ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Books for Teens & Young Adults

5 Books Like Divergent

Updated on June 17, 2016

Veronica Roth's novel Divergent is the first book in the Divergent trilogy. Even though it was her debut novel, it's grown to be incredibly popular. The book has spawned two sequels, a collection of short stories and a series of feature film adaptations. With so many people reading the series, it's understandable that a few of them would look for similar books to read. If you're one of those people, then you're reading the right article. Below, I've listed 5 books like Divergent that you should enjoy. They are all parts of series, so you might want to check out the different series as well if you like the individual novels.

Before starting, how many books in the Divergent series have you read?

See results

1) Delirium

Like all of the books on this list, Delirium is a novel set in a dystopian world. It was written by Lauren Oliver and it's the first book in a trilogy. The events of the novel take place in Portland, Maine in an alternate version of the present-day United States. In this world, love is called amor deliria nervosa (or just "the deliria") and it is viewed as a disease. Once citizens reach the age of 18, they are required to undergo a procedure known as the "Cure", which removes any feeling of love that a person may have. The story of Delirium follows Lena Haloway, who eagerly anticipates being given the Cure in order to live a good, normal life. She knew that her mother's life was ruined by love and she did not want the same thing to happen to her.

However, a few months before her treatment, Lena comes into contact with a boy named Alex. Alex lives in the Wilds, an area outside of the main city that is populated by people who oppose the current government. He had not received the treatment, but the government was unaware of that fact. As the story progresses, we get to see what happens when Lena's relationship with Alex develops.

Delirium shares several different characteristics with Divergent. To begin with, both novels are geared toward young adults and both are set in dystopian environments. Besides that, they share several of the same themes. For example, fear, power and how the two interact are themes that are explored in both Delirium and Divergent. The last similarity that I'll mention has to do with the main characters. In both Divergent and Delirium, the main female character comes into contact with a male character and their relationship proves to be important to the plot. Overall, if you liked Divergent, then you should like Delirium as well.

2) The Maze Runner

Many of you are probably familiar with the film The Maze Runner. Well, that film is based on this book. It's the first book in a pentalogy (called The Maze Runner Pentalogy) by James Dashner. The first three books in the pentalogy (i.e., The Maze Runner, The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure) all progress in a chronological order while the last two books (i.e., The Kill Order and The Fever Code) are prequels to The Maze Runner.

The Maze Runner follows a group of teenagers known as Gladers. They are named after the "Glade", a strange location in which they find themselves. The Glade is surrounded by high concrete walls and beyond those walls lies a constantly shifting maze. Within the maze are monstrous creatures called Grievers. New teenagers are constantly brought to this location every month by an underground lift, which also carries supplies. None of them have any memories except for their names. The Gladers attempt to find a way out of the Glade by running through the maze and mapping it out. However, since the maze changes daily, it is very difficult to do so. One day, a new teenager appears in the lift. His name is Thomas and when he arrives things begin to change for the Gladers.

This entry on the list is a little bit different from Divergent in terms of characters because the protagonist is a male and not a female. Aside from this minor difference, there are many similarities. For instance, the setting in both novels is an alternate dystopian reality. Also, as in both Divergent (and Delirium), there is a key male-female relationship between the protagonist and another character. The main characters are also teenagers, just like in Divergent.

3) Blood Red Road

Blood Red Road is the first novel in Moira Young's Dust Lands trilogy. It was released in 2011. The novel is a post-apocalyptic, dystopian, sci-fi book that follows the journey of an eighteen-year-old girl named Saba. Saba lives with her father Willem, her younger sister Emmi and her twin brother Lugh. Saba loves her brother and views him as the light to her shadow. She hates her younger sister, however, as her mother died when giving birth to her. The family lives in a place called Silverlake. The area is barren and the family's only source of food and water is several miles away from their home. Furthermore, there are no laws where Saba lives and people do as they please. The reality of this fact becomes all too apparent when a band of raiders appears at Saba's home, kills her father and kidnaps her brother. It is at this point when Saba's story truly begins. As she sets out to find her brother, she is completely unaware of the many challenges and people (both good and bad) that she will meet along the way.

The first book in the Dust Lands trilogy should definitely appeal to fans of Divergent. It has many of the same features that Divergent is known for: action, adventure, romance, a dystopian environment. Additionally, the characters in both books undergo similar trials and tribulations and each story contains many of the same themes. All in all, they are two great books and fans of one should be able to appreciate the other.

4) Legend

Legend was written by Marie Lu as the first part of a trilogy of books known as the Legend series. The other two books in the trilogy are entitled Prodigy and Champion.

The story is set in the "Republic", a new country that was created out of what used to be California in the United States. This country holds tests on an annual basis to determine the roles of its citizens. Based on the test results, members of the Republic are either sent to the army or put into the labour force. There is only one person in the Republic with a perfect score: fifteen-year-old June, a girl from a wealthy family. On the other end of the scale is another fifteen-year-old, named Day, who is the Republic's most-wanted criminal.

Normally, these two would never have any reason to meet. However, after Day breaks into a Los Angeles Hospital to steal some medication, the destinies of the two change. Following the break-in, June's brother Metias is found dead and Day is the prime suspect. June is consequently chosen to find and capture Day. Thus, the two teenagers are set on a collision course. The journey that follows is one that will reveal hidden secrets that some people in the Republic will do anything to hide.

Legend, like Divergent, is a dystopian narrative involving political intrigue, action, suspense and romance. The main characters in both stories are teenagers and two of the main characters serve central roles in the plot. Themes such as family, power, class and fear are also present in both works.

5) Gone

The final entry on this list is Michael Grant's thriller, Gone. It is the first novel in a 6-book series, which is also entitled Gone. The other five books, in order, are Hunger, Lies, Plague, Fear and Light.

Gone takes place in a fictional town in California called Perdido Beach. In this town, everyone over the age of 14 has vanished inexplicably. A strange barrier has surrounded the town and no one is able to pass through it. No communication with the outside world is possible. As some of the remaining teenagers such as Sam Temple, Astrid Ellison and Quinn Gaither try to figure out what's going on, strange things begin to happen. Animals begin to mutate and some of the teenagers begin to develop strange powers. Factions gradually begin to form between the teenagers as a mysterious, malevolent creature hides in the shadows. Finally, some of the teenagers begin to disappear once they turn 15 on their birthdays. Time is running out and the mystery needs to be solved before everyone vanishes.

As is the case with Divergent (and with the other books on this list), the main characters in Gone are teenagers. Both Divergent and Gone have mystery and suspense elements to them and both stories involve factions of one sort or another. The characters in both stories are very well-written and multidimensional and the overall narration in both is top-notch. I highly recommend reading Gone (both the individual book and the whole series) if you liked the Divergent series. Not only that, but I would suggest Gone to people who aren't fans of Divergent as well. It's a really good series that everyone should take a look at.

Your Thoughts

How did you find the list? Have you read any of the books on it? Do you have any other books to recommend for Divergent fans? Let me know in the comments below.

Which of the books on the list interested you the most?

See results

Comments

Submit a Comment

No comments yet.