ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Dracula in Love by Karen Essex: A Book Review About Mina -Dracula's Love Interest

Updated on January 31, 2018
Cyndi10 profile image

Cynthia - a freelance writer believing in the power of words and the magic of storytelling whether in poetry or prose.

Vlad III, also known as Vlad the Impaler, the historical character Dracula was based on.
Vlad III, also known as Vlad the Impaler, the historical character Dracula was based on. | Source

A Book Review of Dracula in Love

As I write the book review of Dracula in Love, I am aware that Dracula is the quintessential vampire; the vampire that inspired the creation of all other vampires. Dracula was the first. Bram Stoker attempted to capture his essence in his novel, Dracula. He brought Dracula to the world's attention, shedding light on a being that existed in darkness. Bram Stoker portrayed Dracula as ruthless, remorseless and as a being that was all too happy to destroy anyone as he quenched his blood thirst.

Karen Essex, the author of Dracula in Love, shows us Dracula through the eyes of her intelligent, beautiful and feisty Irish born heroine, Mina, first introduced to us by Bram Stoker in Dracula. Karen Essex continue's Mina's story by revealing Mina's journal entries. In her journal, Mina is shown to be struggling to understand herself and her attraction to the dark villain, Dracula, who is ruthless in his quest to make her his own.

Set in the late 1800's, Dracula in Love explores not only Mina's relationship with Dracula, but it also looks at Mina's relationship with her own nature and her existence in Victorian society, as society fraught with rules and restrictions mostly intended to restrain women both figuratively and literally. When seen through Mina's eyes, Dracula represents the enlightenment that had been lost to women over the centuries. In Karen Essex's story, Dracula offered Mina choices for freedoms and liberties unheard of during the times in which her story is set. Dracula even offers immortality. On the other hand, Jonathan Harker, Mina's fiance and Dracula's not so hapless victim, represents conformity, even double standards and repression, in the guise of safety and respectability.

Deliciously titillating, you will find yourself entranced by this young woman's life in a time and world now long gone and by her journey to self discovery. Karen Essex wove a tale of love, seduction, fascination and Mina's need and attempts to fit into Victorian society. The vivid descriptions, and tantalizing narrative make Dracula in Love a riveting page turner. From the first page, you will find yourself wondering when and how Dracula will make his appearance. You wonder if Mina will succumb to his powers and the seduction of immortality or will she escape unscathed to the safety and normalcy that Jonathan offers. Most of all you will question whether that safety is as it desirable as it seems to be.

As I write this book review, I'm aware that Dracula in Love may not be as appealing to readers as the original Dracula. I may not even be as appealing as some other versions of vampire stories that live and breath the ruthlessness and violence that is inherent in the majority of vampire reads. After all, we are seeing through a woman's eyes which is giving another perspective to the horrors of Dracula.

I can think of no better time than the shortened days of the cold winter months to curl up in front of the fire with a good thriller. Dracula in Love offers suspense and romance in a world that seems real enough to be just outside our door. Watching our heroine's powers and belief in herself unfurl is akin to discovering that you, like our heroine, held the key to who you are all along.

If you like vampire stories mixed with romance and shrouded in mystery and with a little bit of social commentary, then you will will be enthralled by Karen Essex's Dracula in Love. I suggest you get comfortable with a nice warm throw and a cup of hot chocolate or tea and read.

Meet the Author, Karen Essex

© 2011 Cynthia B Turner

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Cyndi10 profile imageAUTHOR

      Cynthia B Turner 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      I'll take a look. It's such an intriguing project. Thanks again.

    • profile image

      Phoebe Pike 

      6 years ago

      I finished the hub based on your work, it's my latest one. I haven't done all of my followers yet, but I am working on it. It's an ongoing process.

    • Cyndi10 profile imageAUTHOR

      Cynthia B Turner 

      6 years ago from Georgia

      Hi Phoebe, Thank you so much for the high accolades. I always appreciate positive comments.

      Your project sounds interesting. Is it finished yet or is it still a work in progress?

    • profile image

      Phoebe Pike 

      6 years ago

      Another awesome hub, of course I never expected anything less from you. You're writing is epic as always.

      I actually read this book and loved it. I started a writing project for my follwers, eventually all of my fans will have a hub based off their work and I picked this book for yours. I hope you like it. ^_^

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      7 years ago from Shelton

      Cyndi--this was a very good review loaded and useful :)

    • Cyndi10 profile imageAUTHOR

      Cynthia B Turner 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      I've given some thought to the comparison of the two books. I think Karen has created a thoughtful book that explores the emotional challenges in Mina's journey and it held my interest from that aspect. In thinking back on Interview with a Vampire and Vampire Lestat's journey, it is probably similar. But do read and see what you think.

    • Cogerson profile image

      UltimateMovieRankings 

      7 years ago from Virginia

      Nice review...it sounds like an interesting book...I will have to check out this book in the near future. How does this book compare to the Anne Rice novels? I know those books were supposed to be great, but I had a real hard time finishing Interview With A Vampire...not because I was scared...but because I could not stay awake whenever I tried to read the book. Voted up and useful.

    • Cyndi10 profile imageAUTHOR

      Cynthia B Turner 

      7 years ago from Georgia

      Jeremiahjpwalton and CB. Thank you so much for reading the review.Vampires are great characters and of course Dracula is like no other. I think Karen Essex did him justice in her book.

    • profile image

      CB 

      7 years ago

      Dark characters like Dracula are always so interesting and exciting. Hopefully I can make time to read this one.:-)

    • jeremiahjpwalton profile image

      Jeremiah Walton 

      7 years ago from New England

      Interesting read! I love vampires and unlike twilight, this does not put them to shame.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)