ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Stumbling Into Infinity

Updated on October 28, 2018
swalia profile image

Blogger || Media professional || YouTuber || Yoga enthusiast || Avid reader || Spiritual || Loves to travel || Loves to cook ||

Title
Stumbling Into Infinity: An Ordinary Man in the Sphere of Enlightenment
Author
Michael Fischman
Originally Published
2010
Genre
Autobiography, Memoir
Page Count
296
Stumbling Into Infinity: An Ordinary Man in the Sphere of Enlightenment
Stumbling Into Infinity: An Ordinary Man in the Sphere of Enlightenment
A beautiful memoir about the author's spiritual journey.
 

Introduction

I have just finished reading ‘Stumbling into Infinity: An Ordinary Man in the Sphere of Enlightenment’ by Michael Fischman. The book is a memoir of the author’s spiritual journey and his intimate experiences with Gurudev H. H. Sri Sri Ravishankar. The author beautifully describes the various doubts that troubled his mind on the spiritual path and the learnings from every experience. It is a beautiful book full of Guru ji’s knowledge and wisdom. The author shares various incidents about his initial days on the spiritual path, lots of Guru stories and miraculous experiences.

Which of the following best describes you?

See results

Summary

Stumbling Into Infinity is the autobiographical account of the author Michael Fischman who is the son of a Holocaust survivor and grew up in an Orthodox Jewish household. As an adult, Michael gave up his successful career as a Madison Avenue advertising executive and through a mysterious turn of destiny, ended up as a friend,confidante and helper to the great humanitarian and spiritual leader H.H. Sri Sri Ravishankar. In the memoir, Michael talks about his inner fears & traumas, failed attractions, glimpses of knowledge and wisdom, a fight at Sri Sri's ashram and the love & devotion for the master.


Art of Living Quiz

view quiz statistics

My Review

After reading the book, I am filled with gratitude for my spiritual master. The struggles, the doubts, the fears, the ego which the author describes in the book- It seems that every devotee undergoes these stages on the path. Only faith on the spiritual master and unwavering devotion can help you keep going on the spiritual path. It was amazing to read how Gurudev helps Michael Fischman on his spiritual quest- sometimes with love, sometimes with guidance, sometimes with compassion and sometimes he even becomes strict & reprimands the author as the situation demands. But as Gurudev himself says that the anger of the enlightened is also a blessing. How fortunate the author is to have spent such time in Gurudev’s proximity!

The book made me reflect on my own spiritual journey and my association with my spiritual master. I feel myself to be blessed to have a Guru in my life- A Guru who has transformed millions of lives and is working endlessly with a single-minded focus towards his vision of a stress free and a violence free society.

The book is written in a simple language. The characters are real and so are the incidents. The book is a beautiful amalgamation of wisdom & knowledge with the doubts & fears on the spiritual path.

This book is a must read for all the sincere seekers. How the grace of the master can make you blossom spiritually is beautifully described in the book. If you have an unshakable faith in your spiritual master then rest assured because He will ultimately lead you to the divine. I will recommend this book to everyone who is interested in spirituality.

Rating: 3.5/5

People don’t have problems going to a university and studying from a professor, but they are apprehensive about learning from a spiritual teacher. Something as abstract as consciousness cannot be learned from a book, you need a teacher to guide you through the maze of your own mind.

— Michael Fischman

About the Author

Michael Fischman is the author of Stumbling Into Infinity: An Ordinary Man in the Sphere of Enlightenment and has won several awards for the U.S. Edition. He is also the founding member and former president of H.H. Sri Sri Ravi Shankar’s U.S. Art of Living Foundation. He has been associated with Art of Living for more than 25 years. He alsoleads seminars, retreats, or training programs, and gives motivational talks on behalf of the Art of Living Foundation and the International Association for Human Values.

© 2018 Shaloo Walia

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      15 months ago from India

      @Meenal a lovely book indeed!!

    • SwamanMeenal profile image

      Meenal 

      15 months ago from Singapore

      Lovely book. I read during my first pregnancy.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      2 years ago from India

      Thanks Lawrence! You are blessed to be on the spiritual path.

    • lawrence01 profile image

      Lawrence Hebb 

      2 years ago from Hamilton, New Zealand

      Shaloo

      You stumped me with the survey at the beginning!

      See, I'm a strong believer and spend time in the Bible almost every day, but I'm pretty sure I don't fit any notion of what Christians are supposed to be like!

      I'd agree with what you say about the grace of the 'Master' helping us to blossom, that's why I spend time in my Bible, I want to learn from Jesus himself, and as he promised he sends his Holy Spirit to guide and lead us if we will listen.

      Enjoyed the review.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      2 years ago from India

      Thank you, Manatita! It's indeed a privilege to spend so much time with the master.

    • manatita44 profile image

      manatita44 

      2 years ago from london

      You made it sound inspiring and the author seems to have had an interesting journey. Well done!

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      2 years ago from India

      Thank you, Dana!

    • Dana Tate profile image

      Dana Tate 

      2 years ago from LOS ANGELES

      This is a wonderful review and, as someone who is always seeing understanding it might be something that interests me. Thank you for sharing.

    • swalia profile imageAUTHOR

      Shaloo Walia 

      2 years ago from India

      @FloirishAnyway I can understand the reluctance. It's really unfortunate that some fraudulent people pose as enlightened beings and play with the faith of innocent people.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      2 years ago from USA

      Regarding Fischman's quote about people's reluctance to seek spiritual masters, it may be because there are so many imposters out there who take advantage of their power. I think of people like David Koresh, many televangelists, Jim Jones, etc. People don't know whether they're the real deal and whether they can trust them.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)