ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Stages of Breast Cancer

Updated on October 5, 2011

The term breast cancer refers to a tumor that develops from cells in the breast, most commonly from the inner lining of milk ducts. For examining the stages of breast cancer, a tissue is removed during mastectomy or lumpectomy and of the lymph nodes under your arm. The stages give information about the size of the tumor and its credibility to other tissues. Breast cancer stage takes into account how large the cancer is and whether it has spread beyond the breast. There are five stages of breast cancer.

Breast Cancer
Breast Cancer | Source

Different Stages of Breast Cancer

  • Stage 0 – Stage 0 is used to describe non-invasive breast cancers. The cancer cells remain does not invade into the adjacent breast tissue; they remain inside the breast duct. It is also known as ‘ductal carcinoma in situ’ (DCIS) or ‘lobular carcinoma in situ’ (LCIS).
  • Stage I – This stage is defined as the early stage of cancer. This stage is possibly curable. The size of the tumor is up to 2 cm; and the lymph nodes are not involved.
  • Stage II– The following conditions hold true for this stage:
    • The size of the tumor is between 2 to 5 cm and the lymph nodes may or may not be involved.
    • The size of the tumor is either 2 cm or less and the axillary lymph nodes are involved.
    • The size of the tumor is larger than 5 cm, but the tumor has not spread till the axillary lymph nodes.

  • Stage III– The following conditions hold true for stage III:
    • The size of the tumor is larger than 5 cm and it has also spread to the axillary lymph nodes.
    • The size of the tumor is smaller than 5 cm, but the cancer has spread into nearby lymph nodes. The nodes are affecting the surrounding tissue.
  • Stage IV – This stage is described as the ‘advanced’ and/or ‘metastatic’ cancer stage. This stage is incurable. Till the time this stage is reached, cancer gets spread to other parts of the body as well including lungs, liver, brain, etc.

The purpose of classifying the stages is to better understand the prognosis and to take the proper treatment steps. You must visit your doctor if you experience any breast changes as the process of diagnosing breast cancer generally takes several weeks.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)