ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

A Review of The Wolf Gift by Anne Rice

Updated on May 9, 2013
5 stars for The Wolf Gift
18th century werewolf engraving
18th century werewolf engraving | Source

"Oh, if the moon only had a secret, if the moon only held a truth. But the moon was just a moon."

For those of you who love Anne Rice's infamous vampires, you're in for a treat with her new novel about werewolves. Yes, nowadays all we hear about is vampires versus werewolves, especially with the Twilight series, but this book features a wolf man that is nothing like the classic beasts in the media and sadly, no, there aren't any of Rice's beloved vampires.

Reuben is a twenty three year old, blue eyed dreamboat trying to make his way in the writing arena as a reporter now that he has finished up his master's in English. His latest assignment is to go see the Nideck house of northern California; a mansion that is old, beautiful, and deliciously tempting for the young poet-at-heart. He is supposed to write a piece to help sell the place but finds more than he bargained for once he takes his first steps onto the property. Not only does he fall in love with the home, but he also falls in love with its owner, Marchent, who recently inherited it from her uncle, Felix, who disappeared mysteriously decades ago.

The first night spent there seems a dream as he makes love to the owner and realizes that this is the place he wants to be for the rest of his life. He awakes in the middle of the night to see Marchent on the phone in the office, goes back to sleep, and is awoken again, suddenly, to the discovery that killers are in the house. As he tries to save his new lover's life, he is beaten nearly to death. Still, Reuben is just conscious enough to realize an animal has come, bitten him, but left him alive, whereas the robbers are brutally torn apart in its rampage and Marchent is already dead from a knife wound.


Source

"Dogs know the scent of fear, don't they? Well, he knew the scent of helplessness, and the scent of rage."

With this tragic event come gifts that would have been impossible for Reuben to have imagined receiving before entering the Nideck mansion. Not only does he receive the great house as an inheritance from Marchent, but he also gets the wolf gift and all the power and responsibility that come with these two prizes.

Here is where Anne Rice's creativity shines as she takes the classic werewolf and, like her vampires before him, gives her werewolf her own twist that makes him much more intriguing for the reader to follow. I'd read that she'd done a considerable amount of research into werewolves in order to write this story and so this is what intrigued me to read it in the first place. It really shows, with references to stories hundreds of years old as well as those as recent as Jack Nicholson in Wolf. In the novel, she points out that:

"lycanthropy was perceived by many historically as a mental illness in which you imagined you were a wolf and behaved like one; or some kind of demonic shape-shifting in which you did indeed become a wolf until someone shot you with a silver bullet and your lupine body changed back to human form as you died..."

Calling himself a man wolf instead of a werewolf, Reuben finds that he is everything but what those of his kind have been perceived by the media to be. He is always able to remain conscious of his actions while the animal part of him takes over every night, contrary to popular belief. Most importantly, the moon has no effect on him, although he has no control over the change when it takes over each night. He is completely bulletproof and his strength is beyond any animal or human's. Above all else, he learns that the voices he hears in his head all day, and even louder when in wolf form, are those of the innocent and the evil. He can also smell evil and delights in destroying it with his claws and fangs in the most graphic ways possible just to satisfy providing justice and saving the victims of his own victims from harm.

"The werewolf was not a wolf, no, nor a man, but an obscene combination of the two, exponentially more powerful than either one."

With his new wolf gift, comes questions as to what is right and wrong and how he defines himself. Is he good because he destroys evil? Or, is he bad because he eliminates the wrongdoers in much more brutal ways than humanly possible? Is he still human or is he now an animal?

These questions all surround the mystery as to the animal that bit him back at his first night in the Nideck mansion. No one knows where it came from or where it went but, in his search to define himself, Reuben feels he must find the one who gave him the wolf gift, which may just be tied to the Nidecks in more ways than one.

Promotional Video For the Book of Anne Rice Discussing The Wolf Gift

Sequel to The Wolf Gift

Reuben's story continues for Rice fans October 15, 2013 with the release of the 416 page sequel, The Wolves of Midwinter. In it, we can expect to delve deeper into the new supernatural world that the our hero has been thrust into.

© 2012 Lisa

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Judi Bee profile image

      Judith Hancock 6 years ago from UK

      I haven't read any Anne Rice books for years, but you've tempted me with you review - I shall be looking out for this one.

      Voted up

    • LisaKoski profile image
      Author

      Lisa 6 years ago from WA

      Thanks for reading. I'm also glad she's back doing more of the darker supernatural fiction. I really hope she writes a sequal to this novel. I was sad when it ended because it left so many unanswered questions.

    • keelymahaffey profile image

      Keely Mahaffey 6 years ago from Maine

      I'm about halfway through the book, and I'm so glad Anne came back to her dark, gothic fiction. I love the way she creates her supernatural characters with that human element, questioning good and evil, making them something we can relate to. Very believable :) Great review.

    • LisaKoski profile image
      Author

      Lisa 6 years ago from WA

      Oh wow I didn't know that. That's really interesting and makes a lot of sense now I think about it. Thanks for reading :)

    • romancebooks profile image

      romancebooks 6 years ago from USA

      Thanks for the review - I'm dying to read the book. Part of it is because Rice says that she based Reuben on gorgeous actor Matt Bomer (of White Collar fame)... I'm shallow like that! :)

    • LisaKoski profile image
      Author

      Lisa 6 years ago from WA

      Thank you. I'm glad you've enjoyed the book too.

    • profile image

      Fran 6 years ago

      Love this book. I'm almost done and really don't want the story to end. I recommend highly. Good review.

    • LisaKoski profile image
      Author

      Lisa 6 years ago from WA

      Yes and it's definitely worth reading. Thank you for stopping by :)

    • bethperry profile image

      Beth Perry 6 years ago from Tennesee

      I had no idea she'd returned to fiction people will actually read, awesome! I'll definitely have to buy this book. Thanks for posting.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)