ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

I Am Not a Serial Killer, a Book Review

Updated on April 29, 2018
PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

Justin W. Price, AKA PDXKaraokeGuy, is a freelance writer, blogger, and award-nominated author based out of Juneau, Alaska.

The Vitals

I am Not a Serial Killer by first time author Dan Wells

288 pgs, 2009 Tor (UK), 2010 Headline (US)

overall rating 23/35



Source
John Wayne Gacy Jr.
John Wayne Gacy Jr. | Source
Author Dan Wells
Author Dan Wells | Source
The Son of Sam, David Berkowitz
The Son of Sam, David Berkowitz | Source

I Am Not a Serial Killer By Dan Wells A Review


I am Not a Serial Killer starts with an interesting premise: fifteen year old John Wayne Cleaver believes he is destined to become a serial killer. As such, he lives by a rigid, almost religious; set of rules to prevent him from acting on what he believes is his destiny. He has many reasons for this belief: he is a bed wetter, a pyro and he has a past of being cruel to animals. 95% of all serial killers share these traits. Also, his name is John Wayne, which he attributes to being a reference to clown serial killer John Wayne Gacy. Also, his last name of Cleaver which is obviously a tool that can be sued to killing and his dad is named Sam which, of course, makes him the “Son of Sam”.

Whew. Okay. That's a pretty heavy burden for anyone, let alone a fifteen year old boy, to bear.

These are all interesting and had me hooked. First time author Dan Wells obviously did his homework, from the embalming process (Young Cleaver’s mother conveniently owns a mortuary and he goes into great detail about the embalming process.) to the psyche of serial killers. He weaves the details into his story flawlessly and without grossing out the reader. The first 1/3rd of the book demonstrates this skill.

However, the final 2/3rds lost me a bit. See, there’s a serial killer in town and we find out early on who it is, and, while this is disappointing, the identity of the serial killer is also disappointing and, without giving away too much, it delves into the realm of fantasy. It was quite disappointing and, even though I discovered after reading the book that the book is actually considered young adult fiction (I bought it the “regular” fiction section) the last two thirds of the book was a bit of a cop out, copycat.

Not that I wasn’t entertained, I was. Wells is clearly skilled at writing detail and introspection, but he is not nearly as skilled in dialogue, originality and action, which are equally important.

The book reads fast but fizzles out at the end and suffers from a poor editor, who missed some obvious grammar and chronological details, and probably needed to see one more draft with some minor edits before hitting the printer.

But, it was entertaining and I can recommend the book if you’re looking for an easy to read and get lost in a holiday escape. Once you accept who the audience for this book is, you can find yourself enjoying the book and actually rooting for our confused narrator.

I'm sure this book would appeal to young fans of R.L. Stine and the target demographic, but, Stephen King and Dean Koontz do it better. Stick with them. If you're looking for a new author, however, you could do worse.

This is the first book in a trilogy.

Writing/Editing Quality: 4/10

Entertainment quality: 18/20

Originality: 1/5

Total Rating: 23/35


Thanks for Reading.

Purchase This and the rest of the trilogy:

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      5 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Tebo, there's certainly a market for YA fiction and there's a lot of great writers in this genre (RL Stine, for example) but, this book was not marketed that way, and that was my major gripe with it.

    • tebo profile image

      tebo 

      5 years ago from New Zealand

      This is a great review. I have to admit that the books my teenage son (when he was a teenage son) brought home from school as class readers were always attractive to me. I read them so I could help him analyse them if necessary, but they were great! Really enjoyed them.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Deborah, that's a great comment. You really can't ever have enough. it's so true. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Deborah Brooks profile image

      Deborah Brooks Langford 

      6 years ago from Brownsville,TX

      thanks for the book review.. this subject does fascinate me..I think I will try some of the books.. I feel like you cant have enough books. I Voted up and awesome..

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      ardie, i got your e mail. I'll respond shortly!

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 

      6 years ago from Neverland

      Ok will do! I would rather help out a fellow writer :) and I'm just a poor girl so I am looking for used... if I like it I will buy the other two new to support the author.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      ardie, no. Hubpages approves these links so it should be a tos violation. If you go the used route, look for the one offered by jabba4solo. That's me. I'm charging $4.99 for it.

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 

      6 years ago from Neverland

      Heeeeey, I am indeed interested but I'm afraid to click your link to take me there. Does that violate any TOS if I buy the product? Assuming yours is the one listed above.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thanks, beata. i feel it was interesting, but I also think it suffered from lazy writing. Let me know if you check it out! Feel free to use my links!

    • Beata Stasak profile image

      Beata Stasak 

      6 years ago from Western Australia

      It is not easy to keep the reader's attention and you have done just that, great review on an interesting book:)

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Ardie, thank you. Let me know what you think. I'm selling my copy on amazon, if you're interested in that one :-)

      Thanks Gypsy, Stephen King is great, but most of his movies don't translate into great movies. It's kind of a shame (GReen Mile, Shawshank Redemption and The Shining being notable exceptions)

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 

      6 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      Stephen Kings my absolute favorite but if I ever decide to give this book a try I'll buy it. Great review!

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 

      6 years ago from Neverland

      Good review! I'm constantly searching for new things to read :) The idea behind the book sounds most interesting but now Im a little unsure about the end as you described it. Oh, heck! Im still going to read it. AND Im off to look at your other older hubs to see if you have more reviews.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Carlon, that's m,y problem too. I feel like my novel, What happens When You Don't Know Anything, was better before I knew how it was going to end. Once I learned the ending, I feel like I started rushing to get there. That is, perhaps, why i haven't yet finished it. I don't want my readers to feel robbed. i want them to enjoy the journey.

      Ruby, I'm with you. i find that psyche fascinating!

      Thank you both for reading and commenting

    • always exploring profile image

      Ruby Jean Richert 

      6 years ago from Southern Illinois

      There's something about serial killers that fascinate me. I know that sounds weird but it's true. So i probably would read this book. Nice review....

    • Carlon Michelle profile image

      Carlon Michelle 

      6 years ago from USA

      Nice review. I personally hate when writing gets slow or boring after a great moving introduction. It's like they had this great idea and didn't know where to take it and just dropped the ball in order to make a deadline. It is also why I've never completed a book, I don't like when my stories get stale and I don't know where to take the story. I don't want to drop the ball on my reader and make them sorry they picked up the book. I also don't want to just be a commercial writer but one that moves my audience to think. But I guess this man did good because he did manaage to get published. If I could stomach murder mysteries and suspense novels I'm sure I'd check into it. For now I'll be happy to just read your reviews of them. Smile!

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Mary, I don't believe I am any kind of woman, let alone wonder woman! It helps that I only need 6 hours of sleep a night. 18 hours days are bound to be more productive then 16 hour days. Thanks for reading.

      Thanks Jen. Let me know if you decide to take a flier on this book.

      Sligo, thanks very much for stopping by. Always nice to see you.

    • sligobay profile image

      sligobay 

      6 years ago from east of the equator

      This is a good review of an interesting book and topic. Thanks.

    • profile image

      jenubouka 

      6 years ago

      Cool, I will head over and take a look, Thanks!

    • mary615 profile image

      Mary Hyatt 

      6 years ago from Florida

      Good Morning! How in the world do you have time to read and write all the great Hubs you do? You must be wonder woman! I don't have time to read anymore. Good book review, though. I've only done one, would like to do more when I can find the time. Have a great day.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      6 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Jen, I just listed my copy on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/offer-listing/B0058M77LK/... look for the one for $4.99 and offered by Jabba4solo.

      Subron, I look forward to reading yours when it's done. I like Koontz as well :-)

    • SubRon7 profile image

      James W. Nelson 

      6 years ago from eastern North Dakota

      Interesting stuff, KaraokieGuy, you appear to know what you're talking about. And since my new novel is about--not really a serial killer. Don't quite know how to describe it. Definitely a koontz fan.

    • profile image

      jenubouka 

      6 years ago

      Great review and darn you for the King list, I now just found 4 books I need.....

      The book does sound interesting I do like a good read and do need a break from King novels time to time.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)