ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"My Side of the Mountain" by Jean Craighead George Children's Book Review: A Great Kids Book For Summer Reading List

Updated on June 21, 2012

Get Your Kids To Read!

Source
Source

J.S.Matthew's Book Rating

5 stars for "My Side of the Mountain" Children's Book Review

What Book Would I Keep If I Was Only Allowed To Keep One Book?

My choice would be "My Side of the Mountain", by author Jean Craighead George. This is the first book in a trilogy about a boy named Sam Gribley who lives in New York and wants to run away. He plots his adventure and heads up into the Catskills Mountains of Upstate New York.

This was my favorite book as a child and I still have my original copy! If I was told that there was only one book that I could keep, this would be the one.

The story starts off with Sam upset with his family life and the desire to run away to be free. He gathers his things and takes off into the Catskill Mountains, a rugged place with constantly changing weather. Will Sam survive the brutal winter?

If so, he will need to learn a lot about the weather, hunters, wild animals and how to gather food and keep it. He will battle loss and hardship, issues with shelter from the elements and there is no shortage of surprises hiding around every corner in this book!


About The Author

Jean Craighead George is an American author, born July 2, 1919 and currently resides in New York. This author has published over 100 Children's and Young Adult books and has won several medals and honors, including the "Newbery Medal". George has also written a Cooking Guide and an Autobiography, "Journey Inward".

Some of her Best Sellers include:

  • A 13 Book Series, the "Moon" series between 1967-1969. The series is a picture book series illustrated by the author. This series was re-published as a new edition (1991-1993)
  • A 3 Book "Mountain" Series including, "My Side of the Mountain" (1959), "On The Far Side of the Mountain" (1990), and "Frightful's Mountain" (1999)
  • "Pocket Guide to the Outdoors: Based On My Side of the Mountain" (2009)
  • Many, Many other titles! Check out the author's Website!


Source

This Is the Book I Would Choose...

As the question stated asked what book we would keep if we could only keep one, "My Side of the Mountain" would be my choice. It is one of those books, although written for children, is fun to read at any age and is hard to put down.

I liked this book because it suits my adventurous personality. The book explores trial and error, loss, love, survival, loneliness and many other important issues that young children experience. I would definitely recommend this book to all school aged children who like adventure. This is by far my favorite book and I am looking forward to rereading it and reading the 2 other sequels to follow!


Source

The Catskill Mountains of Upstate New York

A markercatskill mountains, NY -
Catskill Mountains, United States
get directions

This is where Sam Gribley runs away to in the book, "My Side of the Mountain", by Jean Craighead George.

Vote In the Poll!

Have You Read Any of the "My Side of the Mountain" Books?

See results
Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ardie profile image

      Sondra 5 years ago from Neverland

      Hi JS! I really enjoyed reading this Hub because it introduced me to a new author I can share with my daughters. My oldest child tends to prefer adventure stories and the outdoors. Her birthday is next week and I think this would be a great gift for her!

    • Cloverleaf profile image

      Cloverleaf 5 years ago from Calgary, AB, Canada

      Hi JS Matthew, thanks for sharing your book review, "Side of the Mountain" sounds like it would be a good read for adults and children alike. It's good to bring out the adventurous side in us. Voted up and sharing. Have a great day :)

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @Ardie: Hello! I am happy to share a new author with you! I bet that if you buy this book for your children they will enjoy it! I hope you are able to purchase this book in time for her birthday and I really hope she enjoys it. I bet if you read it you will enjoy it too! Thanks for stopping by Ardie!

      JSMatthew~

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @Cloverleaf: Hello! This really is a great read no matter what age group! I appreciate your comment and votes! Have a wonderful weekend!

      JSMatthew~

    • RealHousewife profile image

      Kelly Umphenour 5 years ago from St. Louis, MO

      Sounds like a great book - and I bet the sequels are just as good. I am reading Catching Fire (the second of the The Hunger Games series) I will have to check it out when I get time.

      I have a thing about books - I never ever get rid of one. I even have all of my college books! lol While other kids sold them back - I couldn't bring myself to do it! I figure - if the world goes bezerk after 2012 or some such disaster - I will have plenty of reading material! lol

      I loved the hub - fun and anything to do with books is cool:)

    • Karen Hellier profile image

      Karen Hellier 5 years ago from Georgia

      Oh my gosh...you are the only other person I have ever known that has read this book besides me!!! I read it as a child, and had dreams of going off an living like this myself. In fact, I sometimes still do.It's a wonderful book and I'm so glad you wrote a hub about it!!!

    • Paradise7 profile image

      Paradise7 5 years ago from Upstate New York

      This book is also a great gift idea for the wee ones in the family at birthdays and Christmas time. Thanks for a good hub.

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @RealHousewife: Hello! This is a great read I must say! I have read the second book in the series but not the third. I am going to buy it soon! Then maybe I can read all three in a row. The books are intended for kids so we can read them fairly fast. I have never read "Catching Fire" but the series looks interesting. I don't ever get rid of book either! I have a lot at my mom's house because I don't have the space for them right now! My dream is to someday have one of those libraries in my house with the moving ladders and leather furniture! I kept all my college books and high school books as well (I went to private and we had to buy our own). Books are awesome! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a great comment!

      JSMatthew~

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @Karen Hellier: Yay! Someone else who has read this book! I think that you are the first person I have met that read this too! I can relate to dreaming about living Sam Gribley's life in the wild! I am glad to bring back some nostalgic memories for you! Thanks for stopping by!

      JSMatthew~

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @Paradise7: This is a great gift idea, especially if you buy the whole trilogy at once! Thanks for pointing that out!

      JSMatthew~

    • moneycop profile image

      moneycop 5 years ago from JABALPUR

      is this written by you..i feel to be a gud book after reading your hub..how to get this book in india

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hello moneycop! No, I didn't write this book. It was written by Jean Craighead George and you can most likely buy the book through one of the Amazon or eBay Ads. I am sure it is available and able to ship to India. Thanks for your comment and questions!

      JSMatthew~

    • tirelesstraveler profile image

      Judy Specht 5 years ago from California

      J.S.- Thanks publicizing this amazing book. My son and I read "My Side of the Mountain" out loud. It was amazing. If there is a book that will encourage someone to read it is this. The kid only survived because the librarian helped him find books on survival.

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      Hello tirelesstraveler! Isn't this such a great book? I really loved it. I must have been 9 or 10 when I first read it and it has stuck with me all these years! That is so awesome that you read this aloud with your son! It is quite an irony that Sam relied on the library books for help! I appreciate your testimony of this book! Thanks for stopping by!

      JSMatthew~

    • profile image

      shariel 5 years ago

      oh my gosh that is so cool

    • J.S.Matthew profile image
      Author

      JS Matthew 5 years ago from Massachusetts, USA

      @shariel: Thanks! I think it's a cool book too!

      JSMatthew~

    Click to Rate This Article