ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Pandemic Board Game Review - Can You Save The World?

Updated on December 11, 2014
Dr. T. Tumpey, Microbiologist at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Dr. T. Tumpey, Microbiologist at the Center for Disease Control and Prevention | Source

Pandemic The Board Game: Cooperate Or Die!

Pandemic is a cooperative board game for 2-4 players, made by Z-Man games.

In this unusual game, players work together to try to save the world from 4 virulent diseases.

Each player takes on the role of a Specialist with different abilities that can help the team.

However, the diseases are spreading rapidly and if there are too many outbreaks, it's game over!

The clock is ticking....

Have you got what it takes to find the cures before time runs out?

Note: This review is for the '2013' or second edition of the game.

All photos mine, unless stated otherwise.

A Cooperative Board Game

Yes, you read me right - this is a cooperative game.

Unlike traditional games, where you play against each other, cooperative games pit the players against the game itself.

Everyone wins or loses together.

If you haven't played this type of game before, then the concept may be hard to get your head round.

It's almost like playing a complex puzzle, except that the puzzle changes each time so the solution will be different too.

I enjoy "normal" games as much as anyone else, but there are times where cooperative games work really well.

Pandemic Board Game
Pandemic Board Game

In Pandemic, the board consists of a map of the world, displaying major cities and the links between them.

Bizarrely, this makes the game quite educational, because it will help you to learn where different cities belong, including some you may never have heard of.

A typical game will take around an hour (the box says 45 minutes!), but expect it to be a bit longer on the first time through.

The players start at Atlanta, where the real-life Centre for Disease Control (CDC) stands.

4 diseases are represented by 4 sets of coloured cubes, which 'spread' across the board as the game progresses.

A disease can be cured by collecting 5 city cards of the same colour and handing them in at a research station.

The goal of the game is to cure all 4 diseases and when the last disease is cured everyone wins instantly.

However, it's not as easy as it sounds...

 

3 Ways To Lose Pandemic

There is only one way to win the game, but there are 3 ways to lose.

The players lose when any one of the following occurs:

  1. If 8 'outbreaks' happen (the players failed to contain the spread of the diseases)
  2. If there are no more disease cubes available of a given colour (the disease has taken over)
  3. If they cannot draw any more player cards (time has run out)

Don't expect to win on the first time through!

Pandemic Board Close Up
Pandemic Board Close Up | Source

Dealing With Outbreaks In Pandemic

Photo, above: Chenai has 3 disease cubes already and is in danger of having an outbreak, which would spread to all connected cities!

However, the Quarantine Specialist is nearby and can prevent disease cubes from being placed in surrounding cities.

Chenai is safe ....for now...

Note to self:

Don't expect to win on your first time through!

Epidemic Card
Epidemic Card | Source

Tension Is An Epidemic

There's quite a bit of tension in the game as more cities get infected each turn, plus hidden in the player deck are some Epidemic cards.

The number of Epidemic cards used in the player deck determines the difficulty of the game.

When one of these appears, things turn up a notch:

  1. The infection rate increases
  2. A new city gets infected
  3. The Infection deck discards are re-shuffled and placed back on TOP of the draw pile

...This means that the cities you have worked so hard to treat will get infected all over again in the next few turns, with further outbreaks potentially leading to a "chain reaction" across the board!

As well as the immediate danger of the epidemic itself, increasing the infection rate will result in more cities being infected at the end of future turns.

The rules recommend using 4 Epidemic cards for an introductory game.

At this level, the maximum number of infection cards drawn each turn will be 3 - and only towards the end of the game.

Once you've got the hang of it, you can move on to 5 Epidemic cards for "Standard" difficulty, or 6 for "Heroic".

By the time you get to the end game on Heroic difficulty, you will get 4 cities infected each turn!

The number of Epidemic cards in the Player Deck determines the difficulty of the game.

5 of the 7 role cards available with the game
5 of the 7 role cards available with the game | Source

Role Playing In A Board Game

What I particularly like about Pandemic is that each player is given a random card at the beginning of the game that gives them their Role.

Each Role has a different ability which overrides the 'normal' rules.

For example, when the Medic Treats Disease, he can remove all disease cubes from a city (normally, you can remove only 1), while the Scientist can cure a disease using 4 cards instead of 5.

There are 7 roles but only 2-4 players, so you'll get a different combination of abilities each time you play.

This forces you to re-think your strategy according to what each player can do.

It also ensures that each player feels valuable and a part of the game - which is good news for families like mine!

It can be tempting to pick and choose roles, but in my experience it really is worth playing with random role assignments.

When you first start playing the game, certain roles such as the Medic or the Scientist seem to stand out, with abilities that sound powerful (they are).

However, the more you play with other roles, the more you find how useful they can be in different situations...

Each turn doesn't last long, thus ensuring that things keep moving and everyone stays involved

The medic role: really useful for clearing up disease cubes from the board.
The medic role: really useful for clearing up disease cubes from the board. | Source

Socially Challenging

This is a very social game too.

The simple but challenging mechanics mean that players will often discuss strategies as they go, so you can sometimes spend more time talking than actually playing!

However, each turn doesn't last long, thus ensuring that things keep moving and everyone stays involved.

On our first game, we got lucky with a large number of helpful special events cards appearing near the start (I guess I hadn't shuffled them as well as I thought).

This meant we got very close to 4 cures, without the diseases spreading too far.

Sadly, bedtime intervened so we never finished it, but the kids were wanting to play it again as soon as possible.

- I can't give a better recommendation than that!

Since then, we have played it most weekends and after a number of games at the Introductory level, have moved on to the Standard difficulty.

It's surprising how much difference 1 extra Epidemic makes and we have lost as many games as we have won at this level.

It can also become a little bit tricky keeping everyone in line without talking over the top of each other with good ideas for strategy, particularly if you have a child that likes to overrule everyone else all the time...

We therefore introduced a house rules involving a wooden spoon:

  1. The only person who is allowed to speak is the one holding the wooden spoon
  2. The person whose turn it is, gets the spoon first
  3. If someone else wants to speak, they put their hand up to be passed the spoon

Thankfully, the kids seem to have settled down a lot now, so we can play without the spoon these days.

This isn't a game for very young children as there are small parts, and the disease markers (small translucent plastic cubes) could look like sweets to toddlers.

The box gives an age rating of 10+, but most 8-9 year olds would have no problem getting to grips with it.

Have you ever played a cooperative game?

Do you love them, or find you can't seem to get your head around the idea?

Have you played Pandemic and have you worked out how to beat it yet?

Let us know in the comments.

Comments Please!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Elsie Hagley profile image

      Elsie Hagley 3 years ago from New Zealand

      Nice to see a game I haven't seen or played before, it looks interesting.

      I do play card games on my computer, hard spider solitaire game is my main one, 253 games I am 86%.

      I find it very relaxing, but can waste away many hours.

      Thanks for sharing this game it looks quite exciting.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Elsie Hagley: I have fond memories of playing Spider: one of the toughest, but most engrossing patience/solitaire card games of all time, which actually involves some skill I might add.

      I am therefore most impressed by your 86% win rate!

      My family are really enjoying Pandemic: we're definitely getting the hang of it and coming up with strategies for beating it.

      Since you are playing against the game, you could also play it solitaire, if you wanted.

      Thanks for dropping by!

    • Erin Mellor profile image

      Erin Mellor 3 years ago from Europe

      I love Pandemic, but I am a big fan of co-operatives. There's one person I won't play with though - there's something about saving the world from disease that brings out the megalomaniac in some people!

    • artbyrodriguez profile image

      Beverly Rodriguez 3 years ago from Albany New York

      This really sounds interesting. I'm not up on all games, but this sounds very different. Folks nowadays really like role playing, too.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Erin Mellor: Thanks for dropping by Erin.

      I can see that 'one person' may be a problem...

      We started to get a similar issue with my son when we were playing it the other day as he kept jumping in with ideas of what to do next during other people's turns.

      We tried out a house rule that on each turn the active player would tell the others what they were thinking of doing before anyone else was allowed to speak.

      This worked really well for us, so I think we may adopt it for all co-op games!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @artbyrodriguez: Yes, it certainly is different.

      If you're coming from role playing games, such as those on PCs and consoles, then it is very much "role playing lite" in Pandemic by comparison.

      You don't develop your role like you would do in say Skyrim.

      However, the roles are central to how this game works and do help to make sure everyone plays together.

      Thanks for reading!

    • Fufurinha47 profile image

      Beatriz 3 years ago from Portugal

      Never heard of, but seems great.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Fufurinha47: It sure is!

      Thanks for reading.

    • shellys-space profile image

      Shelly Sellers 3 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      I have never played Pandemic, but it looks like fun!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @shellys-space: Give it a try - I'm sure you'll enjoy it!

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • LisaDH profile image

      LisaDH 3 years ago

      I've never heard of this. I like the idea, though, as it sounds very challenging.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @LisaDH: Yes, we've only played it on the introductory level so far (I like a challenge, but we are playing as a family, after all) and we have won most of our games, but only just!

      We are planning on getting fully to grips with things before moving on to the 'standard' game...

    • profile image

      sybil watson 3 years ago

      This game sounds like it would be a great gift for the nurses in my family! When my kids were little we used to play a cooperative game called "Moon Mission" where the players had to work together on a mission to explore the moon.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @sybil watson: Yes, I guess it would!

      I've not heard of moon mission, so thank you for mentioning it.

    • PippiDust profile image

      PippiDust 3 years ago

      It really looks like an interesting game, I want to try it.

    • darkflowers profile image

      Anja Toetenel 3 years ago from The Hague, the Netherlands

      Congrats with the Purple Star Tim, you certainly deserved it!

    • DANCING COWGIRL profile image

      Dancing Cowgirl Design 3 years ago from Texas

      Wow that sounds like a pretty cool game for teaching teamwork in a family. I've never heard of it before. Thanks for the review and introduction to the game. Best Wishes.

    • Diaper Bag Blog profile image

      Stanley Green 3 years ago from Czech Republic

      I have never played this game, but it seems to be very interesting and funny. Generally I love to play board games, like Monopoly, but also chess...

    • DreyaB profile image

      DreyaB 3 years ago from France

      Congrats on LoTD. I've not played a co-op game but know some people who might like this if they haven't got it already. It sounds really interesting, as I like PC Sim style games. Great page and congrats on the awards. :0)

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 3 years ago from Lakewood New York

      I never heard of this game it looks like a great family or friend game Thanks for the review

    • Yamin Joe profile image

      Yamin Joe 3 years ago

      I have never heard of this game, I will try to play with my son, sounds interesting.

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      woah... this is new and looks fun

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 3 years ago from Colorado

      I would love this game. Congrats on LOTD!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Diana Wenzel: I'm sure you would!

      Thanks for reading.

    • profile image

      getmoreinfo 3 years ago

      Perfect gift idea for a medical student.

    • PaigSr profile image

      PaigSr 3 years ago from State of Confussion

      I have heard of the game but that is about it. Thanks for the further details. And congrats on LOTD.

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 3 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Back to congratulate you on your well-deserved Lens of the Day honors!

    • OhMe profile image

      Nancy Tate Hellams 3 years ago from Pendleton, SC

      Great review. Congratulations on LOTD

    • LiteraryMind profile image

      Ellen Gregory 3 years ago from Connecticut, USA

      This does sound like fun. Thanks for describing it and introducing me to it. Congratulations on LOTD.

    • profile image

      SteveKaye 3 years ago

      I find this game concept fascinating. Thank you for publishing this lens.

    • profile image

      changrcoacher 3 years ago

      I'm not a board game person, but I'm a person who believes we can save the world by cooperating! Cooperating with each other, with nature and with Source...Congratulations on LOTD...

    • Nancy Hardin profile image

      Nancy Carol Brown Hardin 3 years ago from Las Vegas, NV

      Tim, Congratulations on LOTD! Well done and I'm so proud of you!

    • Sharlee01 profile image

      Sharon Stajda 3 years ago from Shelby Township Michigan

      Sounds like an interesting game. I enjoyed reading your lens, great work.

    • profile image

      philipcaddick 3 years ago

      I have never heard of cooperative games before, these sound GREAT, much better than the competitive ones , although they can be fun. Thanks for this educating lens.

    • Mary Stephenson profile image

      Mary Stephenson 3 years ago from California

      Congratulations on LOTD.

    • darciefrench lm profile image

      darciefrench lm 3 years ago

      Sounds like a great game for a family of budding scientists, intellectuals and medical personnel :)

    • archetekt lm profile image

      archetekt lm 3 years ago

      What an interesting concept for a game. We currently play Settlers of Catan, but Pandemic looks like a nice change.

    • profile image

      RuralFloridaLiving 3 years ago

      Enjoyed your lens. Very interesting idea behind a game.

    • profile image

      JZinoBodyArt 3 years ago

      My friends used to play this. I don't think they ever won lol! Always lost to the board.

    • Board-Game-Brooke profile image

      C A Chancellor 3 years ago from US/TN

      I love cooperative games and Pandemic is one of my favorites.

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      Congratulations on your LOTD

    • Bercton1 profile image

      Bercton1 3 years ago

      A new game to me but look very interesting!

    • Minoru10 profile image

      Michael Yoshinaka 3 years ago from Honolulu, Hawaii

      I like the idea how this game works. It's so lifelike situation. I would really enjoy playing it. Thanks for sharing. : D

    • sarita garg profile image

      sarita 3 years ago from Hisar

      Never heard of this. Interesting lens...

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @darkflowers: Thanks very much!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @DANCING COWGIRL: Yes, it works pretty well for that.

      We have had a couple of times where one of us (*cough* my son *cough*) has tried to take over a bit too much, but we're all learning through it and still having fun while we do!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Diaper Bag Blog: It is interesting and gets you talking - not just during the game, but afterwards too!

      Thanks for reading.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @DreyaB: Thanks DreyaB!

      I think if you like Sim style games, then you will love this ...but then I'm biased ;)

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @esmonaco: Glad you liked it and learnt something new.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Yamin Joe: Enjoy!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @getmoreinfo: Ha ha! I think you may be right!

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @PaigSr: You're welcome.

      Glad you found it helpful.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @SusanDeppner: Thanks Susan - thanks for the encouragement!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @OhMe: Thanks!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @LiteraryMind: You're welcome!

      I hope you enjoy it.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @SteveKaye: You're welcome. I've always found epidemiology fascinating, so to see it presented in a game certainly drew me in.

      Thanks for reading.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @changrcoacher: Thanks for reading and for being so cooperative! ;)

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Nancy Hardin: Thanks Nancy!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Sharlee01: Thanks, glad you found it interesting.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @philipcaddick: Yes, I like competitive games too, but there's something about cooperative games and this one in particular, that seem to have my family addicted at the moment!

      Thanks for reading.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @darciefrench lm: Yes, indeed! My son has said he would like to go into medicine in the future - maybe this will keep him on that track? :)

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @archetekt lm: We play Settlers too - a great game. I keep meaning to get hold of one or other of the expansion packs for it, but this game seems to have caught our interest for the moment.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @JZinoBodyArt: Yes, we've concentrated on playing the introductory game so far.

      We're getting pretty good at it, but keep saying "if we had one more epidemic, then we would have lost that game".

      Hmm.....

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Board-Game-Brooke: Glad to hear it! :)

      Thanks for reading.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @anonymous: Thanks!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Bercton1: It certainly is!

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Minoru10: You're welcome. I wish you many enjoyable hours with the game!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @sarita garg: Thanks for reading.

    • weakbond profile image

      Nnadi bonaventure Chima 3 years ago from Johanesburg

      wonderful review that makes the game all the more interesting.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @weakbond: Well, thank you very much for your kind comment!

    • lollyj lm profile image

      Laurel Johnson 3 years ago from Washington KS

      I'd never heard of this game. Thanks for the interesting perspective on it, and congrats on LOTD.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @lollyj lm: You're welcome. Thanks for reading.

    • RawBill1 profile image

      Bill 3 years ago from Gold Coast, Australia

      I have never heard of a cooperative game before but I like the concept of everyone working together as a team instead of against one another. Congrats on LOTD, it sounds like a fun game! :-)

    • profile image

      The_Storyteller 3 years ago

      I love cooperative games! My Dad and I are pretty big into board games, and I have several cooperative games I love! Defenders of the Realm, Elder Sign, and Forbidden Island to name a few! I haven't played this particular game yet, though I think my Dad has with some of our gamer friends. Congrats on the LotD!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @RawBill1: Thanks!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @The_Storyteller: I've heard of those games, but not played them - I believe Forbidden Island is by Z-Man Games too.

      Thanks for reading.

    • profile image

      The_Storyteller 3 years ago

      @Tim Bader: Thank you for writing this! It's nice to see some other boardgamers on Squidoo.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @The_Storyteller: You're welcome and nice to meet you!

    • EzLoanLookUp LM profile image

      EzLoanLookUp LM 3 years ago

      I really like cooperative games. I like fighting "villains" more than my friends. I guess I'm not overly competitive so I tend to have more fun with these games.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @EzLoanLookUp LM: I know what you mean!

      I'm a 'team player' myself - even in console games I prefer to play cooperatively.

      Thanks for reading.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 3 years ago from Seattle, WA

      Sounds interesting - but since I'm currently reading Inferno (threatened pandemic) I think I'll wait a little while before looking for this one!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @SheGetsCreative: Ha ha! I can see why you might think again!

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • jennabee25 profile image

      Jenn Dixon 3 years ago from PA

      I have never have won a game of Pandemic, though it can be done. It's still a lot of fun!

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      ive never played, sounds interesting .

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @jennabee25: I've heard of several players saying that they play and enjoy it, even though they never win!

      We're still gearing up to play the "standard" game ourselves - maybe we're just plain chicken?!

    • girlfriendfactory profile image

      girlfriendfactory 3 years ago

      I had no idea cooperative board games existed (I only knew of Internet games) so this sounds like a lot of fun! My best friend, her husband and I are going to do an online class about fighting Zombies and epidemics so I may need to get this game, too! Thanks for sharing a great review!

    • SBPI Inc profile image

      SBPI Inc 3 years ago

      Cool

      Kinda reminds me of the old Risk War game.

      Nice.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @girlfriendfactory: Zombies and epidemics eh?

      Well, it sounds like you may well enjoy this game, but thankfully there's no zombies in sight!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @SBPI Inc: Yeah, it's amazing how many games seem to look like Risk in one way or another - but the map is where the similarity ends!

    • rattie lm profile image

      rattie lm 3 years ago

      This sounds like a fabulous teaching game.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @rattie lm: It sure is - thanks for reading.

    • profile image

      ReneeBear 3 years ago

      This is a great game; my friends and I have played Pandemic [with the expansion] many, many times.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @ReneeBear: Funny - one of my kids was saying "we should get Pandemic On The Brink" just last night!

      Thanks for reading.

    • merfzel profile image

      merfzel 3 years ago from Atlanta, GA

      My daughter wants to be an epidemiologist (did I spell that right?) so I am so glad I saw this lens... I bet she'll love this game!!! Bookmarked!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @merfzel: Yes, that's definitely the correct spelling!

      Epidemiology is something I have always found fascinating.

      Hope your daughter likes the game and her training!

    • profile image

      anonymous 3 years ago

      nice efforts

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @anonymous: Thank you!

    • profile image

      othellos 3 years ago

      Excellent lens. I just learned about these kinds of games and I will check them out further. Very interesting topic:=)

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @othellos: You're welcome: glad you found it useful.

      Thanks for reading.

    • KathyZ1 profile image

      KathyZ1 3 years ago

      Congs on your LOTD. Great lens.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @KathyZ1: Thanks, glad you liked it.

    • Jessica Holbrook profile image

      Jessica 3 years ago from Southern Indiana

      Great lens about a great game! I just bought this game when it was on sale for $21 last week. My husband and I definitely lost the first time, haha. We're going to try again today.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Jessica Holbrook: Yep, it's definitely one of those games which is tough but keeps you coming back for more.

      Last week we introduced some friends to it - we also lost, in the last turn ....by just 1 action!

      Thanks for leaving a comment and hope you win next time. :)

    • boneworld profile image

      Jackson Thom 3 years ago from West of Left South Lucky

      I don't believe I've every played a cooperative board game. I've played several video games that had that kind of atmosphere, but never a board game. I will take a look at this. My wife would probably love it. She plays a game on her phone about a disease outbreak. I can't remember what it was called. Great review!

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 3 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @boneworld: Thanks!

      One of the things I love about this game is how it appeals to everyone - men and women, boys and girls and of more or less any age.

      There is a version of Pandemic for mobile/iPhone (and iPad, I believe), but there's something about having "real" components on a board that set this apart and make it more social.

      Thanks for reading.

    • profile image

      Ibidii 2 years ago

      I have been observing my adult kids do RPG for the last 4 years. My son has a plethora of the game books! They were gaming at my house for 2 years. The go elsewhere now so I do not get to watch anymore. However they did not let me play because they were all so expert at it and did not want any newbies. Who wants to play RPG with their blind Mom? I would love to get a new game so that I can get the 3 kids to do a game with me that is new. I love Medical things and I think this one would be good. They all know the RPG strategy and how to, so they can teach me and read the cards for me. It would be nice to be involved! I would normally pass by game lens but I saw that you wrote board game and so I had to come look!

      Great review Tim.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 2 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Ibidii: Thanks Sherry.

      Sorry to hear you don't get to play with your kids.

      Sounds to me like this would be just right for you and your family.

      While this is probably less complex than their RPGs, I'm sure they will appreciate the tension in this one.

      I can also see how it would work well with them reading out the cards for you - the cards are simple, clearly printed and colourful, with the majority showing a picture of a city on the world map, so there's only the Epidemic, Special Event and Role cards that have more text that needs to read, if that makes sense.

      As an added bonus, as RPG-ers, they'll probably like the additional options in the expansion packs (yes there's more)!

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Ammon Beardmore profile image

      Ammon Beardmore 2 years ago

      Great game. We have lost far more times than winning.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 2 years ago from Surrey, UK

      Yes, I think we could say the same!

      Thanks for reading.

    • HoverLock profile image

      Hannah Overlock 2 years ago from Maine

      This was a great summary of Pandemic! I love the wooden spoon rule. I think I will try that out with my family. Have you tried the expansion packs? My husband and I recently purchased the "On the Brink" expansion pack and love it! He thoroughly enjoys playing the role of the bio-terrorist.

    • Tim Bader profile image
      Author

      Tim Bader 2 years ago from Surrey, UK

      I haven't played On the Brink, but have a copy of In The Lab, which I enjoy for the significant change (in a good way) of the basic mechanics.

      I keep meaning to get On The Brink though - partly so I can introduce more players to the game.

      Hope the wooden spoon works for you!

      P.S. I reviewed In The Lab, which is listed on my profile page, if you're interested.

    Click to Rate This Article