ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Fans of Justin Dean's Dog Man Is Back With Awesome Dog 5000 in Fun Chapter Book

Updated on August 19, 2020
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Awesome Dog 5000's New Adventures With a New Villain

Fun new read in a chapter book for fans of Justin Dean and Dog Man
Fun new read in a chapter book for fans of Justin Dean and Dog Man | Source

Fun Adventures With Awesome Robot Dog and Its Adventures With A Bossy Villain

Justin Dean's Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor BossyPants is a fun read for fans of Dog Man. Who doesn't think that a robot dog isn't a great dog to have around? Mayor BossyPants doesn't think that this robot dog is so wonderful and he decides to get rid of this nuisance. Marty, Ralph, and Skylar, the owners of Awesome Dog 5000, have their work cut out with this adventure that is about to begin. Dean begins by getting readers up to speed with all of these characters from his first book in case the young readers do not know about all of these characters and this robot dog. Awesome Dog caused some problems in the neighborhood in the past and they cannot let anyone know that the robot dog is ready ot be out and about again. Mr. BossyPants is the newly elected mayor and he is extremely busy with everything that he wants to do for the town. Mr. BossyPants is all about himself and wants all of the new things that he plans to do for the town to be all about him. The townspeople are not so sure that they like the new bossy mayor. The gang decides to put Awesome Dog into motion to thwart all of Mr. BossyPant's activities. Lots of problems begin and young readers will find Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor Bossypants to be a page-turner as they read to find out who wins the battle for the townspeople.

Dean adds a mystery code to be solved at the conclusion. Young readers must read all thirty chapters to find each emblem that is hidden throughout the town. Instructions are given in order to solve the code at the end of the story.

The black and white illustrations play a large part in the hilarity of these adventures. The illustrations are cartoon-like and fans of graphic novels will find the illustrations very entertaining.

Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor BossyPants was published by Random House Children's Books and is recommended for ages 8-12. It has an ISBN of 978-0-525-64485-9.

Hilarious Black and White Illustrations

just one of well-done black and white illustrations
just one of well-done black and white illustrations | Source
Source

Bring Awesome Dog Into the Classroom for Creative Activities

Teachers who teach reading and creative writing will want to bring Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor BossyPants into the classroom to enhance the reading experience of this fun chapter book. I used chapter books in my classroom for many types of activities for students to practice creative thinking when reading and writing.

*Assign Awesome Dog 5000 vs. Mayor BossyPants as a chapter book on your reading list. Students might like to read a few chapters each day. Students also enjoy practicing their skills in reading aloud. Assign partners to read aloud to each other as they go through this book.

*Engage students in a discussion about the problems that Mayor BossyPants creates for the town. How would they use the robot dog to go against this bossy mayor who wants to destroy the town?

*Assign a creative writing project for students to write their own version of using the robot dog to solve a problem.

*Bring in Legos for students to use in creating their own robot dog. You might also collect a variety of materials such as tubes, boxes, paper, foil, and markers for students to create their own robot dog.

*Who are the heroes in the story? The life lesson that Marty discovers is the lesson of facing your problems and doing what is right to fix the problem. The phrase "rising to the challenge" is used. Engage students in a discussion of how they rise to a challenging problem in their life.

*Students will enjoy looking for the emblem clues in each chapter to solve the code at the end of the story. Students might like to work in pairs to solve the code. Studnets might like to make this a contest for a class project to enhance the reading experience for this fun chapter book.

Enjoy!

© 2020 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)