ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Books By Diana Gabaldon: An Echo In The Bone By Diana Gabaldon Book Review

Updated on March 24, 2011

Different From A Blog

Diana Gabaldon's An Echo In the Bone definitely brings to mind the age that we live in. Her newest in the Outlander series is definitely not meant for the blog-minded! I think it weighed in at 817 pages and I just finished it. All I can say is wow!

I hear this term a lot these days - 'chick lit' - or 'chick read'. It mostly annoys me because I don't really understand what makes women's tastes in literature so very different from men's but that would be a whole other hub I suppose. I have to throw out the challenge though - guys get to reading this series!

When I started reading her first book in the Outlander series, I was hooked. She somehow manages to combine Scottish history intertwined with one of the most romantic stories I've ever read that spans hundreds of years and throws in a lot of time travel (through the stones) and even manages to branch off into American history! In my humble opinion, I would think just about anyone could find something to enjoy in her books.

The only thing I would point out is that her books are not for the 'casual' reader or someone who wants to pick up a book and be done with it in a day or two. Her stories are so engrossing but extremely well compartmentalized so that you can read little 'capsules' without becoming overwhelmed but still keep the thread going. She usually has so many side stories going on at the same time that you find yourself trying to jump ahead to figure out the final outcome. Good luck with that!

I have read a lot of the reviews so far and people are complaining mostly because the WAIT for the next one in the series will be too long! That has to say something! I have just finished An Echo In the Bone; I'm dying already because there were probably 6 loose ends that needed tying and now I will just have to wait to see how they all come out!  It may kill me to wait but oh well.  I guess that is the beauty of writing and keeping someone 'on the hook'. To be so mesmerized by a tale that you cannot wait to read more - what a gift.

Why I Love Diana Gabaldon's Books

Not sure if it is a testimony to 'chick lit' or not but I just love reading her novels - these are just some of the many ways she hooks me!

  • History - Scottish as well as American History brought to life intertwined with human stories of characters that are believable if not downright lovable
  • Time travel - She makes you believe stepping through the stones and going back in time or forward can happen
  • Romance - Some of the most poignant love stories are interspersed throughout all of her books but the classic is Jamie and Claire - you just have to fall in love with them as characters and as they grow and become more mature, expand their love for one another, you want it never to end
  • Fantasy - In a world full of realities, sometimes it is just a wonderful thing to have someone 'take you away' to another time, another place and another story.  Somehow she manages to lift you out of your own life and transport you to someplace else that is full of endless emotions and exposures.  You can almost see the battle of Culloden as if you were there; you can feel their pain and suffering.  You can almost see Benjamin Franklin literallly 'in the flesh' as she paints such a colorful picture of his personality.  You can truly feel the agony of love lost and then the joy of regaining that love.

I guess it would be obvious that I would probably give the book a 4-thumbs up review but then I have so enjoyed ALL of the Outlander series.  They are wonderful reads and well worth the time it takes to keep reading!  The Lord John series books are also wonderful and they deal with homosexuality in a time when it certainly was not fashionable.  Again, I think her insights are remarkable and the stories fascinating! 

I sincerely hope I can wait for the sequel to this one!

Buy The Outlander Series On Amazon

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      ssusco 

      6 years ago

      I think Echo in the Bone was 600 pages too long and was very boring. I have read all of the books and have enjoyed them, but, maybe it is time to end the series.

    • akirchner profile imageAUTHOR

      Audrey Kirchner 

      7 years ago from Washington

      Workingmom - I TOTALLY agree with you about chick lit - I only threw that in because GUYS refuse to read this kind of book and it makes me so mad! She is an absolutely incredible writer, and I'm going to copy this and send it to you on a private email just because....that is what Diana does. You have the benefit of reading only the last in the installment. I have ready every single book she's ever written and have been so hooked it drives me insane to get to the next book.

      She'll be back - and the way I figured it, there were AT LEAST 6 loose ends to tie up. I try not to think about it and you can go and read all her previous books to bide your time. On the other hand, I'm stuck in Diana Gabaldon land waiting for these loose ends and I'm going to probably be insane by the next book! ha ha

      Luckily I have a lot of other authors that I read because I just resign myself to waiting a couple of YEARS before the next book comes out.

      Thank you for confirming that chick lit cannot be so categorically thrown out there - I HATE that term and if you look up on the Internet what the male version of that, that pretty much says it all. ***ck lit. Give me a break. I find so many books like Jodi Picoult's or Anita Shreve's that are profound and still they get 'chick lit' labels from friends of mine in the writing business. It infuriates me.

      I only put that in to entice (read challenge) men to actually READ these books and then form their opinions. I love Diana Gabaldon and hope you'll read her earlier books because it'll keep you very busy while waiting for those loose ends to be tied up. I still think about them every day - but then again, isn't that the mark of a very, very incredible author?

      Merry Christmas and thanks SO much for stopping in!

    • workingmomwm profile image

      Mishael Austin Witty 

      7 years ago from Kentucky, USA

      Hi. I just have to throw in that I don't think this book (or series, for that matter) would qualify under chick lit at all. Here's the first sentence of the wikipedia definition of chick lit: "Chick lit is genre fiction within women's fiction which addresses issues of modern women often humorously and lightheartedly." When I think of chick lit, I think of books like Bridget Jones's Diary and Confessions of a Shopaholic. Gabaldon's books don't fit into this category at all.

      This is the only one of her books that I've read so far, and I was surprised to find that I wasn't nearly as lost as I thought I would be. I downloaded the first in the series for free from Amazon, but I haven't had much of a chance to read it yet. I'm very interested in seeing how Claire and Jamie ended up together, especially considering she was married to someone else at the time. And, I must say that I was really irritated by the book's ending. I mean, I think Gabaldon could have at least resolved a few things for us, you know? Oh well. It was definitely a fascinating read.

    • akirchner profile imageAUTHOR

      Audrey Kirchner 

      8 years ago from Washington

      Hi Mary - I have a feeling it will be some time yet - it seems that once we get 'hooked' on Diana's books we have to wait a seeming eternity! I was so bummed that so many things were left undone but then I take hope in the fact that she will HAVE to come back and tie them all up so the book series is not done! I believe she has another book out right now or it is coming out shortly - and that will have to tide me over I suppose until the sequel to this one comes out. She is a marvelous writer though don't you think that we can so drool waiting for the next book? Thanks so much for stopping in!

    • profile image

      mary 

      8 years ago

      just finished echo in the bone, left hanging , when is the sequel ??????????????

    • akirchner profile imageAUTHOR

      Audrey Kirchner 

      9 years ago from Washington

      I wrote mine on 11/03 though - so think I might have done mine before yours - but no matter - great subject! Now we have to wait and wait for the sequel....

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      9 years ago from England

      Great minds think alike! yeah she is good, and it's funny that you should write this a few days after me not knowing i had as well! never mind, it just goes to show how good she is, if this makes more people read her all the better. thanks for your comment on my page lol Nell

    • akirchner profile imageAUTHOR

      Audrey Kirchner 

      9 years ago from Washington

      You will love them - as I say - just lots of pages but the verve with which she writes - just gotta love it! Congrats on being the first guy to take the challenge.....

    • resspenser profile image

      Ronnie Sowell 

      9 years ago from South Carolina

      You figured out it was ok, didn't you! Book reviews, I mean.

      Well done and I am not big into chick lit (LOL!!) but I will take a look at these the next time I am at B & N. Who knows I might expand my horizons a bit.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)