ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Rush Limbaugh -- An Army of One

Updated on November 22, 2011

"Rusty"

Back home in Cape Girardeau, MO, Rush Limbaugh was known as "Rusty".  He shined shoes in a barber shop and worked at a radio station.  He strayed from the path of studying the law unlike most of the men in his family.  

It's hard to believe that he was pretty much "apolitical" until his mid-thirties!  In fact, he didn't register to vote until that age.

Zev Chafets, a writer for the New York Times somehow managed to get Rush's permission to visit the Cape, speak with friends and relatives and write this biography.  Limbaugh also granted Chafets access to his studio in Florida, the "Southern Command", his fiance, psychiatrist, and Rush himself.  

Perhaps not since the 1993 Playboy interview has Limbaugh been so accessible. Chafets did not squander the opportunity.

The Limbaugh Method

Rush Limbaugh's typical modus operandi is an almost masterful use of satire and parody. Often he pushes the envelope to the extreme. Is there a literary term for "extreme satire"?

My review of Zev Chafets' new biography of Limbaugh is available now at Blogcritics.org -- the link is below.

One of the many topics covered is a favorite tactic of Limbaugh. He takes things his opponents say, write, or do, and turns it on them as parody or comic farce. A noteworthy example is the reference made to Obama by David Ehrenstein, an African-American writer for the Los Angeles Times. Ehrenstein referred to the then candidate as "the Magic Negro". (See the video.) More details in the review.

David Ehrenstein serves up a home run ball. Limbaugh hits it out of the park.

2010 Wedding

Limbaugh was married this summer for the fourth time. An African-American minister presided and Elton John performed. Is Limbaugh reaching out?
Limbaugh was married this summer for the fourth time. An African-American minister presided and Elton John performed. Is Limbaugh reaching out?

Buy it now on Amazon!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • WillStarr profile image

      WillStarr 

      7 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      I'm an old fan of Rush, and I find it curious that those who say they hate him and don't agree with a single word he says have never listened to him!

      To this day, most Rush haters don't know that David Ehrenstein coined the term 'Magic Negro', not Rush, and the left wing media is certainly in no mood to set the record straight.

      Great Hub! Well done.

    • Debby Bruck profile image

      Debby Bruck 

      7 years ago

      People resort to sarcasm when they have nothing good to say, which breeds only hate and vindictiveness. Quite a shame that people have to stoop so low. When pointed in your direction, you will understand what it feels like. The 'passion' of radical talk creates schisms in society, rather than 'compassion' and cooperation to solve the ills of the world. Just my two-cents worth.

    • Ms Dee profile image

      Deidre Shelden 

      8 years ago from Texas, USA

      You've collected some interesting comments :) Will Tweet this hub -- thanks for encouraging me to! Great read of a review :)

    • nicomp profile image

      nicomp really 

      8 years ago from Ohio, USA

      I love that Elton John performed at the wedding. We can all get along.

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      8 years ago from Southern Illinois

      I can,t stand the man, and i,m so disappointed that Elton John would even attend his wedding, Very informative hub.

      Thank you

    • Austinstar profile image

      Lela 

      8 years ago from Somewhere near the center of Texas

      Maybe Rush is the "Magic Whitey". I've tried to listen to the show time and time again, but he goes off on these imaginary scenarios that don't even make sense sometimes. I have to switch stations.

    • FCEtier profile imageAUTHOR

      Chip 

      8 years ago from Cold Mountain

      Thanks habee! He describes himself as "an entertainer who sells advertising for a living".

    • habee profile image

      Holle Abee 

      8 years ago from Georgia

      Great review! I've never been a Rush fan, but now I'm curious.

    • FCEtier profile imageAUTHOR

      Chip 

      8 years ago from Cold Mountain

      Thanks for your attention, interest, and comments.

      Please take a moment, click the "Share" button and help me spread this hub around the internet. (Especially with "Digg" and "Twitter".

      Thank you!

      FCE

    • bayoulady profile image

      bayoulady 

      8 years ago from Northern Louisiana,USA

      I can't stand the guy, though I'm a diehard Republican. Still a well written hub!

    • LillyGrillzit profile image

      Lori J Latimer 

      8 years ago from The River Valley, Arkansas

      This is well put together. Thank you.

    • Wayne Brown profile image

      Wayne Brown 

      8 years ago from Texas

      Good review...I read it in entirety. You paint the book in such a fashion that even a liberal might consider satisfying the curiosity to read it. Good Job! WB

    • drbj profile image

      drbj and sherry 

      8 years ago from south Florida

      Thanks for the review, FC. To answer your question about extreme satire. Satire is fun to write and fun to read but extreme satire could be seen by the subject as malice or even defamation.

    • dahoglund profile image

      Don A. Hoglund 

      8 years ago from Wisconsin Rapids

      I was unaware of this book. When I first turned my back on the Democratic party I listened to Rush quite a bit. Now I do occasionally. At least one of my liberal friends detests him. He is interesting for just being there.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)