good are the graphics,whats the story like,how well does it play and what are the sound effects like,all this and more i will explain in full detail.But believe me Rockstar have not let us down and after playing this game i think they should bring out more games like this from different time periods,who wouldn't want to see a pirates version of grand theft auto!!!!

Graphics

Firstly lets look at the graphics,the mainstay of any great video game,well like grand theft auto they are crisp and clear and only very occasionally do you get any overlapping of graphics.The movement of the graphics is slightly better than GTA,But put simply they are fantastic,especially when you are looking out over the American plains,the view is endless and the way the trees move the sunlight changes and the rain and wind move and fall is breathtaking.The colours are used to good effect and it is like being back in the wild west as the colours are made up of a slightly drab pallet.Rockstar have surpassed themselves and should be commended.

Red Dead Redemption's Animal's

The animals found in this game are typical of the age in which the game is set,and they are not only there to beef up the story line but they can either befriend you or attack you depending on where you are.All animals can be killed and or skinned for their fur,teeth or hides.These items can then be sold at the general store.The horse as you may well imagine plays the most integral part of the game as you can own any horse you like as long as you can break it in first.The animals are as follows.

Horse:There are many types of horse ranging from the simple mule to the thoroughbred horse.They all have different temperaments,stamina and speed.They are also the most common animal.

Cattle:There are several types of cattle but all form either cows or bulls and you may at some point in the game be asked to herd these animals.

Bison/Buffalo:The great plains are where you will find the majority of these animals.

Deer: There are a couple of different type of deer and killing and skinning these animals will count towards your master hunter status,they are quick though and you may need to use dead eye.

Grizzly bears:The most dangerous type of animal in the game and will be found in the tall tree's area.

Coyote's These animals can be a pain as they attack for no reason and usually in packs,they are found all over.

Cougers:The next most dangerous animal after the Bear and again these usually attack in pairs.

Snakes:there are a couple of different breeds of snake but the rattlesnake is the most common,it gives off a rattle when you draw near to it.

Vultures:Usually found where the dead are,so after a shootout they will appear to clear up.

Birds:Various birds including the eagle crows, as well as hawks.

Gangs

There are a number of gangs in the game that you will come across at some point in your travels.There are 2 main gangs,the biggest of which are the Walton gang,then there are the bollard gang.Now every now and then there are wanted posters and you will have to fight and kill several members of the gang every time you set off on one of these missions.The gangs are usually found in their hideouts and there is a number of these spread across the map,beware though do not try and enter these hideouts unless your man is fully loaded with weapons and ammo.

Sound

From the moment you turn this game on it has an unmistakable soundtrack that rattles along throughout the game,from the Clint Eastwood type whistles and wails,to the noises of coyotes howling at night and horses galloping through the plains,the different noises all blend together to create a beautiful soundtrack that fully complements the rest of the game.When you come across a gang or are in danger then the soundtrack speeds up and becomes a lot darker.Brilliant effort by rockstar.

Storyline

The storyline is worked well,from the opening credits all the way through the game,you get a sense of why john Marston is out there and what his main goal is,also the other characters you meet throughout the game are not just there to fill in gaps in the story but play a functional role in the story itself.I wont give away any details but it is a very good story.

Summing Up

In summery this game is simply outstanding,it is a game i had overlooked due to the fact that i had no interest in anything western,but it is brilliant in not only the graphics and storyline but also in the sound and effects,buy it because you will not be disappointed.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • gamermonkey profile image

      gamermonkey 

      6 years ago

      Red Dead Redemption is by far the best Western I've ever played. A very nice review, warchild75. And I agree, the graphics are truly memorizing to behold. And you have some great deals people can take advantage of. Seriously folks, if you don't have this game yet, do yourself a favor and buy it. A little present from you to yourself. A pirate game would be exceptional, especially since many were disappointed by Risen 2. Feel free to check out my hubs where I also review video games.

      Or my blog: http://gamermonkeyreviews.blogspot.com/

      Again, a very nice review. Keep it up!

    • warchild75 profile imageAUTHOR

      lee 

      7 years ago from Lancing, West Sussex, England

      Yeah i really enjoyed red dead,have now traded it in for fallout new vegas though :)

    • evvy_09 profile image

      evvy_09 

      7 years ago from Athens, AL

      Red Dead is awesome. Riding into town on my horse and a tumbleweed blows across my path. I had to go chase it of course. But perfect wild west scenes and the characters and especially horses are so well done. Awesome story.

    • warchild75 profile imageAUTHOR

      lee 

      8 years ago from Lancing, West Sussex, England

      @david yeah it is really good,im now hoping they do a pirate style one,that'll be cool.!

    • David 470 profile image

      David 470 

      8 years ago from Pennsylvania, United States

      I played this game at a friends house and thought it was amazing! Never seen a western game so similar to all the cliches and everything they did. I like how you can tame horses and how random events happen. The world is also incredible.

    • warchild75 profile imageAUTHOR

      lee 

      8 years ago from Lancing, West Sussex, England

      @two1four yeah man great game,im really addicted!

    • TwO1FouR profile image

      TwO1FouR 

      8 years ago from Dallas, TX

      I love Red Dead! The vast environment, hunting, multiplayer, free roam, treasure hunts, mini games, Wow! Incredible

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)