ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Friendship, Adventures, and Martians, Oh My, in New Book for Fans of Melissa Savage

Updated on October 7, 2018
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Adventures with Martians in a Fun New Read from Melissa Savage

Fun read for ages 8-12
Fun read for ages 8-12 | Source

Martians and Friendship

Melissa Savage's fun new read The Truth About Martians is a page-turner for ages 8-12 with adventures galore. Melissa tells a story of friendship along with the adventures that Mylo and his best friend Dibs encounter when they set out to explore the crash landing of a spaceship.

Mylo moved to New Mexico with his parents when he was six years old. He never could have imagined what the future would hold. The area of Roswell, New Mexico has always been a favored area for people who like to watch for spacecraft from outer space. Mylo has always been a fan of comic book adventures with space creatures, and one night his fantasy comes true when he and Dibs see fiery light streaks from the sky and one giant green object that looks like a giant green eyeball. Can it be Martians? Mylo has a list of things to take on his hunt for the Martians. The list includes a slingshot and a small American flag. Dibs and Mylo come across some pieces of metal and their excitement and curiosity are at a peak. All sort of clues are surrounding the metal. The ground is burned. And suddenly there it is-a real live flying saucer that could possibly contain dead Martians. A long thin hand appears and Mylo and Dibs see large black eyes watching them. They have to pull the Martian to safety! Mylo has a set of questions to ask the Martians, and he really wants to know if they know his hero Superman from his favorite comics. He also decides to ask if the Martians know God. The discovery has a twist and young readers will want to keep reading when Mylo gets a huge surprise. Mylo must help his new friend return home. He hates to see his new friends leave and when the last green light disappears, he is left with fond memories and a feeling of friendship for these space creatures. He is left with a special gift from his space friends and he knows that this gift will help with the sadness of losing them when they return to their home.

Savage includes an account of the actual story of Roswell and the spacecraft that is supposed to have landed there. Her Author's Note at the end of The Truth About Martians is an interesting read. The Truth About Martians was published by Crown Books for Young Readers, a division of Random House Children's Books. It is recommended for ages 8-12 and has an ISBN of 978-1-5247-0016-4.

Classroom Lessons from The Truth About Martians

Teachers who teach reading and history for students in the 3rd grade-middle school will want to add Savage's new book The Truth About Martians to a class reading list. Young readers will find this book to be a page-turner about the idea of aliens visiting the earth and the real-life story of an actual landing in New Mexico.

*Read The Truth About Martians in a group reading session with a few chapters read aloud each day. Students enjoy hearing a story read aloud and teachers might want to offer the chance for children to participate in reading this chapter aloud with their classmates. The book can also be assigned as an individual reading assignment for students to discuss after reading.

*Take a class poll of the number of students who may believe in the reality of space aliens. Brainstorm to get their thoughts about why they believe in space creatures who can actually visit us here on earth.

*Assign a creative writing assignment for students to explore their thoughts about space aliens. The Truth About Martians offers a fun writing opportunity in creativity.

*Provide extra reading material for students to read about the real-life story of the possibility that aliens visited the area of Roswell, New Mexico. Savage provides links that students can use to explore this story.

*Provide hands-on materials for students to construct their own spacecraft. Students might like to create their own space alien to go with their spacecraft. Have students create drawings of what they think a space alien might look like.

Beliefs in Aliens Who Might Visit Earth

Do you believe that there is life on other planets and that aliens have actually visited us here on earth?

See results

© 2018 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)