ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Ramblings and musings

Updated on August 20, 2011
My baby Sophie who will be 13 at end of October
My baby Sophie who will be 13 at end of October

Long time quiet

Well I did hope to write a bit more often when I started way back in March, but life as they say got in the way. Not that I have been that busy, just could not put pen to paper as you might say - not that I put a pen to paper much these days, holding a pen or pencil for more than a minute causes me to much pain, so its typed or nothing.

I have the wonderful condition called Fibromyalgia, and my GP thinks I may also have MS - had MRI scans of brain and they found many, many bright spots but spinal tab was clear so the specialist said no, but my GP feels my symptoms go far beyond what is acceptable for Fibro, but only time will tell - a proper diagnosis of MS will not make any difference to my life, as GP has explained, so its just a name.

I have this year managed to grow some vegetables in pots, been trying for a few years but either weather or slugs or both has defeated me. So far I have harvested Strawberries, French Beans and Peas in Pods, but am waiting for my Cabbage, Brussels Sprouts, Potatoes, Onions, Leeks, Cauliflower, Broccilli, Carrots, Rhubarb and Tomatoes to fully grow. I have a small back garden that is open to North, East and South but I had very, very high hedges allow the south and they kept a lot of the light out. These have now been cut right down and plenty of light is now coming through so hoping the plants will respond and pick up a bit of speed. I also have various flowers in pots which I keep along the patio so are nice to look at when I sit out there. I am hoping to find someone to cut me beds in the grass on my side garden which is rather large - am thinking 12in width and about 6ft long with a two foot path of grass between them, I plant to pile up compost on top so can work at them without having to get right down which is something I cannot do or if I do ever have to get done on the ground it can take me ages to get up again as pain is very, very bad never mind the stiffness.

I never used to be much of a gardener, but being stuck at home so much, and in bed much of that, I want so much to be outside when I can but have never been one just to sit and do nothing, so thought of growing things in pots as easy to maintain but now enjoying it so much I want to expand my growing area. As I live on a buy main road into city and garden is only surrounded by a 3ft fence I am worried about planting going walkies, so will try and only plant root vegetables in the hopes that most people will not recognise the leaves and flowers above ground for what they are and just think they are slightly different from normal bedding plants :)

I have not alas done much knitting these past few months as hands become to sore for such careful work, so just have to made do with looking at my yarn, and yes holding and stroking it from time to time.

Mmm I fancy a cup of tea, so my trusted teasmade will be put to use - its so handy, going up and downstairs is so painful and difficult so treated myself to one, as a kettle just invites me to pour water on myself when my hands take the fancy to do their own thing which they enjoy doing, so will go and fill it up ( cold water so only get wet not scolded if it ends up being dropped) and switch it on, milk is kept in a thermos which is filled up daily - after being cleaned that is.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)