ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Graphic Novel Adventures With Saving an Overheated World and a Life Lesson

Updated on June 17, 2020
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

New Adventures as Oona Must Save an Overheated World from the Evil

the 4th installment from Mark and Alexis Siegler
the 4th installment from Mark and Alexis Siegler | Source

An Exciting Page-Turner in This 4th Installment From the Sieglers

Fans of Mark and Alexis Siegler's graphic novels will find their 4th installment 5 Worlds:The Amber Anthem to be a page-turner as they read to discover Oona's problem in discovering the correct beacon that must be found in order to save an overheated world. This adventure contains all of the magical elements of a perfect graphic novel with characters who have magical and creative names, awesomely beautiful illustrations, and large conversational bubbles. There is action and mystery throughout the story.

The world is overheating and Oona sets out to find all five light beacons with the colors of blue, white, red, yellow, and green. Oona's mission is to light the yellow beacon. One of these beacons is encased in an amber container. Lighting all of these beacons will bring balance back to the world and Oona must find the missing beacon. The amber case must be found. An evil robot is part of the adventure. Evil vs. good is the central theme, but there is life lesson to be found. The life lesson of "all the living" and its meaning that we are all in this together and everyone is the same is a lesson that young readers can use in our society now in these unprecedented times that we are now living in.

5 Worlds:The Amber Anthem received a special award as NPR's Great Read of the Year. It was published by Random House Children's Books and is recommended for ages 8-12. It has an ISBN of 9780593120552

Graphic Novel as Great Tool for Creative Lessons in the Classroom

Teachers who teach language arts and reading to ages 8-12 use graphic novels like 5 Worlds: The Amber Anthem to encourage the development of reading and writing skills. Graphic novels have all the elements need to encourage young readers in creativity and writing skills. Chapter books can be read through several weeks of lessons.

*Read 5 Worlds:The Amber Anthem as a group reading together through several weeks or as an individual reading assignment. Students enjoy the opportunity to improve reading skills and reading aloud when they read to each other.

*Assign a creative writing project for students to write about their favorite character from 5 Worlds. There is a variety of interesting characters, with both superheroes and evil personalities. Students might like to choose one from each category as a superhero vs. an evil character.

*Call attention to Oona's mission to light the yellow beacon. Assign a creative writing project for students to write their version of how they think this mission should be solved.

*Assign a creative writing project for students to practice writing conversation bubbles between the characters as Oona and her friends set out to find the beacon that is hidden in the amber case.

*Engage students in a discussion after reading with the life lesson of "all being in this together from the conclusion of the story. How can they relate this lesson to the times that we are living in now? The life lesson of everyone being all the same is also a part of this knowledge the Oona gathers along with her friends. Why is this an important lesson for students to learn?

*Divide the class into superheroes and evil characters for a dramatic reading activity. Choose a chapter each week for students to read the conversational bubbles to enhance their dramatic reading skills.

*Provide art materials for students to draw their own versions of some of the action from 5 Worlds: The Amber Anthem.

*Assign a creative writing activity for students to write about a magical land inhabited by characters like the Sallassi people. Encourage students to use descriptive words to describe their magical land.

*Assign a creative writing task for students to write their feelings about the life lesson of all being in this together and how they can use this life lesson in their world today in this unprecedented time that we are living in. How can this lesson improve our society, their relationships with their friends, and relationships with community?

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)