ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Hosting Jesus Book Review

Updated on May 20, 2019

About the book

Author: Jeffrey McClain Jones

Kindle Edition: 221 pages

Published: 2019


The Book

Hosting Jesus is the 6th book in the Seeing Jesus series of books. In this book we meet Philly again, who we first met in Seeing Jesus, which was the first book in the series. Since then, his life has moved on considerably and there have been lots of changes in his life. In Seeing Jesus Philly got to meet Jesus in the flesh and found out he had the gift of healing people. Of course, this changed his life forever.

Although Philly still believes in Jesus, his faith has been lacking a little bit lately. His life has had its fair share of tragedy and upset. His first wife passed away, and then he lost his job. With all this going on, it filled his mind with doubt. His current wife, Brenda, has been very supportive though. Although they still go to Church, this doesn't stop Philly from questioning his own faith at times.

Throughout the book, we see how Philly 'hosts' Jesus in his home. Although he doesn't physically see him in the flesh like last time, he can still feel his presence wherever he goes. Philly often goes down into the basement of their house where he has an armchair. Sometimes he can sense Jesus sitting there. Jesus communicates with Philly by speaking to him through his mind. Philly often wonders if this is Jesus talking, or whether it's his own thoughts, but at the back of his mind, he knows it's Jesus talking and guiding him. We get to witness how Philly struggles with his faith, and yet still finding the time to spend time with Jesus. Philly stills heals people when asked to. With Brenda and Philly expecting their 1st child, this is an exciting time for them. It is interesting to read about what Philly and Brenda are going through in both their personal and spiritual lives and how they continue to go to Church and strengthen their Christian faith.

My Thoughts

This is the 3rd book I have read in the Seeing Jesus series of books. I have read the first book about Philly, also called Seeing Jesus. I found this interesting to read and I read the book pretty quickly. Once I started reading it, I found I couldn't put it down as I wanted to know what happened next. As, no doubt, with any Christian, he struggles at times with his faith and questions it a lot. I love that Philly and Brenda have a loving relationship, and that they both support each other in different ways.

It took a while for Philly to find a church he would be settled and happy in, but I also think this can be the case for Christians in the real world. I found the book left me questioning my own faith. Although we can't physically see Jesus, he is there. It brings to light the importance of prayer and to talk to Jesus on a daily basis. Yes, it would be nice to be able to physically see Jesus, but we know he is there nonetheless.

The book isn't too long, and I like the fact that the chapters are quite short, so it is easy to read a part of the book and then go back to it later. This is an interesting follow-up book looking into Philly's life and how his life has changed since meeting Jesus and knowing he can heal people with the help of Jesus. Will there be another book about Philly? I'm not sure, but I like to think there would be.

© 2019 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • Eurofile profile image

      Liz Westwood 

      3 weeks ago from UK

      This is a great review. You have made me want to read this series.

    • The0NatureBoy profile image

      Elijah A Alexander Jr 

      3 weeks ago from Washington DC

      Because I am hosting the "Anointing" I know firsthand that the seemingly atrocities are lessons every hosted of the "anointing" must come to accept.

      When we go to man's eviction from "the Garden of God" we see a "flaming sword" that everyone who returns to the garden must pass through. The flame is there to smelt good into evil so together they becomes 'IT IS THAT IT IS' since the god within us say its name is I AM THAT I AM.

      The sword on which the flame is attached is for curing us away from all attachments. Do we remember where Jesus said the sword he brought is to, paraphrased, "destroy the family" and he admonished us to forsake everything civilization has to offer.

      The girl who became my second wife, as the author has, was the cause of me becoming conceived [it.ly/elijahbirth is my testimony] and eventually I walked away from her. That's said because it is a painful process to host "The Anointing" and anyone who ever attempts it MUST be willing to accept both opposites of all things less they fail to return to "The Garden Of God".

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 

      3 weeks ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      This seems to be an interesting book from your review. I would say, most people, in adverse circumstances, struggle to keep their faith in God. Thanks for this review.

    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      4 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for this review. Sounds like Philly is having a very interesting interaction with Jesus.

    • Tim Truzy info4u profile image

      Tim Truzy 

      4 weeks ago from U.S.A.

      Interesting book, Louise. Great review and it may be worth a read from me. Thanks. Respectfully, Tim

    • The0NatureBoy profile image

      Elijah A Alexander Jr 

      4 weeks ago from Washington DC

      In my 74+ years of hearing a or some voice since early childhood, probably less than one-year-old, that continues even to this day [my testimony is bit.ly/elijahbirth] I have never known any voice to identify itself. My voice(s) only answered requests or gave me directions which my obedience (in one case disobedience) have proven to be in my best interest. I have never heard anyone "born of the spirit" say Jesus speaks to them. The one I admonished to talk to his higher self for about an hour only called the voice he heard, but I didn't being less than two feet away, God once he obeyed it. I witnessed his deliverance from alcohol addition without a physical reactions which he had asked me to help him do.

      To me it is strange to hear anyone say they were talking to Jesus. My reason is Jesus is a pseudonym for two different people, "the 'rod' out of the stem of Jesse, and a 'Branch' ... out of his roots", per Isaiah 11:1, so which Jesus did he speak to. The Jesus the Bible say has ascended is said will only return in the air and rapture the people is the Rod, while the Branch (Rev. 5:5 & 12) has yet to be revealed. Although the reading of his books series may be interesting they don't agree with the reading of the scriptures.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      4 weeks ago from Houston, TX USA

      If I ever get the chance to speak with Jesus I would like to know why He thought His Father wanted Him to be crucified. Forgiveness removes sin, not sacrifice. Why didn't Jesus simply forgive everyone? Why was a crucifixion needed?

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)