ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Poems & Poetry

A Review of Manatita's Poem - A Song for My Beloved

Updated on February 26, 2018
Venkatachari M profile image

Venkat loves arts and literature and keeps reading books of all genre and developed an interest in writing literary and fictional articles.

Sri Chinmoy, the poet Manatita's Beloved and Guru
Sri Chinmoy, the poet Manatita's Beloved and Guru

An Introduction to The Poem of Manatita

Through this poem “A Song for My Beloved”, Manatita, the author, tries to elucidate his adoration, praise, and gratitude towards the Supreme Being whom he seems to spot directly in the effulgence of his own Master or Guru (Sri Chinmoy). The title itself shows how intimately related he is to God. By using the words “My Beloved” he emphasizes this relationship and love towards the Supreme.

Even though the writer explicitly seems to be addressing the poem to his Master, it becomes evident that it is an indirect rendition of the glories of God. Manatita is identifying his Master with God and seeing God in his Master’s form. He explains his adoration and praise of God by elucidating His unparalleled glories through nature’s eye in an ecstatic and passionate manner. He gives all the credit to God which is sublimely presented through each phrase of those lines.

The Poet and his Guruji's Statue
The Poet and his Guruji's Statue

See how beautifully he relates his relationship and closeness to the Supreme Being in those starting five lines. He tells us that he is a part and parcel intertwined with his master when he says “So too, I am immaculately woven from Thee”.

The poet tells us that just as the twinkling act is closely associated with the star or as brilliance to the moon; the majestic nature with falling snow and the rustling act of winds to the wind; so too he, the poet himself, is an inherent and inseparable part of that Supreme Being. There can be no better comparison to show their innate, intrinsic relationship and oneness.

By doing so, the poet might be indirectly comparing his master’s greatness also with the twinkling beauty of the stars, the shining brilliance of the moon, the majestic nature of the snow, and the cooling softness of the breeze. This is evident from this line where he wonders “With what heavenly Gods can I you compare!”

It should not be mistaken as if he is referring to the existence of many Gods. It is only one God that may be appearing in different forms to different people or at different times. Presently, he is seeing God in his Master’s form.

The shining nature of Moon
The shining nature of Moon | Source

The poet further went on to elaborate how his intimacy and affection towards God and his Master took place. Here is the entire poem.

The Poem "A Song for My Beloved"

“As the stars twinkle sweetly,

And the moon shines brilliantly,

As the snow falls majestically,

And the wind rustles softly.

So too, I am immaculately woven from Thee.

As our paths did cross; Your Love shone from afar,

As Grace from above did quicken my Soul.

As the morning rose, sings Your enthralling sonata,

And Your inner Sun transforms me like coal.

Your sweet tenderness, elegance, compels me to stare,

With what heavenly Gods can I You compare?

You’re loving, compassionate, selfless and strong,

With concern and empathy whenever I’m wrong.

My heart sings Your graces when You are not near,

While my mind, so delighted, goes without fear.

I feel in my core that all’s welcome and right,

And the time has arrived to implore ‘the good fight’.

So pranams on my knees, with the best I can be,

My Beloved Supreme, I am all gratitude … to Thee.”

-Manatita: 22nd January 2011.

the twinkling stars
the twinkling stars

Love for God

How do You experience the Love of God?

See results

The poet tells us that he came in contact with his Master during his journey of life through the emergence of a Glow of Love from afar, just like the grace of God entrancing his soul from above. He relates to this as the esoteric poet does, through the imagery of all those beautiful morning roses singing, in enthralling and melodious tunes, the greatness of God.

Here, the inner Sun-like glow of his Master transformed his body just like coal gets transformed by heat. The sweet tenderness and elegance of his Master made him stare at Him with awe and he couldn’t find any better comparison to explain all this even among the heavenly Gods because of those glorious virtues of Him.

the glow of light bringing love from God
the glow of light bringing love from God

The poet glorifies the loving, compassionate, and selfless virtues of God in the form of his Master that always showed concern and empathy for him whenever he has been erratic. He says that his heart is always filled with praises for his Master whenever far away from him. So he is able to move all around without any fears as his Soul is always there with him.

He tells us that he is greatly indebted to his Master and so, he needs to implement all His messages through his sincere and honest efforts. The poet ends his poem expressing his unbound gratitude to his Master for making him that much strong and fit to carry out his mission.

Meaningful Quotes on Gratitude

  1. "Gratitude is an offering that is precious in the sight of God, and it is one that the poorest of us can make and be not poorer but richer for having made it"- A.W.Tozer
  2. "Genuine thankfulness is an act of the heart's affections, not an act of the lips"- John Piper
  3. "To be grateful is to recognize the love of God in everything He has given us"- Thomas Merton


the morning rose singing the love of God
the morning rose singing the love of God

The Essence of the Message Conveyed by The Poet Through A Song For My Beloved

Here we must understand the real, implicit message that is being conveyed by the poet through this wonderful poem. For the poet, the Master and God are one and the same. Just like Christ has said “I and my Father are one” which means that God and Christ are one and the same entity, so too, the poet tells that his Guru or Master is only a physical representation of the Supreme Being. We should realize this fact that Christ or Guru or Master, whichever title you may give Him, is an embodiment or the manifestation of God and so, identical with God.

The poet presented everything in an awesome and beautiful manner using the daily natural happenings taking place in nature with wonderful, appealing comparisons. The entire poem is presented like a cute song emerging from the magical spell of his innate companionship with God. And, the entire rhyming is done beautifully.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 4 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank you, Chitrangada, for your nice comment and appreciation of my work.

      Manatita's poems are very inspiring and ecstatic that impart great messages to the people. That's the power which prompted me attempt this review.

    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 4 weeks ago from New Delhi, India

      What a wonderful review of a beautiful poem, written by Manatita! You brought out the essence of this poem, in such simple words.

      Thanks to both of you, for sharing this!

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 5 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      True, Dianna. It is a wonderful poem with a much deeper and inspiring awareness of the glories of God. We can't measure it or confine it within our spoken words.

      Thanks for the nice comment.

    • teaches12345 profile image

      Dianna Mendez 5 weeks ago

      What a beautiful poem. It does speak volumes about the majesty of our one true God. Creation brings out his splendor to me each morning. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Nice to hear from you, Nikki. Our world will become a happy place to live when all people begin listening to their soul and heart.

      Thank you and my hearty blessings to you.

    • nikkikhan10 profile image

      Nikki Khan 7 weeks ago from London

      Just amazing review of Mantita’s poem Venkatachari,,Gratitude and Love of God are connected together.

      Thanks for teaching more precious gems of soul and heart.

      God Bless you.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Eric, I appreciate your coming back and expressing your feelings. It's true that we can visit the same thing, again and again, to discover something new in it so as to understand and experience it more blissfully.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thanks, Devika, for the visit and a nice comment. True. The poem itself conveys so much and the review is just like adding another small piece of white thread to the brilliant moon.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 7 weeks ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      A review that enlights us on the meaningful work presented by Manatita. So much to endure from the poem itself.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 7 weeks ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      And it is my honor to come back and learn more wisdom and love from our beloveds.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 7 weeks ago from london

      Once again I wish to thank all your poet-friends and all my poet friends for visiting this sublime masterpiece by Venkatachari Ji. Salaam!

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Nice to see you visit my review, Sean.

      I am very happy that a nice poet and writer like you appreciates my work. Very much humbled by your comment.

      Thanks a lot. My Blessings to You.

    • Sean Dragon profile image

      Ioannis Arvanitis 7 weeks ago from Greece, Almyros

      Standing ovation my Brother Venkatachari!

      Respect! Respect! Respect!

      Your esoteric approach to the heart of Manatita through his astonishing poem is an approach to the Heart of God!

      God Bless you Brother and thank you

      for this magnificent work!

      Sean

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank you, Jackie. I really enjoyed doing it after reading that wonderful poem.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 7 weeks ago from The Beautiful South

      Great review and message accompanying it. You have done him honor. I prefer the rhyming poem and get so much more from it. Beautifully done.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank you, Dora, for the appreciation of my work. Manatita rightly deserves that review, even though I couldn't bring out all his greatness in my words.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 7 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Well done, Venkatachari. Manatita's work is full of light, beauty and depth and you have given a very practical interpretation of his messages. Thanks to both of you.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Manatita, my Bro, your poems are all great works that show your beautiful thoughts centering around the wonders of Nature and God, and the sublime virtues of love, affection, submission, and gratitude. I always appreciate your nice thoughts and the service being done by you towards universal good.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Very nice, Eric, my Bro. It's true. There is nothing but love, if we can perceive and experience it, always. We are all made to be brothers (and sisters) with God as our father.

      Thanks, for your wonderful message.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 7 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank you, Bronwen, for catching that caption of the rose which I believe is the true blissful feeling that anybody should be experiencing at the sight of a rose. Every scenery that we can observe in nature is nothing but a loving message coming from God.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 7 weeks ago from london

      Thank you, my Friends,

      For your kind and invaluable sentiments of Venkatachari's excellent and sublime take on my work. Higher blessings.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 7 weeks ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      And together God has made us to love one another. Is this love God or is God simply love? What a heavenly interchange of wonderment and love of each other and all things which fall within our knowledge. These are my brothers with God as our Father.

    • BlossomSB profile image

      Bronwen Scott-Branagan 7 weeks ago from Victoria, Australia

      What a lovely, sensitive review of the poem! The title of the image of a rose is so thought-provoking, too; I love it.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 8 weeks ago from london

      My Joy comes from all sentient and non-sentient Beings. I only lose this when I'm in the wrong space, so to speak.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 8 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Yes, Shaloo. It is a very lovely and inspirational poem glorifying the virtues of God testifying Manatita's intimacy with the Divine Spirit in the form of his Master.

    • swalia profile image

      Shaloo Walia 8 weeks ago from India

      What a lovely poem by manatita! And thanks for the review. You have beautifully expressed the subtle message of the poem.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 8 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank You, Gypsy Rose Lee, for your approval and encouraging comment. He is truly an inspirational poet and deserves the review very much.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 8 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Yes, Bill. Manatita is a wonderful, favorite Hubber. That's why I was able to get inspired and do it.

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 8 weeks ago from Riga, Latvia

      Applause a most wonderful review about a most inspirational poet.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 8 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      A review by one of my favorite Hubbers about one of my favorite Hubbers. Bravo!

    • profile image

      manatita44 8 weeks ago

      Venkatachari JI, I feel that this is a supremely significant review and an obeisance or glory to the most High.

      You have captured the essence of the poetry in a sublime and lofty manner; identifying extremely well with the sentiments and intimacy expressed. This is a very sacred poem and you have done a most wonderful service here to me, to our fellow Hubbers; to the Spirit of man and God. Jai Venkatachari Ji; Jai Guruji; Jai Mere Prabhu!! Gratitude ... much ...much!!

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 8 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thank You, Whonu. I would like to have those Blessings always in my journey of life. Thanks for appreciating my work.

    • Venkatachari M profile image
      Author

      Venkatachari M 8 weeks ago from Hyderabad, India

      Thanks, Harish Bhai. I got very much inspired by the poem. So, I have been able to attempt at this review. Thanks for your appreciation of the work.

    • whonunuwho profile image

      whonunuwho 8 weeks ago from United States

      Very nicely done my friend. Many blessings to you and yours. whonu

    • Harishprasad profile image

      Harish Mamgain 8 weeks ago from New Delhi , India

      A great review , Venkatachariji. You 've done a wonderful job. Enjoyed going through it.

    working