ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Bring It: P90X Total Program Review

Updated on January 1, 2012
The P90X set comes with one informational DVD and 12 DVDs full of workouts to be used throughout the entire 90 days.
The P90X set comes with one informational DVD and 12 DVDs full of workouts to be used throughout the entire 90 days. | Source

P90X created by Tony Horton is nothing short of extreme. I should know as I have just recently become a P90X graduate. Through the 12 different DVDs offer, I have sweat, cried and transformed into a whole new person. It took me a full 90 days, but I have finally come to the point where I can give an honest and truthful review of the entire program.

If you would like to start from the beginning of this series, please click here. However, if you just want to see the final results and skip the 90 days worth of research, feel free to just check out Day 90 by clicking here.

What is P90X

Anybody that floats around the internet world of health, and maybe perhaps has a thing for informercials, will have probably at sometime heard of P90X. This program, created by Tony Horton is part of the many Beach Body programs out there to get people in better shape, physically and mentally.

P90X works like this: P90X is broken into three phases. You have 3 weeks of tearing down your muscles and kicking your own behind. This of course is followed by a Recovery Week that focuses mainly on core. This is the trend for the first two phases. The final phase is an incorporation of the prior two phases. Phase 1 for the first and third week; Phase 2 for the second and fourth week, followed by a final Recovery Week.

While you are expected to give it 100%, the Tony Horton will give you the motivation, the tools and the variety needed to change your life. This is what is known as muscle confusion. However, this program is not just a workout. It is a lifestyle change. That means you are not just expected to push play, but you should also be aware of what you are putting in your body as well!

Can you Spot The Differences

I can talk about the results until I am blue in the face, but really, pictures tell it all. These photos have not been touched up to make the results look more noticeable. This is a real picture!
I can talk about the results until I am blue in the face, but really, pictures tell it all. These photos have not been touched up to make the results look more noticeable. This is a real picture! | Source

The Results

Any workout will give you results if you put in enough effort and you eat the right foods. So, for me to say this workout gives you results, it is only obvious that I am going to say yes. Then again, just getting into the routine of walking when you are mostly sedentary will also give you results.

So you may be wondering what makes P90X so special then. Well, the combination of the moves really shreds off the fat. That means the results are going to be dramatic. Yet, getting the results will be completely up to you.

If you don't push yourself, you will not see much of a difference. Even worse, if you just use this as a workout and don't change your eating habits, you also won't see much of a drastic change. This is not a miracle pill; this is hardwork. But if you are willing to put it in, you will see the results!

Get the gear

Gaiam 05-53724  Yoga For Beginners Kit, Blue
Gaiam 05-53724 Yoga For Beginners Kit, Blue

To do P90X you will need a pilates mat. This will come in handy throughout the 90 days and is a for sure investment.

 

The Workout

Overall, the workout is something easy enough for you to do without having a degree in coordination. Yet, the moves are hard enough to challenge you regardless of your skill level and still be effective.

The workout is filled with variety. Yet, as an honest opinion, I did find that I got a little bored. Sure, the workout is different each day of the week and then it repeats the next week. But, it is still the same workout time after time with very similiar moves. To me, that gets boring. I like to have constant change in my workouts. I like to do many different things. And as a final downfall for the workout, you can only listen to the same dialogue time and time again before the motivating talks from Tony Horton become annoying. After 90 days, I can now quote Tony Horton before he says his line.

However, the thing I do like about this workout is for almost every exercise I was able to modify to fit my skill level. The fact is I wasn't even in starting condition when I started this program. What I was - stubborn. So I did push through the workout and I did get stronger. For others, this might not be wise because it could result in injury or just giving up.

This workout is great though because of the results. Anybody who likes to do a "military" type workout, will come to realize how familiar this type of workout is. Since I am prior military - I found the moves familiar. Others who have spent time in the military will also find it familiar and like the routine.

Cons

  • P90X might be too extreme for everybody, which could result in injury
  • This is extreme - you might lose motivation before you even get started
  • Time-consuming - each workout takes about an hour. Not good for someone always on the go. A shorter workout might be more beneficial
  • You WILL be sore for almost 90 days straight
  • The exercises are military type and could get boring after awhile
  • Not enough cardio (personal opinion) to lose weight. Seems better suited to those who just need to tone.
  • Pricey - The whole program will put a dent in your wallet. If it is just going to sit and collect dust, you might want to reconsider the purchase.

Pros vs. Cons : Which one will be victor in your decision to get healthy

When weighing out the program, which side wins? This will come down to a personal decision. What one person feels is a definate pro might be a con. The facts are layed out before you - which one will win your battle?
When weighing out the program, which side wins? This will come down to a personal decision. What one person feels is a definate pro might be a con. The facts are layed out before you - which one will win your battle? | Source

Pros

  • This workout will give you results! It is geared toward building the muscles and kick starting your metabolism.
  • The exercises are easy enough - not much coordination needed
  • Variety - there are 12 different DVDs included with a different workout to be used. The guidebook outlines the programs and will help you know which workout is for which day.
  • Plenty of support - BeachBody.com is a free online support tool
  • You can workout at home, at your own convenience
  • Very little equipment is needed - most of the workouts can be done without the use of equipment. The exception to this is the pull-up bar. There is plenty of pull-ups throughout the 90 days. You can use bands though for replacement.
  • Tip of the day. Not only are you doing the workout but you are also gaining valuable information with each session. This will help to avoid injury throughout the 90 days.
  • Motivation. The saying is "Do your best and forget the rest!" You will not master this program the first time you try it. You probably won't master it on the 90th day either. Know that if you tried your hardest, that is all the matters. You will get stronger.
  • Muscle definition. If you want to get ripped - your muscles will start showing up for the count.
  • Increased energy - Who doesn't want to have a neverending supply of energy. You will become more productive in everyday life. You might even be bouncing off the walls.

Is your health worth the investment?

It is decision time... do you want to spend a little extra money for a program that works, or do you want to keep investing $10 here and there for ones that never give you results. The decision is yours!
It is decision time... do you want to spend a little extra money for a program that works, or do you want to keep investing $10 here and there for ones that never give you results. The decision is yours! | Source

Is it worth the cost?

P90X, depending on where you find it, can be pricey. This is one of the biggest downfalls of the program. Why would you invest hundrends of dollars into your workout?

This is easy... why wouldn't you? After all, so many of us will invest in gym memberships for the year after we have made a New Year's resolution. If you don't use the gym, how much money have you wasted. For P90X, any equipment you purchase, will be able to be used elsewhere, even if you end up throwing the program aside in the end.

However, this program does give you results, and honestly, your health is worth the investment. Worse case scenario, you end up reselling the program to get your money back.

For me, this program was worth the extra dollars, but make sure to do your research beforehand. If you know you can't invest time in the hour long workouts, you already know this will go unused. In addition, if you are just starting out, this might be too difficult. For you, getting started on something easier would be the way to go.

Yet, if you are stubborn like me, and you are determined to get results, this might be what you have been looking for. If that is the case, and you are ready to make a committment, this is well worth the investment.

My Rating

I will give the P90X 4 out of 5 smileys!
I will give the P90X 4 out of 5 smileys! | Source

Why I give it 4 out of 5 Smileys

I give this program 4 out of 5 smileys because it does what it says. This is not a "weight-loss" program. While it will take the pounds off, the focus is more on reshaping the body and building muscle. If you have a lot of extra pounds to lose, starting out on a cardio program might be more beneficial as P90X is lacking on cardio, in my opinion.

However, the pictures speak for itself. If you are looking for results, this program will do that. The only reason I did not give it a full five stars is due to the time-consuming nature of the program. Most people have a hard time squeezing in 20 minutes 3 times a week, so that makes this program a committment that you need to stick with 7 days a week.

The only other downfall others might not like is the cost, but when weighing out the benefits, I will spend the money again. Your health should be something you are willing to invest in!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 5 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Peggy W - Thanks for the share. This is a great program and maybe I am a little prejudice because this is the one that initially started my weight loss. I have lost 40 pounds and this program has definitely proved to be the most effective for me! Now that I am closer to goal I am dabbling in other things but for the time being, but I do still favor P90X and Tony Horton! :)

    • Peggy W profile image

      Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

      Hi Stacy,

      Congratulations on your determination to do this 90 day program and finish it and for your review of it. Think that I will keep on doing what we are doing at our gym for the time being. Up votes and tweeted and shared. There are others who may wish to learn of this P90X program.

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @TechTrendy - Glad to find a fellow P90Xer... I will stand by this program and probably any other beach body program out there. I have seen amazing results... which was something I was struggling to see for years after I had my last child. It didn't seem to matter what I did, I just couldn't get rid of the post pregnancy weight. This, however, made things change. I love it - but like you said - it definately isn't something for everybody. I am glad I made it through it. It truly has changed my life. Although I will admit, I still can't do Ab Ripper X.

    • profile image

      TechTrendy 6 years ago

      I love P90X! Was so glad to get this system when I did as it provides me with multiple work outs that actually challenge me and does show results. I do agree it is NOT for everyone and some of the routines are quite rigorous but if you can muster up the strength to try it for two weeks at least you might find the motivation to complete the program. I like to use the Ab Ripper X as a warm out or a day I'm not doing any heavy lifting. I too recommend this program for those who are willing to make a change.

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Real - I thought about giving it all five stars, but I was hoping for a little higher weight loss... which might deter people from the program when they only see about 3 to 5 pounds drop off the scale when they are builting muscle and the cost is really high. Not bad if you are into investing in your health. Unfortunately, for those who live paycheck to paycheck, this program won't be easy to attain. Such a shame. The other downfall is the time - not easily accomplished for those who never sit down and give an hour to themselves. If you don't do it daily, the results won't be wear you want. Those are the major downfalls. For me - definately a 5 star program, for others, those issues might be the determining factor to not jump on the bandwagon.

      However, I do have to say, I am totally satisfied with the results of this program. So much so that I have already started round 2! It is funny because I feel so much stronger now than I did just a week ago. It is hard to describe the feeling though. I just feel.... awesome. I vouch for this program but it is getting through it and not giving up that is hard. Thank goodness I had hubpages to keep me committed ;)

    • RealHousewife profile image

      Kelly Umphenour 6 years ago from St. Louis, MO

      Stacy - I tell you - I think in looking at your photo you should give it 5 stars cuz you are!!

      You look fabulous!! WTG!

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Sunshine - It is very ironic becuase the exercises themselves are easy enough to do... but they are oh so evil. They will kick you and when you fall, they will kick you again. It was really a matter of pure stubbornness that kept me through this program, but my stubbornness, for once in my life, was actually a good thing and paid off. I have now recruited my husband into the program. That means I have started on Round 2 instead of breaking for a bit. That isn't too bad considering I am already in the habit so why stop. It is nice having someone workout with me - so instead of writing, I got to kick my husband's butt with the program. Just as motivating! :)

    • Sunshine625 profile image

      Linda Bilyeu 6 years ago from Orlando, FL

      Way to go Stacy!!! I just watched Live With Kelly and they showed workout techniques from the P90X and OMG it was torture to watch let alone perform! LOL Congrats to you for sticking with the program!:)

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Ghomefitness - Thanks so much. I hope it gives people a good educated amount of information to decide whether or not this is the workout for them. The hardest thing is the time, because people struggle just doing 20 to 30 minutes while balancing work and family. This truly is a commitment but the cost isn't worth it if it is going to collect dust! :)

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Myth - Glad to see you are starting to really Bring It in 2012. And yes - I am pushing Eli to do the program. Mainly because it will help keep me motivated to do a second round. Ironically, I was starting to burn out on it, but today when I did it, I felt a whole new surge of energy. It was great. So kick those resolutions in and just keep doing it. As for P90X, I think you have too many things going all at the same time to actually squeeze this long of a workout in. But, when things calm down, I know you might be looking at it in a different light. You will definately have much more energy if you do it, but you will be sore for the first 2 weeks! :) Keep up the hard work and let's see what you can do for Darryl. I will pester Eli and keep him hanging in there! :)

    • ghomefitness profile image

      ghomefitness 6 years ago from Chicago,IL

      Great Job! That was a very detailed 90 day review and the results were great.

    • mythicalstorm273 profile image

      mythicalstorm273 6 years ago

      Amazing and awesome review :-) I already knew pretty much everything you said because of talking to you, but it was still interesting to read how you wrote it and what you decided to write about it. I wish I could do P90, but the time is a bit too much for me. Although truth be told if I started doing it and got the energy I need, then I would sleep less and I would probably have time for it. As it is I need way too much sleep to feel well rested. Of course head colds have a negative affect on sleep patterns as well! lol. So You are starting to kick Eli's butt into shape again huh... I'm going to start on Darrel as well. Although I won't push him too hard. He gained 6.5 lbs since March and .... 20 lbs since we bought the Wii Fit in October of 2009. I am officially at my lowest weight since we bought the Wii Fit!!!! Still he is about 1 lb away from his NEVER WANT TO BE goal so it starts :-) Today we go grocery shopping and work out before I go to work.... so let it begin :-) Once again though... great hub, great job, and kick his butt into shape :-)

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @moviedude31 - Love you too... which is why we are going to kick your behind in shape starting tomorrow. You better be ready. No excuses this time! :)

    • barbergirl28 profile image
      Author

      Stacy Harris 6 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      @Daffy Duck - On Amazon the program retails for about $140 dollars, but you might be able to find it cheaper if you look on craigslist to see if anybody is getting rid of their copy. I know I invested in the Total gym at one time. It collects dust - but that doesn't really matter. What matters is it has a lifetime warranty. And I was on craigslist and people were selling them for very little compared to the original cost. It made me sick. So, I am sure you could find a copy there.

      On BeachBody.com... P90X is 120 but it requires 20 for Shipping and Handling... P90X2 is the same price. So it pretty much goes across the board at the same price unless you find it on sale. Because it is an older program, it doesn't have a deal. Because I had the original P90X, I could have gotten P90X2 for cheaper but I didn't get the mail until way to late so the offer was over by the time I saw it. Although I am not really ready for it anyway! :)

      As for the picture - I never through pictures away. It is actually sick how many times I have taken before pictures of myself that have no after picture. That just shows you how many times I have tried and failed! So I guess the easy answer would have just been yes! LOL

    • moviedude31 profile image

      moviedude31 6 years ago from Riverside, Ca

      I'm so incredibly proud of you. You are truly an inspiration to me. I love you.

    • Daffy Duck profile image

      Daffy Duck 6 years ago from Cornelius, Oregon

      How much does it cost? I don't think you ever revealed that.

      Good follow up hub. I especially like the pros and cons section.

      Just curious. Are you going to keep a picture of your former self?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)