ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

InfoBarrel Review for Writers

Updated on November 5, 2014

Read a review of InfoBarrel.com for writers wanting to make money writing online. If you write articles for money, read this review before writing on InfoBarrel.

InfoBarrel.com Review for Writers
InfoBarrel.com Review for Writers

Can You Write Articles for Money on InfoBarrel?

Writers who want to make money on the Internet often look for content sites where they can write articles for money. Of the many options available, InfoBarrel was a popular choice before the Google Panda Algorithm killed much of the traffic in 2011.

I was recently contracted to write an extensive InfoBarrel review to analyze how the site is faring in 2014. What I discovered will shock you if you are writing content for this site. For the benefit of fellow content creators, I'll cut to the chase in this short review and tell you just one obvious reason why your articles will not get traffic from search engines if you publish them on InfoBarrel:

Search engines are no longer indexing content on InfoBarrel.com.

How do I know this? View for yourself:

Bing Cache of InfoBarrel.com Homepage
Bing Cache of InfoBarrel.com Homepage

The image above is a screen shot of the cache showing what the Bing search engine indexes on the homepage of InfoBarrel.com. It is a blank page. In other words, nothing on the site's homepage is indexed by Bing. Bing is the search engine which also delivers the results for searches people make through Yahoo.com.

Google's cache of the homepage shows the same results, with a list of broken parameter strings to boot.

Here is the Google cache of an article on InfoBarrel which was written sometime in October and featured on the site's homepage on November 5, 2014:

Google Cache of InfoBarrel.com Article
Google Cache of InfoBarrel.com Article

Again, Google shows nothing but a blank page in its index for this writer's article.

There Is No Search Engine Traffic to InfoBarrel

Why is there no search engine traffic to InfoBarrel? If there is no content stored in the indexes of search engines, no results from the website will be delivered as an answer to a query on a search engine results page. The obvious reason is that a blank page does not answer a user's query. I have yet to find a single article on the site which has its content indexed by Google or Bing.

But, you are probably wondering, since there really is content on the homepage of the site and on individual articles pages, why can't search engines index the information? The simple answer is that the webmaster of the site hasn't allowed recent indexing by search engines.

Until just a few hours ago today on November 5, 2014 – in the programming code on the site and on every article – was the directive notifying search engines that they were forbidden from indexing any content on the website. This was implemented by use of a 'robots.txt' file. Viewing the source code of a page, I found this:

Disallow: /protected

Search engines will not index any content which has this coding. Of course, this doesn't prevent hackers and others from bypassing this protocol, but it does stop the software used by most search engines.

Make Money Writing Online (Work from Home as a Writer Book 1)
Make Money Writing Online (Work from Home as a Writer Book 1)

Click to look inside this book for a free preview.

 

How did this happen? It was done deliberately and I can think of three possibilities as to why this happened.

The first possibility is that the site was hacked. In another matter, someone posted on the InfoBarrel forum that the site might have malware installed. Co-founder Ryan McKenzie gave this response on November 2, 2014:

"We haven't been hacked. A switch blew at our server facility. Things should be fine now."

A second possibility is that it was a programming mistake. Sometimes a programmer will block access to a site while changes are being made and then forget to turn the access back on. However, that is a mistake only amateurs make. The site boasts that co-founder Kevin Hinton has "over 10 years experience developing software for the web."

It is inexplicable to me that the site owners would not have noticed for months that search engine traffic had dried up and that they would not have looked for a reason.

There is a third possibility and that is that the webmasters did not want search engines to index the site's content. Why would that be? Here, I can only guess.

In January, 2014, McKenzie and Hinton joined with two other men to create a company called My Passion Media. This new entity now owns the InfoBarrel site, publishes print magazines and five new websites:

canadiantraveller.net
explore-mag.com
exploretheusa.com
environment911.org
pawmanefin.com

The websites cover the travel industry, pets and the environment. It might be no coincidence that these three topics are the same that InfoBarrel is asking writers to concentrate on now for featuring on the homepage in December. Perhaps indexing content on InfoBarrel conflicts with the present goals of ownership. I find it interesting to note that all five of the new websites are fully indexed by Google.

Can You Make Money on the Internet Writing for InfoBarrel?

The website offers to pay writers 75% of its income from ads on the site. However, that doesn't mean much if the site has no traffic. Without organic traffic from search engines, you have to somehow generate your own traffic to your articles through social media or links from other sites.

If you have to generate your own traffic, you would do much better to promote traffic to your own websites instead of to single articles you publish on InfoBarrel. There aren't many writers who have the time to market individual articles on Facebook, blogs or forums. Without traffic from search engines, the revenue-sharing split to the writer is insignificant.

I don't have content published on the site but, if I did, I would remove it immediately until the indexing situation is resolved.

To learn more about the mindset behind this site and have a better understanding of its development, watch this video by Ryan McKenzie from 2010:

Share Don't Copy.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Rachael Tate profile image

      Rachael Tate 2 years ago from England

      I guess I won't be checking out Infobarrel anytime soon then. Interesting and Useful.

    • LindaSmith1 profile image

      LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

      Whoa!!!! I wonder if content is not indexed because somebody, let's say is borrowing the content on the site. If it is not indexed, does that mean that content borrowed for another site will not be seen as duplicate content by Google.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Rachael, I'm glad you found this information before wasting your time writing there. Maybe the situation will turn around someday, but right now I cannot recommend it as a site to make money writing articles.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Linda, You are right that if the content is not indexed it can be published somewhere else without it being seen as duplicate. Which, of course, is a little dangerous for the authors of the articles on InfoBarrel. It will be difficult for them to prove they own the content if it is published elsewhere.

    • AngelesF profile image

      AngelesF 2 years ago from Castilla y León

      Very interesting, and thanks for sharing. I have never thought about that before!

    • colorfulone profile image

      Susie Lehto 2 years ago from Minnesota

      I thought about trying out InfoBarrel at one time, because an old online friend recommended it highly (over a year ago). After reading this, I am glad that I did not follow through and take the gamble. Thank you!

    • LindaSmith1 profile image

      LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

      I wrote there for a bit, but smelled a skunk. I quickly dumped Infobarrel. My issue with them was they require x amount of articles to be approved first, which they do. Then every article after that suddenly does not pass muster with them. Hopefully, many writers will read this article, grab their articles and jump ship, while others won't bother to board ship now.

    • Mel92114 profile image

      Mel92114 2 years ago

      Thanks for this, Writer Fox. I've been looking into InfoBarrel but have yet to write anything there, thanks to this information, I'll not be wasting my time. Perhaps they'll change someday.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      Wow, this truly is shocking. But exactly what I needed to know. I definitely won't write any more articles there and now I need to do something about the articles I do have there.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi AngelsF and Susie Colorfulone: I'm glad you both found this article. Susie, your friend probably gave you good advice at the time, but this is not the right time to post on that site. I hope you'll share this article with your friend because she probably doesn't realize why she doesn't have traffic from Google to her articles.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi AngelsF and Susie Colorfulone: I'm glad you both found this article. Susie, your friend probably gave you good advice at the time, but this is not the right time to post on that site. I hope you'll share this article with your friend because she probably doesn't realize why she doesn't have traffic from Google to her articles.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Linda, The site does monitor its content very closely and that is actually a good thing. I don't know, of course, which articles you found problematic to publish there. I think there is definitely room on the market for another good user-generated content site because many writers are looking for alternatives now.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Mel, I'm glad you found this information before wasting your time. If the site turns around, I'm sure we will all hear about it. Right now, I'm not holding my breath.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Nate, I'm sorry to know that you have content published there right now. But, at least you know why your articles were not getting traffic. Do you know when you last received a view from a search visitor? I'd be interested in knowing that, if you can remember.

      There are probably hundreds of writers who have content there and haven't a clue. Maybe you'll post a link to this article on the InfoBarrel forum and ask for some explanation from the owners.

    • colorfulone profile image

      Susie Lehto 2 years ago from Minnesota

      Good idea to share the link with my friend, and also on G+.

      Thanks!

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Thank you, Susie, for sharing this. The writers need to know. I also hope they will ask for some explanation from the owners.

    • NathaNater profile image

      NathaNater 2 years ago

      According to Google Analytics, I got organic traffic on Nov. 2nd. Before that, I had one on Oct. 29.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Nathan. Does it say that the traffic was sent from Google and for what search terms? If traffic was from Google+, it was from a user following a link and the links still work. Google will also index the URL if the link is found elsewhere on the Web.

      I just checked your Profile there, and the last time Google crawled it was on October 2 and it shows a blank page for the cache. I also checked your ten articles there and they all show a blank page for the cache. Here are the dates of the last Google crawl for your articles there:

      Big Brawl: 28 Oct 2014

      Martial Arts Movies: 20 Oct 2014

      Get Rid of Wasps: 19 Oct 2014

      Sinus Headache: 2 Oct 2014

      Karate Man: 23 Oct 2014

      Inconsiderate People: 30 Aug 2014

      Aging Parent: 30 Sep 2014

      Gangs of New York: 9 Oct 2014

      Martial Arts for MMA: 7 Oct 2014

      I don't know what statistics you are looking at, but you can check the search terms and your rankings on Google in Analytics and Webmaster Tools and see if your articles are ranking for anything.

    • ologsinquito profile image

      ologsinquito 2 years ago from USA

      This is truly shocking if, in fact, there is no indexing. It would partially explain the lack of traffic. After I saw this article, I logged in to Infobarrel and found that one of my articles is showing just shy of 500 visitors from Nov. 1-4. I don't know where they're coming from.

      How can I tell if my articles are being crawled?

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Ologsinquito: Do the site statistics tell you where your views are from? Was the article shared on Facebook, Twitter or Pinterest? Are you set up with Google Analytics for your account there?

      You could try putting the URL of the article into the search box on Google and see what turns up. If links are being posted to the article, you should be able to find something there. Also, you can search by using the URL with

      Links:

      in front of it.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      I was using Google Analytics: Acquisition to Keywords to Organic.

      Under source it's showing Bing, Yahoo and Google. Showing keywords for two of them, (not provided) for one.

      I don't think I can use Webmaster Tools with my InfoBarrel account. They let you hook up to Analytics, but they have no option to hook up to Webmaster Tools. I figured they'd have to put code on the site for Webmaster Tools, so I haven't tried that there. Unless you can use Analytics to connect to Webmaster Tools.

    • NateB11 profile image

      Nathan Bernardo 2 years ago from California, United States of America

      I checked to see if some of those pages were cached, and I see what you mean they are not. That is weird. This is also a little weird: Zero time on page for all of those pages of mine that were visited. Zero on average session duration. 100% bounce rate on all that too. But I'm almost certain it wasn't like that a month or two ago. But it might be I had seen internal traffic stats back then, not sure.

      Also, only one social media share and one page view from it; that was from me, I shared one of the articles on Facebook.

    • junecampbell profile image

      June Campbell 2 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

      But what could their motive be? Assuming that infobarrel put up the robots.txt File deliberately, that would mean they don't have to share their ad revenue and could keep it all. However, without traffic, the advertisers would soon pull out, meaning there is no revenue. Without revenue, the site would be losing money. So it would imply that info barrel deliberately shot themselves in the foot. Why would they do that? Why not just shut the site down or sell it? It makes no sense to me. Do you have any theories?

    • ologsinquito profile image

      ologsinquito 2 years ago from USA

      WriterFox, I hadn't set up Google Analytics for IB and until recently had barely been logging in. One of my referrals has been writing up a storm, and I've been earning money from his articles. I was surprised to see so many visitors.

      When I checked the internal IB stats, it appears as if it's been going on a little longer than a Facebook burst of traffic. I'll have to keep an eye on it.

      I'll try the URL to see what turns up.

      Are you saying that yesterday, after your article was published, the indexing function was turned back on?

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 2 years ago from USA

      So underhanded! I don't even write on that site and it makes me miffed for those writers. Sharing so other writers can know about this!

    • profile image

      Sem 2 years ago

      If you want to see if a site has been indexed simply go to Google and type "site:infobarrel.com". The site has been indexed quite a lot.

    • PurvisBobbi44 profile image

      PurvisBobbi44 2 years ago from Florida

      Hi Writer Fox,

      I am so happy you wrote this article because many are looking for a place to go.

      We appreciate all the information you give us--I would be lost without your informative hubs.

      Have a great day.

      Bobbi Purvis

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Nate, Thanks for your input again. Even when search engines are blocked, your article can still hold its previous ranking on SERPs for quite some time so long as the URL is still alive. New articles, however, do not have that advantage.

      But the InfoBarrel site has other coding problems as well, too many to go into much detail here, though. It's got blocking script and blocking CSS resources above-the-fold, which cause a delay in rendering the page. It has problems with compressing resources and browser caching. There are also problems with Google hosted libraries (ajax/libs/jquery). Markup validation shows 57 errors and 5 warnings.

      Taken together, these problems make it quite difficult for articles to rank well on SERPS, unless they are about very obscure keyword phrases, because competitive websites do not have excessive errors in code.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi June, Yes, I have a few theories. But, the only person/people who really know the answer are the webmaster/s. And, I will point out again, that the new sites (listed above) which the new group has developed do not have these problems.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Ologsinquito, I sent Ryan McKenzie an email from the 'contact' on the site and explained that he had 'Disallow: /protected' blocking the homepage and all articles. This was BEFORE I published this article.

      Now, the code has been removed. I know that you and many other writers here publish content on a handful of writing sites and I don't know how you can keep up with all of them! But, it would be worth your time to keep an eye on your content on InfoBarrel and make sure that coding doesn't mystically reappear.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Flourish, Thank you for sharing this with other writers. This particular site has been discussed in the forums before. You might want to check out these threads, too:

      http://hubpages.com/forum/topic/126012

      http://hubpages.com/forum/topic/123351

    • ologsinquito profile image

      ologsinquito 2 years ago from USA

      Hi WF, thanks for the info. This is curious, to say the least, and I'm waiting for Ryan to respond on the IB forum. Irony of ironies, yesterday was my single biggest earning day on IB, with that one article that's doing well.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Sem, Yes, the site has been indexed because it's been online since 2008. See my comments to Nate, above, to understand more how this works and why new articles were particularly vulnerable.

    • junecampbell profile image

      June Campbell 2 years ago from North Vancouver, BC, Canada

      I do t see how anyone could trust that site ever again, at least not with the current owners. I have never written there, thank goodness. This makes our boy Seth look almost saintly.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Thank you, Bobbi. The era of the User Generated Content (UGC), multi-topic site is dwindling. If you are looking for other avenues, I suggest you look for single-purpose topic sites. For example, I often contribute to SeekingAlpha.com. They pay money upfront (sometimes a few hundred dollars) and $10 per CPM for the content. There are many, many other such sites.

    • Buildreps profile image

      Buildreps 2 years ago from Europe

      Hi WF, we're glad you're back! We've missed you. Do you know there's even a forum out there about you were missing. Everyone was worried. Nice Hub, btw.

    • bravewarrior profile image

      Shauna L Bowling 2 years ago from Central Florida

      I never heard of this site, but now I know to stay away from it!

    • David Stone1 profile image

      David Stone 2 years ago from New York City

      A major problem is that you cannot delete IB content yourself. You have to ask the admins to do it, and in my experience, they ignore your request. I dropped them after having an experience like that.

    • Marie Flint profile image

      Marie Flint 2 years ago from Jacksonville, Florida USA

      Very informative, Writer. I hadn't heard of InfoBarrel, let alone think about writing there.

      I'm not sure what direction to take with my writing. I'll try to finish my goal of 72 hubs (12 topics X 6 allowed for "In the Spotlight," which I understand is not the major instrument in getting traffic).

      One day at a time. ***

    • PurvisBobbi44 profile image

      PurvisBobbi44 2 years ago from Florida

      Thanks Writer Fox, and I wish I could beam you to my computer room to ask as many questions as possible. Thanks for all your help.

      Bobbi Purvis

    • Iris Draak profile image

      Cristen Iris 2 years ago from Boise, Idaho

      Wow. I hadn't heard of them but this piqued my interest. It does smell of rat, does it not? Very interesting. Thank you for a very interesting and useful article, I voted so.

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 2 years ago from Orlando Florida

      I have never heard of InfoBarrel. It seems I wasn't missing out on anything. thanks for the review.

    • ologsinquito profile image

      ologsinquito 2 years ago from USA

      WriterFox, the IB site owner believes it could be due to a server problem. There are some technical difficulties on IB that everyone is well aware of, which are being addressed. I've always had good dealings with him in the past.

    • Barbara Kay profile image

      Barbara Kay Badder 2 years ago from USA

      I have a couple of articles there that get almost no traffic. I guess I'll have them moved. This is hard to believe and terrible!

    • Barbara Kay profile image

      Barbara Kay Badder 2 years ago from USA

      They have 2 threads on their forums about your hub. One is an explanation.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Barbara, Ryan responded to this article on my Google+ page and you can read his comments here:

      https://plus.google.com/u/0/112916843659539634920/...

      For your information, the articles I removed (referred to in my comments on that post) were republished on HubPages within three hours without any duplicate content problems, because they were never indexed by Google when they were on IB!

    • brakel2 profile image

      Audrey Selig 2 years ago from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

      Hi Writer Fox - You did a great job reviewing InfoBarrel. It does not seem like the place to be for writers. I appreciate your finding the information and posting it on this site. I hope that this writing site stays afloat, but it seems to keep going in spite of all obstacles. Your writing continues to be filled with information and attracting readers. I miss you with your help and input in the forum and hope to see you back in the fold soon. Tale care. Blessings, Audrey

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Audrey: People on the Infobarrel forum are reporting that it can now take more than 9 days to have an article approved. The site doesn't appear to have the full attention of its owners.

      Also noted, the author information given to search engines is in the names of the owners of Infobarrel, not the people who actually wrote the content.

      Quantcast is estimating that traffic to the entire site is only 27,000 per month now!

      As for HP: The new added content from the Squidoo transfer is down to about 63,000 new Hubs from 175,000 which were transferred originally and traffic to HP is still lower than it was before the transfer. With stats not updated for a week, HP is losing the attention of many.

    • subeesh4n profile image

      Subeesh Krishnan T K 2 years ago from India

      Nowadays more revenue sharing freelance writing websites are arising, but of low standard articles. But they are getting indexed in the search engines. How is this happening ?

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Subeesh,

      The sites with low quality content don't have much traffic from search engines. Google will index almost every site, but indexing and ranking are two different things. There are still some great revenue sharing sites (several in India), just not as many successful ones as there used to be. I appreciate your comment.

    • peachpurple profile image

      peachy 2 years ago from Home Sweet Home

      I tried infibarrel once but they rejected me, why?

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi PeachPurple,

      I have no idea why they rejected you. You could ask on their forum or send an email from the Contact page.

    • LindaSmith1 profile image

      LindaSmith1 2 years ago from USA

      I took all of my content off of there long ago.

      The issue is the editors. One will reject an article, another will pass it on through and then another comes along and unpublishes it. They make no sense at all there, worse than HP with their unfeaturing hubs for low quality then making Hubs for Hub of The Day that is loaded with errors in it.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Linda,

      I think InfoBarrel did a lot better when it first started than it is doing now. If you look at the forum on that site, it's not very active. If people are making decent money for the time/effort involved in writing for a site, they will stay even with bad editorial decisions. When people stop making money, they leave.

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 2 years ago from England

      Wow! what a waste of time writing there then! can I say how stupid it is? yep, stupid! having to keep pumping their own work through twitter etc and not having any google search is just plain nuts! thank goodness I don't write there! Great info!

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Nell,

      I know HP has seen better days, but it gets a ton more traffic than InfoBarrel ever did. It's a site that just never caught on, which is why the owners have recently launched a handful of single-topic sites. Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment. I appreciate that!

    • RTalloni profile image

      RTalloni 2 years ago from the short journey

      Obviously, from the comments, your work here is much appreciated. Thanks for putting what you learned together in a hub for the benefit of other writers. I've not explored other sites for writing in some time, but still found this very insightful and useful.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi RTalloni,

      With over 200 articles published here, I think you've found the best site for yourself! I appreciate your feedback on this and thanks for the complements.

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 2 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      I have registered with Infobarrel for some time now but I just haven't written any article there. I was glad I read this.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Aesta1, That site just doesn't get much traffic. I think you will do much better elsewhere. Also, you can only remove articles from that site by emailing the manager and hoping he will honor your request.

    • PinoyMom profile image

      Shiela Gerona 2 years ago from Philippines

      I haven't tried Infobarrel. I would like to earn from what I write online because I put effort into it - getting traffic from Google is beneficial because of unique views coming from the audience. Good to know some details about that site.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi PinoyMom,

      I'm glad this information helped you. People writing for revenue-sharing don't appear to make much money on InfoBarrel. I suggest you continue working on HubPages. Good luck to you and I hope you will be successful writing online.

    • RonElFran profile image

      Ronald E. Franklin 2 years ago from Mechanicsburg, PA

      Here's an update: just today I did Google searches on sentences in several articles featured on the InfoBarrel home page. These were articles published in January, so there's been plenty of time for them to be indexed - but only one of four was found by Google. It would certainly be interesting to know what's going on. Whatever the reason for some articles there not being indexed, it appears to still be in effect.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Thank you very much, Ron, for posting that update here. InfoBarrel has been unable to improve its traffic numbers from search engines and, therefore, I do not recommend that writers waste their time publishing there.

    • profile image

      calculus-geometry 2 years ago

      I did a check just now and all my infobarrel articles are indexed if I search by adding "site:infobarrel.com"and my IB username to my query. That means whatever coding problem they had has been rectified. But searching natrually they don't show up for many pages. That means their more serious SEO and ranking problem is still, well, a problem.

      For me, it's not worth moving my articles off the site because I still make payout once in a while, and none of them are a good fit for my own sites or my HP account. But I don't plan to write anything more for that site until it returns to Google's good graces.

    • Shil1978 profile image

      Shil1978 2 years ago

      I never knew this about InfoBarrel. I just tried then once about a couple of years back and it never seemed to work for me. I also found the ability to not be able to delete articles myself quite annoying - the fact that you needed to contact staff multiple times to get it done!

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Shil: Deleting articles is a constant complaint from writers who have tried InfoBarrel. The site wasn't even online on March 5, 6, and 7th. Plus the fact that writers don't make much money when the site is up and running is enough to keep most HP writers away.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 2 years ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Calculus: I certainly agree that InfoBarrel has problems with Google. If you have no other place to post your work on IB, you might as well leave the articles there. That way, you can prove your ownership of the work until you find a better venue.

      Thanks for leaving comments about your experience!

    • starme77 profile image

      starme77 24 months ago

      I looked into infobarel and basically all I can say is if it sounds to good to be true - then it most likley is . 75% payout seems a bit to good to be true. In signing up they now disallow your google ad sense code and basically use theirs to put ads on your articles - dosn't make much sense to me

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 24 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      75% of not much is not much!

      The don't qualify for the AdSense app because they don't have enough daily visitors to the website. That whole site receives less views per month than my small number of articles here on HubPages!

      Just look at how inactive the forum is on InfoBarrel and compare that to the writer's forum here.

    • starme77 profile image

      starme77 24 months ago

      "75% of not much is not much!" Haha - Your absolutly correct on that one. Hit the nail on the head!

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 24 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      You'll find that a lot, if not most, of the writers on that site cannot qualify for their own AdSense accounts and that's why they are there instead of on HubPages.

    • Marisa Wright profile image

      Marisa Wright 19 months ago from Sydney

      Infobarrel is about to launch a new incarnation - I've been getting emails foreshadowing the launch. It would be interesting to know what you think of it.

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 19 months ago from New Jersey

      Hi Writer Fox,

      About three years ago I wrote the obligatory amount of articles to be accepted on IB. Although I worked hard and did get some attention for my writing there, I never made a cent and soon had no traffic beyond people from the site wanting to see who a new person was. I smelled a rat and stopped writing, and finally it took me six months to get them to close my A/C. As Marisa says, I'm getting bombarded with emails, something about a relaunch of the site.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 19 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      The site is doomed and has been for a long time. What is said is that the emails they are sending out is for a new online marketing program. Be glad you got your content back when you did, Jean.

    • brakel2 profile image

      Audrey Selig 19 months ago from Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

      Hi Writer Fox - Too bad about this site. It is so great to see you back, as we have missed you. Your help has always been appreciated. Stay safe. Blessings, Audrey

    • Jean Bakula profile image

      Jean Bakula 19 months ago from New Jersey

      Hello again Writer Fox,

      Yes, I am happy I got my account deleted, I was really writing quite a lot around the time I was on IB, and want to put some of the material in other places. Who knows, maybe once they make changes, it will improve, though online writing is getting tougher and tougher.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 7 months ago from Long Island, NY

      Nothing has changed with InfoBarrel ever since you originally wrote this hub. I just recently checked it out and very quickly realized I would be wasting my time if I had published anything on it.

      The worst thing I discovered was a terrible mistake they made: blocking search engines from seeing any of the posts. They probably did this during a period when they were upgrading the site, but forgot to remove the block.

      In addition, I wrote a couple of times to management and never ever received a response. It also looks like there's only one or two people working there. Really bad news.

      I was so disenchanted by what I discovered that I wrote my own hub about it. It's up-to-date with the latest discoveries on InfoBarrel. It's sad to see that everything you spoke about is still the same.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 3 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      If you read the forum on that site, Glenn, you'll find out that people aren't getting paid and that there is very little going on there.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 3 months ago from Long Island, NY

      Good to see your back Writer Fox. Hope things are okay. That comment you just approved I had left four months ago. The InfoBarrel forum you referred to is about the events that took place since then. I guess you and I were right about them since no one is getting paid anymore. They should have taken a lesson from the way HubPages does things to remain successful.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 3 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      Hi Glenn, I'm not really back on HP. I just have to check in now and then to continue getting paid. Soon, I will remove all my content. I don't care for the mandatory editing which destroys my SEO. I also don't like splitting my income with HP.

    • Glenn Stok profile image

      Glenn Stok 3 months ago from Long Island, NY

      What a shame to see you go. HubPages has been improving tremendously, especially with the niche sites quadrupling my income. I have enjoyed your writing in the past and appreciated the help you always gave to everyone.

      I understand your feelings about not wanting to share revenue, and you're entitled to your opinion. In my opinion, the income is better here, thanks to the professional help of the new curators and editors, than when we publish on our own without that support.

      Anyway, you will be missed. I wish you all the best with your future endeavors.

    • Writer Fox profile image
      Author

      Writer Fox 3 months ago from the wadi near the little river

      Thanks, Glenn. All the best to you!

    Click to Rate This Article