ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Genre Exposure: Post Apocalyptic Fiction

Updated on April 25, 2012

Book Covers

Hunger Games - Book 1
Hunger Games - Book 1
Emberverse - Book 1
Emberverse - Book 1
Vampire Earth - Book 1
Vampire Earth - Book 1

An Intro to Post Apocalyptic Fiction

What is a Genre Exposure?
Genre Exposure is a new set of hubs designed to help potential readers reach out into new genres. Some may have read a book or two in the genre and are seeking new entries for their collections. Others may simply be looking to expand their reading repertoire into a genre they don't have previous experience with. Or, maybe you just want to find some fun books to pass the time. In any event, read on for more information!

What is Post Apocalyptic Fiction?
Post Apocalyptic Fiction is a branch of Science Fiction that describes the destruction of civilization and/or the aftermath of those events. Some books deal directly with the end times, perhaps a meteor strike or a plague or even zombies. Other stories examine a distopian future where society has degraded. The key difference between classic science fiction and post apocalyptic fiction, is that the former highlights the advances of mankind, the leaps in technology and space travel, while the latter deals with the eventuality that everything mankind has build will one day implode on itself. Post Apocalyptic Fiction tends to be set in dark futures and usually include a great deal of violence and savagery. This is not a genre for the feint of heart, but it does include some great adventures for those brave enough to embark on the journey.

My Recommendations of Post Apocalyptic Fiction:
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: The Hunger Games is the series that his been on the tip of everyone's tongues in the past few months. While the books were written for a primarily young adult audience, which is traditionally about 12 - 18, the savage violence and authoritarian, post apocalyptic setting, have made the book perhaps one of the more controversial entries into the genre. The Hunger Games involves numerous elements found in post apocalyptic fiction. The book features elements found in classic science fiction literature, such as the overbearing Capitol city which controls the outlying districts and is constantly watching the residents of the nation (see 1984 by George Orwell and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley).

Dies the Fire by S. M. Stirling: Dies the Fire is an exploration into Post Apocalyptic Fantasy. While books like The Hunger Games deal with the idea of a future civilization, Dies the Fire looks at the actual apocalyptic event and the direct aftermath of it. The event in question mysteriously renders all internal combustion and solid state electronic useless, almost like the ultimate electromagnetic pulse, and effectively throws the world back into the dark ages. It is a story of modern people forced to adapt to new lives living much as they would have had they been born in the 12th century. This is a recommendation for anyone who already reads classic fantasy (Tolkien, Jordan, Feist, Martin).

Way of the Wolf by E. E. Knight: Way of the Wolf is an entry into Post Apocalyptic fiction that give a nod to military fiction. Fans of Tom Clancy and Dale Brown might be interested in starting out here in your journey through the post apocalyptic world. Way of the Wolf is also a great starting point for fans of supernatural fiction. The book, and those in the series after it, tell the story of an earth invaded by an alien force of vampires who suck the life forces from the humans over whom they rule. Small pockets of free humans dot the world and the story follows a protagonist in his fight against the alien vampiric overlords. This is a very dark series and the book are littered with gory fights to the death, cross country chases, and plenty of dismemberment and blood.

The Road by Cormac McCarthy: The Road is a literary piece of post apocalyptic fiction. While the three previous books are fast and action packed, The Road is a decidedly more sedate story that follows a man and his young son in their journey down the east coast of the United States following an apocalyptic disaster. The Road is a book that deals mainly with the internal human struggle to survive in a landscape no longer hospitable to life. While there are encounters with several other along the way, the book deals more with the psychological effects of solitude, responsibility, loss, and love. It is a very dark book and, at times, can feel very depressing, but it is also the kind of book that will likely be added to high school reading lists for future generations. This is a must read for anyone wanting a deeper glimpse into post apocalyptic fiction.

Wrap Up: Post Apocalyptic Fiction is a rapidly growing sub genre that is likely to see continued growth and mainstream coverage. The books listed above only represent a small slice of what's available in the genre and if you find yourself liking one of them, I would highly encourage you to reach out and explore other books in the genre. Watch for more Genre Exposure hubs, coming soon for Science Fiction, Fantasy, Alternate History, and Young Adult!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)