ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Science, Exploration, and Humor in New Book for Fans of Jennifer Holm

Updated on September 19, 2018
chewtt2 profile image

Cindy Hewitt is a retired teacher with a passion for children's literature. Read-aloud stories add quality to a child's life experiences.

Funny and Engaging Story to Spark and Interest in Science for Middle Grade Readers

Funny and engaging read for students in middle grades-teachers who teach science will love this book
Funny and engaging read for students in middle grades-teachers who teach science will love this book | Source

Humor Can be a Part of Scientific Exploration

Jennifer L. Holm's The Third Mushroom is here as a sequel to her popular chapter book The Fourteenth Goldfish. Fans will find this funny read to be engaging and will want to explore other scientists after reading.

Ellie's grandpa is a famous scientist who happens to be in a 14-year-old's body. He appears out of nowhere one day in Ellie's bathroom. Ellie had not seen her grandpa for over a year, and his appearance as a boy is a huge surprise. Grandpa had turned himself young!. Grandpa was always experimenting with scientific ideas and now this new idea had changed him. Grandpa has come to visit and and all kinds of adventures with science begin. Ellie is especially excited to have Grandpa help her with the upcoming project for her county science fair and hopes to come up with a winning project for the fair. She and Grandpa team up to put a winning project together. Chicken nuggets and fruit flies are combined to create the experimental project for the science fair. Ellie's project did not win, but Ellie learned a valuable lesson. Grandpa reminded her that real scientists are rarely recognized for their achievements during their lifetime. A surprising ending with the actual result of the experiment teaches Ellie that old age is something to be valued. Grandpa also turns himself back into the old man that he actually is before he goes away for his next traveling adventure. Ellie is thrilled to have him as he actually is-her Grandpa!

Holm includes a section of several renowned scientists at the conclusion of the story that readers will want to explore. She writes a brief biography of each with a description of their contribution to science. She also includes a brief list of recommended books and websites for young scientists to explore. Her take-away lesson from The Third Mushroom is that scientists should never be afraid of failure and that experimenting is an important part of science.

The Third Mushroom was published by Random House Children's Books and is recommended for young readers in middle school. It has an ISBN of 978-1-5247-1980-7.

A Fun Read for Science Students

The Third Mushroom is a great choice for science teachers in middle school classrooms who want to spark an interest in science experiments for their students. Experiments are a large part of research and young scientists will learn along with Ellie that some experiments succeed and some fail.

*Read The Third Mushroom in a group reading session with a few chapters each day. The book can also be assigned for students to read individually. Call attention to Ellie's interest in participating in the science fair.

**What are some of the fun objects that Ellie and her grandpa collect to do experiments with? How do they use food in their experiments?

***Brainstorm with students about creative experiments that they might like to have in their classroom lab. Teachers might like to place students in groups to invent a science project to present to the class.

****Call attention to the list of renowned scientists and the brief bios at the end of the story. Discuss each scientist and their contribution to the world with their scientific discovery. Students might like to present a project on each scientist throughout the year. Teachers can assign a scientist to a group for additional reports.

*****Assign reading and research projects from the included list of books and websites for young scientists to use throughout the year.

******Brainstorm with students about using food in a science experiment. Students might like to create experiments with their favorite food item.

*******Turn your classroom into a science fair for students to compete for prizes. This project might be an ending for a fun-filled year of science exploration.

Renowned Scientists and Their Contributions to Science

Source
Source
Source
Source

Science in the Middle School Classrooms

Do you use creative books to spark and interest in science for your students?

See results

© 2018 Cindy Hewitt

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)