ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels»
  • Fiction

Fantasy Books - New Releases Sept to Dec 2009

Updated on December 5, 2009

iLove Fantasy - Christmas Ideas

Well, we are now into December. Christmas fast approaches and last minute presents are still to be purchased. For those of you who have loved ones who enjoy reading Fantasy books, here are a few of the more eagerly awaited books, currently available for purchase.

The Gathering Storm - Robert Jordon & Brandon Sanderson

Tor Hardback Edition, released October 27th 2009

The Gathering Storm is the eagerly anticipated next book, in Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series. Sadly, Robert Jordan passed away in September 2007. Before he died, he spent months with Brandon Sanderson, going over his ideas for the remainder of the series.

Tarmon Gai'don looms as Rand - The Dragon Reborn - attempts to unite the world in preparation for the last battle. Egwene is still a captive of the White Tower, and war with the Seanchen grows closer.

Originally destined to be a single book entitled A Memory of Light, Brandon Sanderson has advised that the series is now likely to be concluded over 2 or even 3 books. The Gathering Storm is set to be the first of them, with the others due over the next few years.

Sookie Stackhouse Box Set - Charlaine Harris

Ace box set, released Sept 29th 2009

The True Blood television series has propelled Charlaine Harris into the spotlight. Based on her Sookie Stackhouse series, it chronicles the adventures of Sookie Stackhouse, an innocent waitress who can read minds, and the vampires Bill and Eric.

If you have been watching the series, then you will most certainly enjoy the books. Amazon are currently stocking a box set of the first 8 novels. The box set includes Dead Until Dark, Living Dead in Dallas, Club Dead, Dead to the World, Dead as a Doornail, Definitely Dead, All Together Dead, and From Dead to Worse. 2500 pages in all, according to the description.

The 9th book in the series, Dead and Gone, is also available for purchase in hardback, although not included in the box set.

An Echo in the Bone - Diana Gabaldon

Delacorte Press hardback edition, September 2nd 2009

An Echo in the Bone, is the 9th novel in Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. Set during the American Revolution, the story tells of Jamie Fraser, a Scottish man from the eighteenth century and his time travelling wife from the twentieth century Claire Randall.

Splitting between the Jamie and Claire's American civil war adventure, and the present day events taking place with their daughter Brianna. An Echo in the Bone is a worthy addition to the series, as it's four entwined story lines take you through an adventure in time.

Unseen Academicals - Terry Pratchett

Harper first edition, released October 6th 2009

Christmas isn't Christmas without a brand new Discworld novel by Terry Pratchett. Unseen Academicals brings the grand total for the series up to 37 hilariously funny fantasy books.

The book brings us back to the Unseen University of Ankh-Morpork and see the wizards entering a team into a street sport competition, in order to receive a large bequest. Containing football, fashion, and the usual dose of sharp wit, Unseen Academicals is definitely one for the Christmas stocking.

A Few More New Fantasy Releases

Tor Books have published a new Brandon Sanderson box set in time for Christmas. Released on the 3rd of November, The Mistborn Trilogy includes paperback editions of his bestselling series. Box set includes Mistborn, The Well of Ascension, and The Hero of Ages.

R.A. Salvator is one of the true greats of High Fantasy. His latest offering, book 3 of the Transitions series, was released in hardback on October 6th 2009. Published by Wizards of the Coast, The Ghost King concludes a fantastic trilogy.

Neil Gaiman is another of the Fantasy greats, winner of the World Fantasy award, the Hugo Award and Nebula Award. His new release Odd and the Frost Giants,  published by HaperCollins on 22nd of September, is a children's book inspired by Norse Mythology.

Mercedes Lackey released her first novel in 1987, based in the magical land of Vademar, the book became the start of a series that has spanned over 20 years. Changing the World: All-New Tales of Valdemar, published on December 1st, is a collection of short stories written by Mercedes Lackey, and several other Fantasy authors.

The final book on this list is a pop-up book, based on the smash musical Wicked. Released by DK Publishing on 21st September, Wicked The Musical : A Pop-Up Compendium of Splendiferous Delight and Thrillifying Intrigue features some of the best moments from the show, in wonderous pop-up form. Great for kids, and for adults who never grew up.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.