ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Fake Book Reviews on Amazon Stores

Updated on April 6, 2017
DDE profile image

Devika enjoys sharing her work with a friendly community. Writing is a big part of her life. Online work has improved her lifestyle.

Are you Cheating with Book Reviews?

Cheating with Book Reviews on Amazon.com!

Why the fake reviews?

Authors want good reviews from readers or book reviewers.

The problem with such deals payment is accepted by certain reviewers and fake reviews are written for many books.

I learned that Amazon is cracking the system of fake reviews received daily by Fiver.com.

The five dollar fee paid for reviews is frustrating and false advertising for Amazon.com

All reviews can't be honest in five star reviews.

There has been over a thousand individuals on Fiver.com who offered their services for fake reviews. Most reviews are not what it is.

Authors want to earn from their books but should go about it in an honesty way.

The five star reviews encourage buyers to purchase the book in need and any good review is helpful to the buyer.

You know you have published and if your book is not worthy to readers you deserve a negative review.

Book reviews written for a specific book that is not good enough and it receives that five star rating you know you are fooling yourself.

No matter how much you paid for the fake five star rating, your book is not worthy to readers and that is what matters most for the author.

Anyone can post a review, they must buy your book, or free download to read and leave a review.

When it states ''Amazon Verified Purchase,'' then you know the book was bought and read.

You have proper evidence of the purchase of your book.

If you downloaded for free Amazon will know that too.

It becomes suspicious when your friends and relatives leave a review.

Fake reviews are removed and if reviews are sent from the same computer.

You can't always trust the four and five star reviews, especially when authors get their friends and relatives to write that review.

I am glad Amazon is cracking down the system and getting to those involved in such scams. It is not good for the system or for self-published writers.

Approach honest people and who have a name to post your book reviews.

You want to be famous and think you can cheat the system.

The fake reviews don't help you or Amazon book stores.

The publishing market is competitive that doesn't mean you should find the easy way out, and cheat with fake reviews.

Positive reviews increase the sales of your book, but if your book is not good enough then you are cheating yourself in this process.

Fake reviews are a fraud. Authors should be held liable if they paid for their five star reviews.

Amazon is receiving loads of fake reviews on their products.

The situation has deteriorated!

You can identity the fake review.

Amazon relies on honest reviews.

Quality products deserve the best ratings.

I have noticed good sales recently on my kindle books but no reviews from those buyers.

People are misled with fake reviews.

Sometimes the bad reviews are just from the spiteful beings.

Reviews make people want to return their products back to Amazon.

You ask people for reviews and expect the best reviews.

Honestly, I feel if someone wants to leave a review they are most welcome. I don't ask people to leave good reviews it is up to them on what they choose to write.

When people get paid to review your work they write whatever they wish and don't care of how it affects the system.

The favorable reviews reach a good standard but the author fails to see their failures in their work produced.

The good rating sells the product and when the buyer is taken in by the five star rating, it is sad to know the buyer is not satisfied afterward.

Reviews are of benefit to shoppers and cheating with good reviews to avoid the bad reviews, is not the way to succeeding in the writing world.

I reviewed many books on Amazon.com, and each review was an honest one.

Short written reviews in most cases are false.

Book reviews are for authors to know where they stand with their newly published books.

The fair description and summary does play a good part of books published on Amazon stores.

Your purpose is to generate sales. The blurbs are not always as helpful to the reader's eye.

Long and informative reviews show a big-plus for authors.

Most reviews without purchasing the product is an issue to Amazon.

A person who read the full manuscript or downloads for free is not a problem.

Anyone reviewing a product should be honest about it.

The cheats on reviews spoils the honest reviews.

Article writing is different to than that of Book publishing and the reviews, or comments received on each should be of help to the author. Cheating on reviews or comments is not a good response for the author's platform.

Most of Amazon top reviewers won't get back to you. I have emailed many top reviewers and only a few got back to me.

Those who write in your genre will get back to you and you should email reviewers who enjoy reading your type of books.

Most reviewers have genre preferences, so you’re more likely to peak their interests. First see what is of interest to the reviewer before emailing that person.

I understand the need to be polite and respectful and to do your research prior to approaching a reviewer. The reviewer feels they are doing the author a favor by leaving reviews on their books.

When content is king the author needs to give their best to readers.

The reviewer and the author need to benefit from this experience.

Authors shouldn't beg a reviewer to leave a review, it sounds weak and negative to be in such situations.

Authors shouldn't apply pressure on reviewers either.

Politeness is required for both from the author and the reviewer. You got to understand that.

Provide an honest review and help out in a good manner.

Writers don't get reviews easily.

The new network called Kindred Readers is a helpful site for getting book reviews not launched as yet. Hopefully soon this site will be of help to many authors.

People fail to adhere to the rules or guidelines of any site.

Fake reviews are making the good reviews bad for many authors.

Honest reviews are more useful than fake reviews and it has been going on for a while with Amazon stores.

Tip:

When you ask for a book review doesn’t ask for positive reviews leave that up to the reviewer.

People's opinions vary, and all five star reviews look suspicious so, keep that in mind.

Don't offer payment for book reviews.

Avoid commenting on the review from your reader.

Sometimes commenting on reviews can put you against your potential readers.

The review can make you feel argumentative.

After a review is published, don’t comment on the review.

You can get legitimate reviews by proactively seeking out reviews.

Fake reviews under pseudonyms are not allowed by Amazon.

You got to send your book to Amazon top reviewers to get that honest review.

Unless, you are he established writer and have hundreds of fans and reviews you won't get more reviews easily.

Book reviews are difficult because of the poor writing skills in most of the self-published books

Book marketing requires more reviews.

How to get Book Reviews on Amazon.com

Honest book Reviews

Have you paid for Book reviews on Amazon.com

See results

Self-published books

I enjoy sharing my experiences on Hubpages
I enjoy sharing my experiences on Hubpages | Source

© 2016 Devika Primić

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 3 weeks ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Athlyn Green, thank you for noticing my hub. I appreciate your comment.

    • Athlyn Green profile image

      Athlyn Green 4 weeks ago from West Kootenays

      I'd heard about this but your article offered more insights. Good that Amazon is cracking down to try to protect the integrity of the system.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 2 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      grand old lady thank you for stopping by. Sometimes one would go to great lengths to get what they want but in a fake way. To be able to show others the too have good reviews. Fake reviews are not the way to step up the ladder in the writing field.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 2 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Nadine May Thank you for commenting on this hub. It makes one wonder what some people are capable of to get a good book review.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 2 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      MartieCoetser thank you for comments. You are so right! ' Only a person with no integrity is able to present fake stuff.'

    • MartieCoetser profile image

      Martie Coetser 3 months ago from South Africa

      I hate fake reviews, fake news, and everything that is fake. Only a person with no integrity is able to present fake stuff. I hope Amazon will be able to detect and delete fake reviews.

    • Nadine May profile image

      Nadine May 3 months ago from Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa

      That was an interesting read. I have NEVER paid for book reviews and over the years readers usually email me or tell me on social media about my novels, and those I cannot post on Amazon anyway. Most of my readers from years back were from SA or from Holland, but if they are not Amazon customer they cannot leave a review. Goodreads is a good platform to be as an author.

    • grand old lady profile image

      Mona Sabalones Gonzalez 3 months ago from Philippines

      I very much appreciate this article. Never knew that reviews could be purchased through Fiverr! Also, never knew that there is a way to look for reviewers and that you could offer people a copy for a book review. This is truly revealing. I think it would be better to get honest reviews, both positive and negative because that will be a true learning experience for the author.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 16 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hello vespawoolf so kind of you to sop by here. I am glad Amazon stores are paying attention to these reviews. Sometimes the good review is not fake and needs to be considered carefully. Thank you.

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 16 months ago from Peru, South America

      I have noticed this problem in many areas, including vitamin sales and recipes. Now I don't trust a 5 star or 0 star review. As you mentioned, such negative reviews can come from hateful competitors. And almost nothing deserves a 5 star review. This problem makes the consumer doubt reviews and the products available online. I hope this creates awareness and Amazon will be able to reduce some of the fake reviews. Thank you for writing this article.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 17 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hi rajan jolly thank you for the regular commenting at my hubs always appreciated.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 17 months ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      I have always wondered about online reviews being genuine or not whether its books or any other product that is sold. You hub clarifies this for me so well. If Amazon is cracking the system it is a good thing for the customer.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 17 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hello my dear friend, so glad you came by. Thank you and I appreciate your comments and take care now!

    • Shyron E Shenko profile image

      Shyron E Shenko 17 months ago from Texas

      Devika, I had not thought about anyone buying or selling a review, but where there is a desire to cheat the cheater will find a way. I do want to thank you for pointing this out.

      Blessings my friend

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hi Mel Carriere thank you very much for commenting always appreciated.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hello ChitrangadaSharan Fake reviews are causing Amazon to delete many reviews and that is not good for the system and to those who write honest reviews. Thank you for commenting.

    • Mel Carriere profile image

      Mel Carriere 18 months ago from San Diego California

      I have not published yet on Amazon, but I would like to someday. A lot of authors there seem to have a lack of integrity, paying for reviews. I should think it would be easy to spot some of these fake reviews, however, because they are probably a generic template type. Thank you for sharing this information.

    • ChitrangadaSharan profile image

      Chitrangada Sharan 18 months ago from New Delhi, India

      Good hub in which you have pointed out the fake book reviews on Amazon stores!

      Although it is not surprising but it should be reported. People should be made aware about this. Some people would do anything for money and popularity.

      Thank you for sharing!

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      MsDora thank you and true of that. I appreciate you stopping by.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Hi FlourishAnyway I noticed you don't have a new hub, I appreciate you stopping by. It is sad that some of the reviews on Amazon stores are fake. Thank you

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Isaac Weithers 18 months ago from The Caribbean

      Dishonesty and greed find their way into everything. On some reviews, the author writes a disclaimer assuring the reader that there were no benefits for the review. That should be the law.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 18 months ago from USA

      It's pretty desperate to have to pay for a review. Interesting topic and observations!

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      emge thank you for commenting.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      suzettenaples You have written excellent and honest reviews as I have a few times in the past but to read of how others can use Fiver.com to charge for a dishonest review is pathetic. they are ruining the good opportunities left for Amazon.com. I am glad Amazon is cracking their system down surely. Thank you for commenting always appreciate it.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      always exploring, thank you for stopping by.

    • DDE profile image
      Author

      Devika Primić 18 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      billybuc, That is true comes as no surprise! Thank you.

    • emge profile image

      Madan 18 months ago from Abu Dhabi

      This is quite a reveation. Good you highlighted it.

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 18 months ago from Taos, NM

      I had no idea this was going on. Although it doesn't surprise me that there is dishonesty even in the Amazon book reviews. I am so sorry to hear this. I have written honest reviews for several people here on HubPages and I hope they have been taken seriously. Well, all we can do is our best and hope for the best!

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Fuller 18 months ago from Southern Illinois

      I agree with Bill. Some people will do anything for a dollar. Someone might like a book while others do not. I pay little attention to book reviews. Interesting topic....

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 18 months ago from Olympia, WA

      It doesn't surprise me at all that there are fake reviews. Show me an online system and I'm willing to bet people will find a way to cheat at it.