ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction»
  • Romance Novels

Contemporary Romance Novels

Updated on March 13, 2014

Fifty Shades of Grey Movie

How do you feel about the upcoming movie Fifty Shades of Grey?

See results

"Fifty Shades of Grey"

If you haven’t heard of Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy by E.L. James, you must have been hiding under a rock for the past couple of years. This #1 New York best seller is about a young woman named Anastasia Steele, who meets a wealthy business mogul named Christian Grey. They both fall madly in love with each other and throughout each chapter their love becomes deeper and hotter. Their life with each other includes a red room, whips, bonding, blind folds, danger, and trust. Fifty Shades of Grey brings BDSM to the social world. After reading this book every woman wanted a dark and seductive Mr. Grey in their lives. In my opinion the book was interesting but the story itself wasn’t that great. Yet I still read and bought each book for the dramatics and the suspense of how their love works out.


If you have read Fifty Shades of Grey, and are having withdrawals because the series is over, then I recommend reading the Crossfire series by Sylvia Day. Crossfire is just as dark and sultry as Fifty Shades of Grey minus the BDSM. In my opinion this series is even better. This series is about Eva Tramell moving to New York with her best friend to start her new job at an advertising agency. While checking out her new job building she literally runs into the irresistible Gideon Cross. Though Eva tries to stay away from Cross the sexual tension is too strong. Gideon’s love for Eva becomes literally indefinable, which becomes a problem for their relation. Gideon doesn’t know how to describe his love which makes Eva feel distant. The Crossfire series is sexy, hot, with a side of danger.

"Losing It"

Cora Carmack contemporary romance series Losing It , is dare I say sexy and cute. They are an easy-read and you’ll find yourself not wanting to put the books down. The series includes four books; Losing It, Faking It, Keeping Her, and Finding It. So far I've only read Losing It and Faking It, both stories that I loved. The novels intertwine with each other, following up with the characters after college.

Losing It is about an almost college graduate named Bliss, who is still a virgin and trying to lose it. One night partying with her friend she decides that maybe a one night stand would be the best way. She finds a handsome guy named Garrick, and takes him to her place, but as things get heated up she chickens outs and runs out of her apartment leaving him there naked. Things get even more awkward when she returns to school and finds out that he’s her theater professor.

Faking It is so far one of my favorites of Cora Carmack’s novels. The main character Max aka Mackenzie, is a tattooed rock ‘n roll chick, and has a boyfriend named Mace to match her attitude. As a surprise, her parents decide to visit her for the holiday. This is horrible news for Max because her parents only know see her as Mackenzie, a sweet wholesome young girl, minus the grungy boyfriend. At the last minute at a coffee shop, she finds a guy named Cade, the complete opposite of her but someone who she can show to her parents. Max then asks him to be her fake boyfriend for awhile, which he agrees too, and this is where the story unfolds.

If you've read any of these books or have any other suggestions and want to share your feedback feel free to leave a comment.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.