ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review of 'By Nightfall', by Michael Cunningham, Pulitzer Prize Winning Author of 'The Hours'

Updated on April 1, 2012
MayG profile image

May spends her days reading, running, painting, starting various craft projects and fighting chronic writer's block.

Read it for Yourself!

Firstly, I just want to say this review DOES NOT contain any spoilers! What would be the fun in giving away the ending, when I want you to read this book for yourself?

A Little Snippet from the Book...

"Here they are: a middle-aged couple in the back of a cab (this driver's name is Abel Hibbert, he's young and jumpy, silent, fuming). Here are Peter and his wife, married for twenty-one(almost twenty-two) years, companionable by now, prone to banter, not much sex anymore but not no sex, not like other long-married couples he could name, and yeah, at a certain age you can imagine bigger accomplishments, a more potent and inextinguishable satisfaction, but what you've made for yourself isn't bad. Peter Harris, hostile child, horrible adolescent, winner of various second prizes, has arrived at this ordinary moment, connected, engaged, loved, his wife's breath warm on his neck, going home." - By Nightfall, p13.

About "By Nightfall"

Michael Cunningham is the kind of author whose astounding understanding of humanity and his ability to articulate it, takes your breath away.

I read this book in a matter of hours, it was seriously impossible to put down.

As an aspiring writer, I am both inspired and discouraged when I read his work. Inspired that it is somehow possible to articulate the most seemingly inexplicable and transient sensations and emotions, yet discouraged, because I know that I will never be the kind of writer that I want to be.

By Nightfall is set in New York. Forty-four year old Peter, and his wife Rebecca live in a SoHo loft. Peter is a reasonably well-known and successful art-dealer, Rebecca owns an arts and culture magazine. They seem to have it all.

But of course, nothing is ever as idyllic as it seems. Peter is having a mid-life crisis. He's coming to terms with his own loss of youth and trying to accept that his wife too is getting older. He is mourning the loss of the woman she once was, and the man he has never quite managed to be. Added to that, is his confusion and sadness at the anger his grown-up daughter Bea has towards him, and his complete inability to know how to make things right.

Then Mizzy, Rebecca's much younger, drug-addicted, brother comes to stay. Peter sees him as both a young, male version of his wife, and also as a re-embodiment of his own brother, Matthew who died when still a young man. Poor Mizzy - his nickname is short for mistake because he was born to aging parents when his siblings were already adults.

Peter finds himself questioning his marriage, his sexuality, his role as an art-dealer, his success as a father and his responsibility as a brother-in-law.

Cunningham dips in and out of the present and past (after all, it is the past that has made the characters what they are in the present) back into times when he and Rebecca were young and his brother was still alive.

Cunningham describes Peter's neurosis so sensitively, it is impossible to not to sympathize and empathize with his predicament. He writes with an aching sense of mortality, of futility, but yet at the end, there is hope.

Like The Hours, Cunningham picks you up and places you squarely in the middle of the protagonist's life. So perfectly does he describe the settings, smells, sensations of living in Manhattan, it is like being there. He describes feelings and emotions you can immediately identify with, but didn't know they could actually be expressed.

Even the minor characters in the story are developed so fully, you feel as if you know them intimately. It's the kind of book that when you finish it you feel as if you are leaving a world you've been part of.

Cunningham's style of writing is full of surprises.  It's as much anticipation in the beauty of his prose as the story he is telling that keeps you wanting to read on.


Other Books by Michael Cunningham

About Michael Cunningham

Michael Cunningham is the author of The Hours which won the PEN/Faulkner Award and the Pulitzer Prize. It was also made into a movie, starring Meryl Streep, Julianne Moore, and Nicole Kidman. Kidman won an Oscar for her portrayal of the tormented novelist Virginia Woolf.

Michael Cunningham grew up in Pasadena, California but now lives in New York. He has a degree in English Literature from Stanford University, and a Master of Fine Arts from the Iowa Writers' Workshop.  He is a recipient of many awards: a Michener Fellowship, a Guggenheim Fellowship, a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship, and the Whiting Writers'Award.

In addition to writing, he has also taught creative writing at various institutions, including the prestigious Yale University.  

Wouldn't you love to be taught Creative Writing by this brilliant man?

(info from Michael Cunningham's official website and Wikipedia)

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MayG profile imageAUTHOR

      May Galnou 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Hi C-Bless. Thanks so much for reading it! May.

    • C-Bless profile image

      C-Bless 

      7 years ago from Canada

      You did an awesome job writing his review. I generally do not read this genre but your review makes me want to go buy the book right now. Thank you for bring this novel to our attention, and for the follow.

    • MayG profile imageAUTHOR

      May Galnou 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Hi Mquee, thanks so much for reading my review and commenting!

    • mquee profile image

      mquee 

      7 years ago from Columbia, SC

      I don't believe Mr. Cunningham could have a better advocate for his work. You offer a very tantalizing morsel to those of us looking for a good read. Thank you for sharing.

    • MayG profile imageAUTHOR

      May Galnou 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Hi JayeWisdom, Thank you so much for your lovely and encouraging comment. You've no idea how much I appreciate it!!

    • JayeWisdom profile image

      Jaye Denman 

      7 years ago from Deep South, USA

      MayG...You may not think you're a talented writer, but I beg to differ. Your review of BY NIGHTFALL is well written prose, and it makes me want to read the book. Reviews that are dry and formulaic do not have that effect. Thanks for piquing my interest in this book! Jaye

    • MayG profile imageAUTHOR

      May Galnou 

      7 years ago from Melbourne, Australia

      Hi Jaynie2000, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! Thanks for stopping by.

    • Jaynie2000 profile image

      Jaynie2000 

      7 years ago

      Sounds like an interesting read. I may have to check it out. Thanks!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)