ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

O: A Presidential Novel- A Book Review

Updated on January 16, 2015
PDXKaraokeGuy profile image

Justin W. Price, AKA PDXKaraokeGuy, is a freelance writer, blogger, and award-nominated author based out of Juneau, Alaska.

The Vitals

O: A Presidential Novel by Anonymous (believed to be Mark Salter)

353 pgs, 2011 Simon and Schuster

overall rating 17/35

The novel, and purported author, Mark Salter
The novel, and purported author, Mark Salter

O: a Presidential Novel a Review

Before I get into blasting this book, I will say that it did have some interesting points and it is not entirely terrible... Once the story got rolling, about 150 pages in. This book was my first foray into a purely political novel (I have read nearly everything by Tom Clancy, but while his books has aspects of politcality, they would not be considered political novels) and while it is not a genre I would normally be drawn too, this one intrigued me-- perhaps because the author chose to remain anonymous.

O: A Presidential Novel, relied on two gimmicks, really: An anonymous author who has been in the same room with President Obama. That's intriguing. That makes you buy a book... until you sit back and think about it. If the author is anonymous, why? Does he lack credibility? Is he biased? And, anyone who has been to a presidential rally, speech or debate has been in the same room as President Obama. The insider knowledge in this book is nothing you couldn't figure out by reading press clippings or binging on The West Wing.

The story begins in January 2011, right as the presidential campaign for 2012 is picking up steam. O, thinly veiled as Obama (and why? It is s annoying seeing the word O on the page over and over again. At least give him an actual name, or, gasp, call him Obama.) begins his quest for reelection against republican candidate Tom “Terrific' Morrison, a thinly veiled Romney, right down to the hot headed son and the CEO label with nefarious connections. The story follows both campaign teams and a pool of reporters. While there is some interesting political maneuverings and insights, the characters are paper thin caricatures. There is no depth and nothing to draw you into the characters, most of whom are wholly unlikable. Even the private thoughts and conversations reveal nothing that couldn't be discovered by watching C-Span or reading Time and the Wall Street Journal.

The anonymous author is now believed to be Mark Salter, a former aide of senator and presidential candidate John McCain. So, while Salter would certainly have more insight into the ins and outs of a campaign than your average Joe, it doesn't make him a a great (or even a good) novelist. The book is interesting for it's political insights but these insights are not unique to Salter and probably don't warrant the time that this 353 page book takes to get through.

The other problem with O: A presidential Novel, is that it takes about 150 pages to get started. The first dozen chapters go something like this:

“As Caricature of a Foul Mouthed Campaign Manager began to tie his tie, he reflected on how he got here [ten pages of backstory and then a final sentence, something like: ] He stepped outside to face the world.”

So, for half the novel, the story goes backwards, no forward motion. By the time the story gets moving, you're so bored and fed up with the characters that you don't even care what happens, and find yourself rooting for a third party candidiate to swoop in and take over the presidency (oh, if we could be so lucky!). Backstory is fine but an expert writer can weave it in seamlessly, not slow down the story to tell the entire life story of a minor character.

Salters should stick with non fiction. He has decent writing skills, but he is not a novelist nor even a story teller. And, by the time the novel concludes, one day before the 2012 election day, the reader closes the book not knowing who even wins the election. There is no payoff. But, I shouldn't have been surprised; the whole novel was filled with false starts and false promises.

Writing/Editing Quality: 6/10

Entertainment quality: 10/20

Originality: 1/5

Total Rating: 17/35

My poetry collection

Thanks for Reading

A FREELANCE WRITER, HONORS STUDENT AND GOVER PRIZE FINALIST, JUSTIN W. PRICE (AKA, PDXKARAOKEGUY)IS A POET, SHORT STORY, BIOGRAPHY AND HUMOR WRITER. HIS POETRY COLLECTION,DIGGING TO CHINA, WAS RELEASED FEBRUARY 2ND, 2013 BY SWEATSHOPPE PUBLICATIONS AND IS AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.COM, BARNES AND NOBLE AND THROUGH YOUR LOCAL BOOKSELLER.

HIS WORK IS ALSO FEATURED INBEST NEW FICTION (2014 EDITION), AND HAS APPEARED PREVIOUSLY INTHE RUSTY NAIL, EFICTION, THE CRISIS CHRONICLES, THE HELLROARING REVIEW, BURNINGWORD, SEE SPOT RUN AND THE BELLWETHER REVIEW. HE PREVIOUSLY SERVED AS MANAGING EDITOR OFEPOETRY MAGAZINEAND THE BRIDGEONLINE NEWSPAPER.

HE WORKS IN A MEAT AND SEAFOOD DEPARTMENT FOR A HEALTH FOOD GROCERY STORE. HE ALSO WORKS AS FREELANCE WRITER, EDITOR, AND GHOST WRITER, AND IS WORKING TOWARDS HIS PH.D. HE LIVES IN A SUBURB OF PORTLAND, OREGON WITH HIS WIFE, ANDREA, THEIR LABRADOODLE, BELLA, AND A NAMED SHPOO, SAUVEE.

PLEASE VISIT HISPROFILE FOR MORE INFORMATION. THANKS!

This was originally published on Hubpages under the name "PDXKARAOKEGUY" on the above date. He owns the copyright. If you are viewing this elsewhere, then you are reading stolen content. Please notify the author and the thief immediately and vacate the page.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Perspycacious profile image

      Demas W Jasper 

      3 years ago from Today's America and The World Beyond

      Sounds like a title to avoid, and I much prefer to read a review of a book you wold recommend. Good effort.

    • Hooks and Needles profile image

      Hooks and Needles 

      3 years ago

      Thanks for the review. I won't buy the book and had thought about it before.

    • PDXKaraokeGuy profile imageAUTHOR

      Justin W Price 

      3 years ago from Juneau, Alaska

      Thank you and you're welcome.

    • tirelesstraveler profile image

      Judy Specht 

      3 years ago from California

      You have saved me from reading a book I have no time to read any way. Many Thanks.

      I like your style.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)