ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Bullying, Mean Girls, and Discovering That Being Yourself Is the Best Way to Be in Fun Read for Fans of Jessica Brody

Updated on January 6, 2019
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Be Yourself Is Life Lesson in Better You Than Me

Fun read for fans of Jessica Brody.  Trending topics of bullying and mean girls are part of the lessons from this new novel for ages 10+
Fun read for fans of Jessica Brody. Trending topics of bullying and mean girls are part of the lessons from this new novel for ages 10+ | Source

The Grass is Not Always Greener on the Other Side

Many teens and "tweens" often wish that they had someone else's life. That is sometimes a major topic of conversation in today's families who have teens and "tweens". Jessica Brody's new fun read for ages 10+ is a great choice for young readers who often wish to be someone else. Better You Than Me has all of the elements of a typical teen and "tween" with their life events. Bullying and mean girls are unfortunately part of life for this age group and these elements are part of Skylar's life at school. Skylar wants to be part of the cool group in seventh grade. Ruby is a twelve-year-old star and Skylar is a huge fan. She often wishes that she could be Ruby. Ruby is currently starring in a show, Ruby of the Lamp, with an element of magic in a genie's lamp. Ruby often wishes for a normal "tween" life. The two girls have the opportunity to meet on Ruby's show set and Voila! The genie lamp grants both wishes to be someone else. Ruby and Skylar are now living a life as someone else. Ruby is living Skylar's average live and Skylar is living Ruby's glamorous life as a star. All does not go well. Ruby discovers that mean girls are a part of an average life in middle school. Skylar discovers that there are huge drawbacks to being a "tween" star. Brody's Better You Than Me has a life lesson for this age group that being yourself is the best thing to be. Young readers will find this to be a page-turner to see if the girls can go back to their own body.

Better You Than Me was published by Delacorte Press, a division of Random House Children's Books, and has an ISBN of 978-1-5247-6971-0. It is recommended for ages 10+.

Two Girls Who Discover That Being Yourself is Great

Skylar wants to be in the cool group in seventh grade.  She is granted her wish when she meets her idol Ruby on Ruby's show set.
Skylar wants to be in the cool group in seventh grade. She is granted her wish when she meets her idol Ruby on Ruby's show set. | Source
Source

Bring Skylar and Ruby from Better You Than Me Into Your Classroom for Fun Discussions and Life Lessons

Teachers who teach language arts and reading classes will want to bring Jessica Brody's new book Better You Than Me into their classroom for "tweens" and young teens. The book presents opportunities for great social discussions and creative writing activities.

*Chapter books are always fun to read together as a group reading session, with a few chapters read aloud through the week and month. Read Better You Than Me in your group reading session. It would also be a good book to assign for individual book reports and creative writing assignments.

*Take a class poll of how many students have ever wished that they could be someone else and why have they sometimes wished to be someone else? How many would want to be a star like Ruby?

*Call attention to the use of magic in this fun read. How many students would like to have a genie's magic lamp to have their wishes granted?

*You might like to read Ruby's chapters in the beginning to discover why she wants to live a normal life. Read Skylar's chapters in the beginning to discover why she wants to be someone else and be one of the cool kids in seventh grade.

*Brainstorm with students about the things that happen to Skylar and Ruby as they are living each other's life. What are the things that each likes and what are the things that each discovers are not so great after all.

*Assign a creative writing activity for students to write their own story about switching places with someone who they wish to be.

Class Poll of Students Who Would Like to Be Someone Else

Do you have students or children who want to be someone else and why?

See results

© 2019 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)