ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review of Unwholly: The Neal Shusterman sequel to Unwind

Updated on July 9, 2013

Book 2 of the Unwind Trilogy

The new release Unwholly by Neal Shusterman is the second book in the Unwind trilogy. The book is set in the future, after America has gone through a second civil war, which came to be known as the Heartland War. The war ended when pro-life and pro-choice armies reached an agreement which protected all life from inception to age 13. It also allowed "retro-abortion" for troubled teens, also known as "Unwinding".

The first book in the trilogy centered around a diverse group of teenagers that were all supposed to be unwound. Each had their own story and reason for being in this position, but by the end of the book several of them had escaped the Harvest camps and were hiding until they reach the safe age of 18, when it once again becomes illegal to Unwind them.

The second book, Unwholly, continues the story line of the kids that escaped the unwinding and also gives us many more details as to how and why the Heartland Wars occurred in the first place.


Recap of some of the Unwinding basics

If you have not read the first book, I highly recommend you read that before Unwholly. Since the original book was intended to be a stand-alone novel, there was a five year gap between the two books. However, the author did a great job of "summarizing" the key terms needed to understand the premise of the first book and refresh our memories. He placed this at the beginning of the book in a dictionary type format and it was very helpful.

Here are a few of the key terms:

1) Unwinding is the process by which the individual is dismantled.

2) The Unwind Accord is the law that states that 99.44 percent of the person must be used and kept alive in the form of a transplant. They are not considered dead, because the majority of them continue to live on in the various transplant recipients.

3) Once an individual has been unwound, it is called the divided state.

4) The teens are shipped to harvest camps, where the process of unwinding is actually performed. Think of a harvest camp like a detention center where the kids are kept until it is time. They are fed healthy meals and kept physically fit, because it is not to anyone's benefit if the donors are unfit.

5) Tithes are teenagers that were born and dedicated at birth to be unwound. Some religious and elite circles choose to tithe one of their children, similar to tithing money in today's standards. These children are raised being taught that they are very special and that becoming a tithe is their sole purpose in life. They are dressed in white from birth and treated very special. When they turn 13 they have a tithing party, like a sweet sixteen, and are then sent to the Harvest camps.

6) Clappers are teens who protest the Unwinding by blowing themselves up. Similar to suicide bombers, only the explosive device is themselves. They drink a highly combustible liquid and then when they cause the most damage, they clap their hands together and explode.


Preview of Unwholly

Unwholly: Has the future gotten better or worse?

After the "uprising" and destruction caused by clappers at Happy Jack Harvest camp, there were some changes. The Unwind Accords were not abolished, but the age cap for unwinding was lowered from eighteen to seventeen. This was great for all the seventeen year-old kids who were sitting in the harvest camps waiting to be unwound. They were all set free.

You would think this would be a step in a positive direction, however, society has become very dependent on the donor parts and begin to experience a shortage. The media and various special interest groups begin aggressive campaigns targeting parents and guardians to think of society's greater good. The black market for unwinding also increases dramatically and creates a very seedy underground network of bounty hunters who don't care if a teen is a run-away or kidnapped. Good money can be made for these kids and no one is regulating the black market.

Some lobbyists are trying to make it legal for adults to "voluntarily unwind" for profit. If you have been out of work for a year, you have a family to support and you are about to get foreclosed on your home--you could provide for them with the money you would be paid for your parts.

One corporation is even able to create a "superhuman" from 100% donated parts. Built from the very best donations of over 100 Unwinds and Tithes, this boy is closer to perfection than any other human being. But if he was created and not born, does he have a soul? Is he really human? Or is he a monster?

This dystopian society seems almost impossible to comprehend in today's world. But as we continue to see the value of human life decline and man's inhumanity to man, is it really such an outlandish possibility?


Heartland War mystery and other plot lines

The author Neal Shusterman originally had not planned for there to be a sequel. The storyline in Unwind, while still complete, did leave some open-ended situations. It was an excellent novel by itself, but continuing the storyline in 2 additional books allowed Shusterman to "fill in the blanks" and he created a rich backstory and intrigue into how the Unwind Accords and the Heartland War came to be. While Unwholly did continue with a few of the characters from the original book, it also added several new characters and started giving us brief glimpses into the shrouded mystery behind the wars and the accords. Just like real history, the victor gets to tell the story. So finding the truth requires some dangerous research.

Of course no teen dystopian novel would be complete without some love interests and teen angst. Shusterman is able to work in some of these themes fairly subtly and although the subject matter would lend itself to some graphic violence, it really isn't too bad. There was still plenty of excitement and suspense. I highly recommend this for both the young adults and not-so-young adults.

The third and final book in the series, Unsouled, should be released in the fall of 2013 and if it lives up to the first two books, it will well be worth the wait.

4 stars for Unwholly:Book 2 in the Unwind Trilogy

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      Thanks Miss Mimi, like I mentioned, I enjoyed Unwind without knowing that it was going to have additional books added. I hope you enjoy it, it is pretty creepy!

    • Miss Mimi profile image

      Miss Mimi 

      5 years ago from On the road again

      Oooooo! This sounds deliciously creepy! Thanks for the recommendation! Excellent review, voted up and useful! I'll definitely be downloading Unwind today!

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      Thanks alocsin, yes dystopian novels (especially for the young adults category) are really popular. I think my son has at least 15 different apocalyptic or dystopian series on his book shelf. Thanks for commenting!

    • alocsin profile image

      alocsin 

      5 years ago from Orange County, CA

      What an intriguing premise for a series, which taps into the current trend toward dystopian novels. Voting this Up and Interesting.

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      I would definitely recommend it. Thanks for commenting!

    • loveofnight profile image

      loveofnight 

      5 years ago from Baltimore, Maryland

      Sounds like a good read indeed, I believe that I may have to put this one on my to read list. Thanks for the review and keep hubbing.

    • btrbell profile image

      Randi Benlulu 

      5 years ago from Mesa, AZ

      I have actually read a few, thank you!

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      I'm a big fan of Walking Dead, Trueblood and the Hunger games myself! I do have to say, if you are only watching the HBO series, you are missing out. The Sookie Stackhouse novels that Trueblood is loosely based off of is really fun. I recommend those for a fun read too. Thanks for commenting!

    • btrbell profile image

      Randi Benlulu 

      5 years ago from Mesa, AZ

      Interesting. From someone who has just recently been introduced to The Walking Dead, trueblood and Game of Thrones and a big fan of Hunger Games, this could be right up my alley! thank you for the review!

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      I will admit, I really did enjoy this one. Its probably a good thing I didn't find it till last year. Five years would have been a long time to wait for the sequel!

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      Good review. It comes out you really like this book. Thank you.

    • mpropp profile imageAUTHOR

      Melissa Propp 

      5 years ago from Minnesota

      I bet it will be a movie eventually...The author was a little ahead of his time and all the dystopian young adult books hadn't hit their peak. The first book was a "slow burner", but actually started selling really well 3-4 years after the original publication. I just found it in Barnes and Noble a year ago and assumed it was new!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I've never heard of the trilogy but it sounds interesting. I'm surprised it hasn't been made into a movie. Thanks for the review; I may have to give it a try. Lots of time to read with winter approaching. :)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)