ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Rush Limbaugh -- An Army of One

Updated on November 22, 2011

"Rusty"

Back home in Cape Girardeau, MO, Rush Limbaugh was known as "Rusty".  He shined shoes in a barber shop and worked at a radio station.  He strayed from the path of studying the law unlike most of the men in his family.  

It's hard to believe that he was pretty much "apolitical" until his mid-thirties!  In fact, he didn't register to vote until that age.

Zev Chafets, a writer for the New York Times somehow managed to get Rush's permission to visit the Cape, speak with friends and relatives and write this biography.  Limbaugh also granted Chafets access to his studio in Florida, the "Southern Command", his fiance, psychiatrist, and Rush himself.  

Perhaps not since the 1993 Playboy interview has Limbaugh been so accessible. Chafets did not squander the opportunity.

The Limbaugh Method

Rush Limbaugh's typical modus operandi is an almost masterful use of satire and parody. Often he pushes the envelope to the extreme. Is there a literary term for "extreme satire"?

My review of Zev Chafets' new biography of Limbaugh is available now at Blogcritics.org -- the link is below.

One of the many topics covered is a favorite tactic of Limbaugh. He takes things his opponents say, write, or do, and turns it on them as parody or comic farce. A noteworthy example is the reference made to Obama by David Ehrenstein, an African-American writer for the Los Angeles Times. Ehrenstein referred to the then candidate as "the Magic Negro". (See the video.) More details in the review.

David Ehrenstein serves up a home run ball. Limbaugh hits it out of the park.

2010 Wedding

Limbaugh was married this summer for the fourth time. An African-American minister presided and Elton John performed. Is Limbaugh reaching out?
Limbaugh was married this summer for the fourth time. An African-American minister presided and Elton John performed. Is Limbaugh reaching out?

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 6 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      I was unaware of this book. When I first turned my back on the Democratic party I listened to Rush quite a bit. Now I do occasionally. At least one of my liberal friends detests him. He is interesting for just being there.

    • drbj profile image

      drbj and sherry 6 years ago from south Florida

      Thanks for the review, FC. To answer your question about extreme satire. Satire is fun to write and fun to read but extreme satire could be seen by the subject as malice or even defamation.

    • Wayne Brown profile image

      Wayne Brown 6 years ago from Texas

      Good review...I read it in entirety. You paint the book in such a fashion that even a liberal might consider satisfying the curiosity to read it. Good Job! WB

    • LillyGrillzit profile image

      Lori J Latimer 6 years ago from The River Valley, Arkansas

      This is well put together. Thank you.

    • bayoulady profile image

      bayoulady 6 years ago from Northern Louisiana,USA

      I can't stand the guy, though I'm a diehard Republican. Still a well written hub!

    • FCEtier profile image
      Author

      Chip 6 years ago from Cold Mountain

      Thanks for your attention, interest, and comments.

      Please take a moment, click the "Share" button and help me spread this hub around the internet. (Especially with "Digg" and "Twitter".

      Thank you!

      FCE

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 6 years ago from Georgia

      Great review! I've never been a Rush fan, but now I'm curious.

    • FCEtier profile image
      Author

      Chip 6 years ago from Cold Mountain

      Thanks habee! He describes himself as "an entertainer who sells advertising for a living".

    • Austinstar profile image

      Austinstar 6 years ago from Somewhere in the universe

      Maybe Rush is the "Magic Whitey". I've tried to listen to the show time and time again, but he goes off on these imaginary scenarios that don't even make sense sometimes. I have to switch stations.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Fuller 6 years ago from Southern Illinois

      I can,t stand the man, and i,m so disappointed that Elton John would even attend his wedding, Very informative hub.

      Thank you

    • nicomp profile image

      nicomp really 6 years ago from Ohio, USA

      I love that Elton John performed at the wedding. We can all get along.

    • Ms Dee profile image

      Deidre Shelden 6 years ago from Texas, USA

      You've collected some interesting comments :) Will Tweet this hub -- thanks for encouraging me to! Great read of a review :)

    • Debby Bruck profile image

      Debby Bruck 6 years ago

      People resort to sarcasm when they have nothing good to say, which breeds only hate and vindictiveness. Quite a shame that people have to stoop so low. When pointed in your direction, you will understand what it feels like. The 'passion' of radical talk creates schisms in society, rather than 'compassion' and cooperation to solve the ills of the world. Just my two-cents worth.

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 6 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      I'm an old fan of Rush, and I find it curious that those who say they hate him and don't agree with a single word he says have never listened to him!

      To this day, most Rush haters don't know that David Ehrenstein coined the term 'Magic Negro', not Rush, and the left wing media is certainly in no mood to set the record straight.

      Great Hub! Well done.

    Click to Rate This Article