ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: The Jungle

Updated on April 10, 2011

      Upton Sinclaire’s “The Jungle” is a genuinely marvelous book, which I would suggest be kept away from anyone with any form of depression, from anarchists and/or those who oppose the “system”. For all such people the book would be enraging, it would be perhaps even demoralizing or, “the cherry on top”. Fitting all three categories from above, I found the book quite tragic, plainly sad and hopeless yet, I respect a good work of art for what it is.

      The author’s ability to describe and explain circumstances and situations in the written word is formidable. The use of foreshadowing in “The Jungle” is impressive and subtle enough that I did not expect the book to develop as it did. Lastly, what I enjoyed the most in the way this novel was written was the fine line, almost invisible that separates the humans from the animals.

      Right from the beginning of the book, it is clear that Upton’s strongest quality is that of description. “The Jungle” begins in the middle of a wedding and Upton Sinclaire “brings” the reader to the party. I must admit that my east-European background made visualizing the entire wedding scene quite easy. The wedding description actually brought a whole feeling of nostalgia when I began reading about Tamoszius getting so fired-up that he climbed “upon a stool”[1]. All seems so close to how weddings were back home (in Romania) “out in the country” where: “the older people have dances from home, strange and complicated steps which they execute with solemnity.”[2] Upton is brutally right in describing Jokubas Szvedvilas and his wife. I clearly remember such couples who “are too fat to dance . . . ecstasy.”[3]

      “The Jungle” at times made me think that it was overly explicit but as a whole, the novel needed the somewhat excessive details in order for the reader to compose a complete image of the life of an immigrant in Chicago at that time. For example, chapter III describes in its entirety the business of Durham and Company. When Upton Sinclaire writes, “No tiniest particle of organic matter was wasted in Durham’s”[4], it is after five pages of explaining what exactly happens to the hogs and cattle in Packingtown. And when Sinclaire writes, “There is a place that awaits for the lowest man – the fertilizer-plant”[5] he does well in explaining why the fertilizer plant is for the lowest man two pages over. For just under two paragraphs (“Jurgis was . . . into shreds.”[6]) the author vividly describes Jurgis’ work in the fertilizer plant to the extent that the reader would be insensible not to “feel” Jurgis’ pain and suffering; his mental strain and of those around him as he “made his home a miniature fertilizer-mill a minute after entering”[7]

      Only when I completed the novel did I realize all the hints and foreshadowing tips, which Sinclaire sprinkled throughout his book. Since ‘hope’ is reinforced by the positive attitude of the main characters towards their desperate situation throughout the novel, it was extremely hard to accept the ill fate of all of them even when Sinclaire made it obvious. When on page 18 at the end of the first paragraph the author explains how saloon-keepers are ‘always right’ and with close ties to politicians, it is hard to conceive how Jurgis (one who does not drink alcohol at this time in the novel) would at a later time not only drink (at the end of chapter XIX he takes Kotrina’s “nearly three dollars”[8] and drinks until he has none left) but even go to jail because of getting into a fight with a saloon keeper (on page 272).

      At the end of chapter XIV, Sinclaire writes that, “Ona was visibly going to pieces. In the first place she was developing a cough, like the one that had killed old Dede Antanas.” Yet, as a reader, I was led to believed that everything was only temporary. Even in chapter XVIII, when Ona is crying, saying: “My God – let me die, let me die”[9] I did not believe that five pages later, she would indeed die. The author writes about Jurgis that “Ah, if he could have foreseen it – but then, he would have foreseen it, if he had not been a fool!”[10] I suppose I am a fool myself since I did not foresee (even with all the foreshadowing) almost any of Jurgis’ troubles.

      It is true that quite from the beginning of the book; Jurgis was portrayed as a simple worker, a regular sheep – actually more of a working horse, his slogan being: “do not worry . . . I will work harder!”[11] Sinclaire seems to cross this line between the human and the animal when he describes the business at Durham. He writes that “they brought about ten thousand head of cattle every day, and as many hogs, and half as many sheep”[12] and “it employed . . . people!”[13]All through the novel the reader is told about how “people . . . come in hordes”[14], they are “soaked in blood”[15], and “willing to work all the time”[16] – just like animals. At one point, the author writes about “human creatures . . . cave-men!”[17]; Elizabieta is described as “one of the primitive creatures”[18].

      Little Antanas has “the appetite of a wolf”[19]and Jurgis feels “like a bird”[20] at one time while he is “as literally crippled as any wild animal”[21] at another. About two-thirds through the book Jurgis compares himself with horses when he asks a farmer if “when you get through working your horses this fall, will you turn them out in the snow?”[22] And in chapter XXVI a boss is yelling at strikers telling them “You went out of here like cattle, and like cattle you’ll come back!”[23] All through the book, Sinclaire compares humans with animals and considering the conditions in which the immigrants lived in Chicago at that time, he rightly does so.

      Thus, I must admit that “The Jungle” is a remarkable novel in the way it portrays the life of European immigrants of Chicago in the 1900’s through the few characters’ lives that it describes and the use of foreshadowing brings an overall closure with the end of the novel; all ties-in to the dramatic ending. The comparison of humans to animals also helps in setting the scene and describing the miserable conditions in which Jurgis and his family found themselves.

      By its end, “The Jungle” is as sorrowful and depressing as any Shakespearean play except the characters continually die throughout the novel without the excess of deaths at the end. Yet, Sinclaire had to finish the novel when he did because he was running out of characters – he killed almost all of them two thirds through the novel. “The Jungle” is indeed a sad story to be read only in the most hopeful of times!


[1] The Jungle, 8

[2] Page 12

[3] Page 12

[4] Page44

[5] Page140

[6] Page 142

[7] Page143

[8] Page211

[9] Page 198

[10] Page 171

[11] Page 18

[12] Page37

[13] Page 45

[14] Page 72

[15] Page 88

[16] Page 110

[17] Page127

[18] Page214

[19] Page 231

[20] Page 235

[21] Page309

[22] Page 238

[23] Page300

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Mr. Happy profile imageAUTHOR

      Mr. Happy 

      6 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      I am glad You enjoyed the read, Mrs. Theresa.

      This is an older review from my university days. I just posted some of my essays here as an example that I can write in proper format too, not just wandering thoughts.

      I wish your relatives a hasty recovery. : )

      All the best!

    • Mr. Happy profile imageAUTHOR

      Mr. Happy 

      6 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      I can't say I loved the story Mr. Wesman. What I can say, is that I like how it was written. It is a bloody terrible story ... to be perfectly plain, shit like this should not be happening. And it is still happening. As Mrs. Theresa pointed out - we just gotta look at China now ... yet, our corrupt leaders still do business with that atrocious system/government. Crooks everywhere ...

      Ohh well, I am thankful Mr. St. Claire raised awareness with this one.

      Cheers!

    • phdast7 profile image

      Theresa Ast 

      6 years ago from Atlanta, Georgia

      WhiteWolf - How in the world did I miss this book review. Excellent analysis of The Jungle and of Upton Sinclair's intentions and his strengths as a writer. I hadn't thought about The Jungle since my Junior year in High School. Wow. It truly is a classic and as you commented above, it not explains a certain side and development of America around 1900, it can also be used as a lens to look at China today. Excellent piece. Sharing.

      I have been very busy with sick relatives and the demands of teaching. I scribble a few lines every now and then (poetry), but don't think I have written an essay in several months. I hope you are well. Blessings! ~~Theresa

    • Wesman Todd Shaw profile image

      Wesman Todd Shaw 

      6 years ago from Kaufman, Texas

      I read "The Jungle" in or around 2005....and it is one I definitely wish to re read.

      I "loved" the story...you know what I mean. The story was tragic, but it was very well written, and the book actually caused some serious change towards the positive.

      I dislike big government very much. I used to rant and rage about capitalism all the time.

      In the end...I know that I enjoy working towards my future...I dislike the notion of being lazy and expecting things handed to you....

      I can admit that economics is a vastly complicated subject and "machine," and that I don't understand it all.

      I did get kinda annoyed with the ending of "The Jungle." I wanted story....not a sales pitch.

      Of course "The Jungle" is the polar opposite of "Atlas Shrugged." I've read both of them, and would read both of them again.

      I think you'd enjoy reading "The Good Earth."...it is another novel that has a bit of an economic theme to it...and is another terrific classic.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Good_Earth

    • Mr. Happy profile imageAUTHOR

      Mr. Happy 

      7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      I am quite sure that you would enjoy it Mr. Tony. It is a great piece of writing although I did not appreciate all the darkness that came with it.

      Cheers and thank you for taking the time to stop by.

    • tonymac04 profile image

      Tony McGregor 

      7 years ago from South Africa

      I would love to read this - sounds like my kind of book as I'm depressive, possibly anarchist and definitely agin the system!

      Thanks for sharing.

      Love and peace

      Tony

    • Mr. Happy profile imageAUTHOR

      Mr. Happy 

      7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      Why the recesses of your memory Mrs. Lynda? And I do think it is a marvelous book: it can teach about corporations, it can dissolve myths about how America was built in the 1900's; it can also be read now to try to understand exactly what is happening in China (and to better understand your article which you just posted - and which I still have to read).

      There are many benefits from reading this book, although you are already there so indeed, you can very well skip it. Others shouldn't though. lol

      Thank you for dropping by. Cheers!

    • lmmartin profile image

      lmmartin 

      7 years ago from Alberta and Florida

      Good old Upton Sinclair -- there's a name from the recesses of my memory. I have not read The Jungle, and even though you portray it as the excellent work it surely is, I don't think I will. Thanks for an interesting read. Lynda

    • Mr. Happy profile imageAUTHOR

      Mr. Happy 

      7 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      lol Mr. Amillar, I think you should read it just because I said it should be kept away from you. It takes courage to go on a path which one knows is not going to be easy ...

      Cheers Amigo!

    • amillar profile image

      amillar 

      7 years ago from Scotland, UK

      It's a good book review Mr Happy. It certainly makes one want to read it - the only problem is the bit where you say, "I would suggest it be kept away from anyone with any form of depression, from anarchists and/or those who oppose the “system”. You just described me exactly.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)