ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown--Book Review

Updated on January 30, 2018
DzyMsLizzy profile image

Words, wordplay, reading, and writing have been favorites of Liz's since early childhood. She enjoys exploring science and science fiction.

A Well-Done and Engrossing Story

The author Dan Brown has done it again! Read this review without fear--I promise--no spoilers!

The Lost Symbol is yet another in his masterfully woven stories combining real history and places with fictional characters. There is plenty of suspense, mystery and intrigue for lovers of mystery novels, and an equal amount of adventure, chases, double-crosses and evil players for those who prefer the action-adventure genre.

Welcome back his recurring character, Robert Langdon, a university professor of cryptology and history, and amateur sleuth.

All of Dan Brown's books fascinate me because of the precise research he does. Not only is there the underlying story, but you also manage to always learn something new as historical or etymological facts are slipped in here and there. You may learn the origins of a word or something previously unknown to you about some aspect of our accepted history.

A Blend of Good vs. Evil

As with any good work of fiction, whether it be a romance or a crime drama, there must be a blend of good and evil characters for the requisite tension and resolution in the storyline.

Dan Brown is a past-master at creating this interwoven tension and release in cycles throughout the book. Just when I thought it was winding down with a resolution to the crisis presented, I discovered there were yet another two chapters to read!

There is everything here from teen angst to psychotic breaks, murder, kidnapping and theft. Something for everyone!

Freemasons and Secrets

Just as his equally well-researched and written works, The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons wove a story around various aspects surrounding the Catholic Church, The Lost Symbol traces its way through the symbology and mystery surrounding the Masons.

He characterizes this group well when he has one of his characters make a statement that the Freemasons are not a "secret society"--because everyone knows they exist--but that there are secrets within Freemasonry.

It is these secrets or supposed secrets around which the main plot hinges. The story is set in Washington, D.C., and as per Mr. Brown's usual talents, he weaves fictional places in between real ones as easily as a mother cat moving her kittens.

The fast-moving plot escalates to a point at which you simply cannot put the book down until you finish it.

Surprise Ending

 The concluding scenes are as surprising in their twist as the rest of the story was in its captivating storytelling.

I highly recommend this book along with the other works of author Dan Brown.

© 2011 Liz Elias

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • DzyMsLizzy profile imageAUTHOR

    Liz Elias 

    5 years ago from Oakley, CA

    Hi, midget38,

    I'm glad you enjoyed the review. I do enjoy the works of Dan Brown; I know you'll like this one, as well. Thanks for the comment and the votes.

  • midget38 profile image

    Michelle Liew 

    5 years ago from Singapore

    I haven't gotten round to reading this one yet, but I'll say that I'm hooked and will get around to it. The other two books were great reads! Thanks for sharing! Up and interesting!

  • DzyMsLizzy profile imageAUTHOR

    Liz Elias 

    6 years ago from Oakley, CA

    Thank you, Bbudoyono, for your kind comment.

    I am sure you will enjoy The Lost Symbol just as much as the others you've read.

  • Bbudoyono profile image

    Bbudoyono 

    6 years ago

    You make me want to read it. I have read all his novels except tis one.

  • Melanie Fourie profile image

    Melanie Fourie 

    7 years ago from Cape Town, South Africa

    You are most welcome ;-) Take care

  • DzyMsLizzy profile imageAUTHOR

    Liz Elias 

    7 years ago from Oakley, CA

    Hi there, Melanie--

    Thank you so much for the wonderful compliments! I am pleased that you enjoyed the review,(and presumably the book as well). ;-) Cheers!

  • Melanie Fourie profile image

    Melanie Fourie 

    7 years ago from Cape Town, South Africa

    Thanks so much for this wonderful review. You have a very distinct and engaging writing style. I love the works of Dan Brown and you have vividly and expertly encapsulated the essence of his book here. Have a super week (",)

  • DzyMsLizzy profile imageAUTHOR

    Liz Elias 

    7 years ago from Oakley, CA

    Thank you very much, minahiljhonkim. I believe you will enjoy the book. It's a real page-turner.

  • profile image

    minahiljhonkim 

    7 years ago from New York

    your article motivate me to get this book soon. Amazing writing style.

  • DzyMsLizzy profile imageAUTHOR

    Liz Elias 

    7 years ago from Oakley, CA

    Hi, Wayne Brown!

    (any relation? LOL)

    You make valid points, and I appreciate your input. And thanks for the compliment. ;-)

  • Wayne Brown profile image

    Wayne Brown 

    7 years ago from Texas

    I think Dan Brown has a genius that all of us writers need to look at more closely. He takes an established backround/framework and weaves a suspense into it that does not exist in truth. It saves him a lot of time in terms of creating it...if he can create something as good. His roadblocks become the realties of the history itself. That leaves lots of time for the fiction aspect and the character development. Readers do like this approach as Brown has proven and I think it is because he takes a relatively familiar subject and interjects suspense and adventure into it. He truly possess the traits of a good and successful writer. You do him proud to point that out with this tribute to his skills. WB

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)