ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: The Rosie Project

Updated on September 13, 2019
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || Art of Living teacher || Yoga Enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel ||Loves to Cook ||

Introduction

The Rosie Project is the the debut novel of Australian novelist Graeme Simsion. The novel was published in 2013 and have sold more than 3.5 million copies worldwide. It was named Book of the Year for 2014 by the Australian Book Industry Association. The novel was followed by a sequel, titled The Rosie Effect which was released in 2014 and was followed in 2019 by the third and final book in the trilogy, The Rosie Result.

 
 
Book
The Rosie Project
Author
Graeme Simsion
Publisher
Text Publishing
Publication date
January 30, 2013
Genre
Romance fiction
Page Count
304
ISBN
9781922079770
Followed by
The Rosie Effect
The Rosie Project: A Novel
The Rosie Project: A Novel

The international bestselling romantic comedy full of warmth, emotions and humor. Very engaging, light fun read!

 

You considered me as a partner?’ ‘Sure,’ she said. ‘Except for the fact that you have no idea of social behaviour, your life’s ruled by a whiteboard and you’re incapable of feeling love – you’re perfect.

— Graeme Simsion, The Rosie Project

Summary

The novel centers on genetics professor Don Tillman, who struggles to have a serious relationship with women. He measures and evaluates life all the time. He is very organized, has a rigid meal plan and has lobster in his bathtub every Tuesday night.With his best friend and womanizing colleague Gene and his wife Claudia, Don comes up with the idea of the Wife Project-a questionnaire that would help him in finding the perfect mate. He devises a questionnaire to assess the suitability of female partners. But he fails to find a satisfactory woman and alienates many potential candidates on the basis of the questionnaire.

Gene introduces him to Rosie, a bartender does not fit many of Tillman's criteria and so he quickly eliminates her as a probable mate. But still Don is drawn to her and even agrees to help her find her biological father, a man that her mother slept with after a graduation party. He terms it as the "Father Project".

Will Rosie find her biological father? Will Don find a perfect soulmate in Rosie? I won't spoil the book for you by narrating further story. You will have to read this hilarious and sweetly unique novel to find the answers.


“But I’m not good at understanding what other people want.’

‘Tell me something I don’t know,’ said Rosie for no obvious reason.

I quickly searched my mind for an interesting fact.

‘Ahhh…The testicles of drone bees and wasp spiders explode during sex.”

— Graeme Simsion, The Rosie Project

My Review

Sheldon Cooper in love...If you have watched 'Big Bang Theory' then you will understand what I mean. And if you are a big fan of Sheldon like me then I am sure that you will like this book.

The Rosie Project is a fun, quirky and entertaining love story. It's laugh-out-loud, funny and unexpectedly touching. Don is a wonderfully offbeat and idiosyncratic character. Rosie serves as his perfect foil. Both the characters are pitch perfect.

The story had a lot of twists and turns with a few predictable parts. I thoroughly enjoyed the journey of Don and Rosie which led them to discover more about themselves. It was hard to believe at first that these two seemingly opposite types could fall in love and have a chance for happily-ever-after but by the end, you desperately wish that the two of them end up together. The novel is a entertaining tale of one man's journey to find love and discover some truths about himself.

I think one of the reasons the story is so appealing is that it's written from a unique perspective. This is one of the few romantic comedies written by a man and from a man's perspective.

This was a great read with really quirky and adorable characters. The writing style is simple yet engaging. It's hilarious and heart warming. If you are looking for a light, fun read then this is just the right book for you. Highly recommended!

My Rating: 4/5

“A woman at the rear of the room raised her hand. I was focused on the argument now and made a minor social error, which I quickly corrected. “The fat woman—overweight woman—at the back?”

— Graeme Simsion, The Rosie Project
Graeme Simsion
Graeme Simsion

About the Author

Graeme Simsion is an Australian author, screenwriter and playwright. Before becoming an author, Simsion was an information systems consultant and also co-authored the book Data Modelling Essentials.

Bill and Melinda Gates: A Conversation with Author Graeme Simsion

© 2019 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      11 days ago from India

      Thanks Julia. The protagonist is actually a lot like Sheldon Cooper.

    • Wanderingteacher profile image

      Julia Rose 

      11 days ago from Japan

      Nice review. It sounds interesting, and I liked the comparison of the main character to Sheldon.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      3 weeks ago from India

      Exactly Dora!

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      3 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for the review. The love story sounds delightful. Like a book with which one would like to curl up and read.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      Oh yes, Jodah... delightful and hilarious!

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      4 weeks ago from Queensland Australia

      This sounds delightful, Shaloo. I need to read it..and an Aussie.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      I am sure you will enjoy reading it, Bill.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      4 weeks ago from Olympia, WA

      I really do need a novel to read, so this review is excellent timing. Thank you my friend.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      4 weeks ago from India

      Yeah, Mary. The book is hilarious. I am looking forward to reading the sequels.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      4 weeks ago from Ontario, Canada

      I read this book and thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters are lovable in their own quirkiness. Enjoyed your review.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)