ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Alternative & Natural Medicine

Aromatherapy and the Seven Chakras

Updated on October 10, 2014

The Seven Chakras

Before we can begin to explain how aromatherapy and the seven chakras work together, you must understand the ideals behind Chakras. First, the word Chakra is a Sanskrit word, which carries the translation of wheel of light or spinning wheel of energy. A Chakra represents one of the seven different spiritual energy centers within the body. In other words, the body needs its energy and the Chakra provides the center for that energy.

It is the belief that the Chakra collects the energy and creates a spinning ball and vortex out of that energy. However, in some cases, Chakras can be referred to as light instead of energy. The body has seven different Chakras. Each of these points signify a different area of the body.

The Nature of Chakras

The Seven Centers of Energy, Within the Body Are Called Chakras

Sahasrara Chakra - The Crown

The Ajna Chakra - The Third Eye

The Vishudda Chakra - The Throat

The Ananhata Chakra - The Heart

The Manipura Chakra - The Solar Plexus

The Svadhisthana Chakra - The Sacral

The Muladhara Chakra - The Root

Each energy center or Chakra contains a detailed description. It carries a meaning, a location, an element, a keyword, a color, and yes, essential oils, which is where aromatherapy comes into play. Essentially, the belief is that through aromatherapy and essential oils, you can generate the energy needed for the Chakra and keep it balanced and healthy.

The Sahasrara or Crown Chakra

The seventh of the seven Charkras this is the energy center for energy, dynamics, enlightenment, and spirituality. Centered on top of the head or the crown, it carries the element of air and the energy of a visionary. This is the inspirational center which carries the color of violet and golden-white. Violet represents enlightenment, existence, life, spirituality, and the true meaning of all of the above. Golden-white represents perfection or a state of when it comes to spirituality, emotions, mind, and body.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils for balancing the Crown Chakra are myrrh, spikenard, lavender, sandalwood, and frankincense.

The Ajna or Third Eye Chakra

This is the sixth of the seven Chakras, it is also referred to as the Brow. It is located just above your eyebrows, centering in the forehead. It carries the element of light and the energy of the visionary. The keyword for the Third eye Chakra is vision. Its color is Indigo Blue. This color presents the search for and the attainment of the purpose of life, spiritually.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils are Cypress, Cedarwood, Clary Sage, Sandalwood, Chamomile Blue, and Frankincense.

The Vishudda or Throat Chakra

This is the fifth of the seven Chakras and known as the throat Chakra. It targets expression, sound, and communication when it comes to writing, speech, thought, and creativity. Located at the neck of the body, its element is Ether, it carries the energy of a teacher, and the keyword of Truth. This is the center for identifying who you are, what you are, and standing your ground. Its color is blue and presents your oneness and knowledge of the guidance you are divinely receiving.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils are Lemon, Myrrh, Frankincense, Lavender, Hyssop, and Chamomile Blue.

The Anahata or The Heart Chakra

This Chakra, the Heart Chakra is the fourth of the seven Chakras. It centers upon spirituality, love, and compassion. Located right at the level of the heart, within the chests center, it carries the element of Water and the energy of the Healer. Its keyword is Joy and its color is Pink and green. Pink represents unconditional love, empathy, compassion, and strength, while green represents anticipation, joyfulness, ecstasy, healing, smoothing, and soothing.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils are Bergamot, Sandalwood, Cedarwood, Frankincense, Rose, and Lavender.

The Manipura or Solar Plexus Chakra

This Chakra, the third of the seven Chakra is know as Solar Plexus. It is also a sensitive center, one of the most sensitive and it draws from energy of other people. It deals with emotions, desire, intellect, ambition, and power. It is located behind your stomach and just below your breastbone. It carries the element of air and the energy of the healer. Its keyword is manifest and its color is yellow. Yellow represents intellectual activity, analysis, thought, and meditation.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils include Vetiver, Lemon, Ginger, Basil, and Juniper.

The Svadhisthana or The Sacral Chakra

This, the second of the seven Chakras, is called the Sacral. This deals with intuition, sexuality, emotion, desire, and creativity. This is the center that allows for receiving and giving of pleasure. It is located about two inches below your navel and carries the element of fire, as well as the energy of the warrior. Its keyword is create and its color is Orange. Orange represents benevolence, creativity, equity, and wisdom.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils include Oakmoss, Nutmeg, Sandalwood, Vanilla, Bergamot, Tangerine, Ylang-Ylang, Patchouli, and Jasmine.

The Muladhara or The Root Chakra

Also know as the base, this first Chakra is the most important of all. This is the center that allows for healing and repairing. Courage is its keyword simply because you have the power of your own choices and need the courage to make the right ones. It is located near the lumbar at the spines base. Its element is Earth and its energy is Warrior. It carries the color Red. Red represents life's passion, confidence, idealism, and essential.

In aromatherapy, the essential oils are Lavender, Frankincense, Ginger, Black Pepper, Angelica, and Vetiver.

Aromatherapy is designed to help balance and heal the Chakras, as through life's events they can become out of balance and out of whacked. Through practice, aromatherapy can help the center regain its balance through its specific smells, giving you the peaceful, healthy, and confident sense of wellbeing and wellness.


Submit a Comment

  • nursegrace profile image

    nursegrace 7 years ago

    Great article! I love aromatherapy and I'm a big fan of lavender. I use it all the time, it helps me to "stop the mind chatter" and get in touch with my inner voice. Very informative article, thanks for posting :)

  • RK Sangha profile image

    RK Sangha 7 years ago from USA

    Myself is a practitioner of Pranayama and to me your hub is indeed an education. Thanks.

  • glycodoc profile image

    glycodoc 9 years ago

    Very interesting and well done!