ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Trouble with Magic. A Bewitching Mystery series review.

Updated on April 29, 2015

The Trouble with Magic, by Madelyn Alt

Maggie turns her back to the "camera" on each cover. Nice, matching art by Monika Roe for each book in the series. Cover design by Judith Morello, interior text design by Stacy Irwin.
Maggie turns her back to the "camera" on each cover. Nice, matching art by Monika Roe for each book in the series. Cover design by Judith Morello, interior text design by Stacy Irwin. | Source

Not Quite Cozy.

I do not consider this book cozy enough, so I won't be reading or reviewing any of the others in this series.

There is a firearm involved, for thing.

Play Misty Gray for Me

I don't know what it was that made me abandon my usual path to work on that particular October Tuesday. The morning had dawned misty and gray --- my favorite kind --- and it made me groan all the more about heading into the grim Collections job I had desperately come to dread.

I was hooked on those first two sentences.

October is my favorite month. Tuesday is my favorite day of the week, and I really love misty and gray --- especially on a Tuesday in October.

The Tao of Felicity

Maggie goes out for a ride --- instead of going to work --- in her 1972 VW Bug --- named "Christine" --- to do a little sight-seeing.

A shadow had fallen over my hometown; I hardly recognized it anymore. They say that change is good . . . In the case of Stony Mill, that meant opening our arms to a flood of big-city expatriates who saw my quiet town as a way of building their expensive homes free of the burden of city-sized taxes. . . . Why the interlopers all seemed to feel this town owed them for the honor of their presence was beyond me.

Agreed --- I also live in a town like that.

It's refreshing to see these critical comments --- instead of the usual boosterism about how we have to "grow". (Grow what? I want to ask.)

During her tour of the antiques area of Stony Mill --- one of the few good effects of gentrification --- Maggie accidentally falls into a store called "Enchantments" while trying to duck into the doorway to get out of the rain.

Felicity Dow --- the owner of Enchantments --- asks Maggie to work at the store. Maggie accepts, right then and there. She felt the Toad would be firing her anyway, for not calling in that day.

Felicity is a charming, gracious British lady who claims to be a practicing witch.

The Trouble with Magic, by Madelyn Alt

Maggie knows her new boss, Felicity, practices the Craft of Wicca ---  Witchcraft. When Felicity goes to her sister's house in answer to a call for help, Isabella's body is lying at the foot of the stairs.
Maggie knows her new boss, Felicity, practices the Craft of Wicca --- Witchcraft. When Felicity goes to her sister's house in answer to a call for help, Isabella's body is lying at the foot of the stairs.

Sick of Bill Collecting

Maggie dislikes her job at the collections agency.

It's probably just as well, because the above - cited abandonment of her usual path was the last straw for her boss, The Toad --- who calls female employees "the girls" --- when she showed up at work that morning ("finally" according to The Toad), citing "car problems" as the reason.

Well, more like --- she got into her car and drove away, not knowing when she would report to work. That's a "car problem", right?

A Sad Beginning

Sadly, on Maggie's first day of work at Enchantments, Felicity receives an urgent phone call which we later learn is from her sister, Isabella. Felicity leaves Maggie in charge of the shop while she drives to Isabella's home to see what the mysterious phone call had been about.

When Felicity gets to her sister's home, she finds Isabella's body at the bottom of the stairs. Apparently Isabella has been murdered.

Felicity is the prime suspect.

Sibling Rivalry

Felicity found her sister's body, for one thing. That tends to arouse suspicion.

But, for another, Felicity ("Liss") and Isabella had not been on good terms with each other --- ever since Liss' late husband had an affair with Isabella.

Reserving Judgment on this Series

I think this series might not be right for me, but I'm not sure yet.

I really liked Maggie in the beginning of the book, as I say above. But, as the book goes on, several things started bothering me. Maggie became more difficult for me to like. She becomes a little whiny and dependent as the book goes on. It became boring and dull.

And, there's a male character who apparently is supposed to be attractive and mysterious, but who is an obvious cliché with no personality.

The story takes place in a small midwestern town, where most know each other. In that case, however --- how is it that Maggie has never heard of Felicity or Enchantments before the day she fell in through that door.

Friend and Neighbor

Maggie lives in the same building as an old friend from high school.

The two of them love to watch reruns of Magnum P.I.

Worst of All . . .

But, maybe what bothered me the most was the solution to the mystery.

It's really creepy!!

I figured the apparent murderer was a red herring, and the author would provide a less repugnant solution when the time came, but I was disappointed!

It really is that creepy.

Some readers might not be as upset by the creepy solution as I was. Nevertheless . . .

A Felicitous Farewell

I never stopped liking Felicity. She always stayed dignified, honorable and reserved.

She eventually was cleared of suspicion, and the cop who Maggie thought was questioning her because of prejudice against Wicca --- it turns out he always knew she wasn't the murderer anyway.

He was just trying to protect Felicity from the real killer --- who he knew would be stalking her.

Nevertheless, Maggie had already stopped dating that cop before that anyway. I feel the author is setting us up for some sort of romantic involvement with that "mysterious" guy.

I guess the sequel will tell more about the supposedly attractive, mysterious guy, and get Maggie involved with him, even though he's a total bore.

On the other hand, Maggie is pretty boring herself.

Not always, though.

At the beginning of the book, Maggie started out with wit, independence and sarcastic critiques.

Her personality sort of broke down as the book went on.

I'm not sure how or why.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Huntgoddess profile imageAUTHOR

      Huntgoddess 

      3 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Well, that is very nice of you to say, dear.

      I'm quite flattered that you would even consider "converting" due to my little Hubs.

      I really don't read fiction myself, except for these cozies, and of course Dickens, et al. Also, I used to be quite a huge fan of Agatha Christie, and of A.C. Doyle.

      I travel via public transportation a lot, and I always have one of these in my purse.

      They also provide me with a little respite from my real problems. They distract me long enough to made me feel better.

      Take care. See you soon, I hope.

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 

      3 years ago from North Texas

      Your excellent review makes these books seem very intriguing. I always liked mysteries and if there were just a few more hours in the day, who knows? I might persuade myself to try fiction again. Fortunately not everyone is like me, and I think if they get a chance to read your wonderful reviews they will be reading these books!

    • Huntgoddess profile imageAUTHOR

      Huntgoddess 

      4 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Thanks for the nice compliment, Au fait.

      By all means --- different reading material appeals to me at different times, for different reasons I guess.

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 

      4 years ago from North Texas

      Yes, learning to make something is DIY. I love craft books, but also books that are about current or recent events, etc. Biographies and auto biographies and the like. Sometimes books about historical events. I know people can learn a lot by reading fiction, too, but I just can't seem to concentrate on it very well anymore.

      When I did read fiction, this book you've reviewed would have appealed. I liked adventure and mystery. I loved the Harry Potter series. I still think they are fantastic for any age person. Rowling was so good at developing characters and plots within plots.

    • Huntgoddess profile imageAUTHOR

      Huntgoddess 

      4 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Well, there is certainly nothing wrong with those!

      Right now, I'm "reading" a knitting pattern for toys I hope to make for my grandbabies. That is a type of DIY, maybe? lol

      I had hoped to finish for Christmas, but I think toys are fun at any time of the year.

      I know what you mean about fiction. It can be quite irksome.

      Speaking of irksome ------ this on-screen keyboard is driving me nuts!! I'd write more about this interesting topic otherwise.

      Thanks for stopping by, and for the vote. :-)

    • Au fait profile image

      C E Clark 

      4 years ago from North Texas

      I used to read fiction once upon a time, but now I just can't seem to get interested in it and keep my mind on it long enough to finish the book. I think maybe I read so much before that it's hard to find something new and different. I prefer how-to books and do-it-yourself books, etc. these days.

      An interesting review. Voted up!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Have a great evening, and yes its 2am over here! lol! off to hit the sack, night, nell

    • Huntgoddess profile imageAUTHOR

      Huntgoddess 

      6 years ago from Midwest U.S.A.

      Hey, thanks for reading my Hub, Nell, and commenting.

      Always so glad to hear from you, as well.

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 

      6 years ago from England

      Hi, I think that's the trouble with books that go on too long in the series, they seem to lose something, and I always end up leaving the last two or three books too, glad you hear from you by the way! lol!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)