ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Second Life Book Review

Updated on June 23, 2018

About the book

Author: S J Watson

Publisher: Black Swan

She's living two lives. She might lose both.

The storyline

Julie seems to have the perfect life. She lives with her husband Hugh, who is a surgeon, and son Connor, who she adopted from her sister Kate. But when her sister is brutally murdered in Paris, this leaves her distraught, understandably. But when it seems the French police come to a standstill in their investigations, Julia decides to do some digging herself. There is animosity between Julia and Kate though, as Kate phones her up one night accusing her of stealing her son. When, in fact, Kate had a history of being unstable and not being able to cope, which is why Julia and Hugh took on the care of Connor. So right from the start of the book you can tell things are going to be difficult for Julia.

Julia travels to Paris and goes to the flat she shared with Anna. Anna gives Julia a box of Kate's things. And in this box she finds login details to a dating website. With the intent of finding out information on Kate's online life, she logs into website using her sisters login details. But she then decides to create her own profile and gets talking to Lukas. In Julia's eyes, she is merely trying to find out information about Kate. But things start taking a turn when she starts talking to Lukas, and they begin flirting online. They eventually meet in real life and from then on in, she is leading 2 lives. She comes very close to losing everything around her because of her own doing.

As she begins her affair with Lukas, the real reason behind why she went on the dating website seems to be put on the back burner. She finds herself attracted to Lukas, but at the same time, comes dangerously close to losing everything. Both of them tell lies to each other and this inevitably ends up creating problems. Lukas isn't all what he says he is. And with everything at risk, it seems that Julia has made a very big mistake. Julia is also a recovering alcoholic, so all this added stress isn't helping her, and there are 1 or 2 times in the book when she slips.

Source

My Thoughts

I haven't read S J Watson's first book, Before I Go To Sleep. So I had no idea what sort of book this would be, or what he is like as an author. The book I found gripping and unable to put down. What was interesting about this book is that fact that you think you have got to know someone, but they turn out to be completely different. It wasn't until the very end of the book that you realise just who people are.

Julie, the main character in the book, wants to find out who killed her sister. But by doing this she ends up in a series of twisted events with Lukas and Anna. Both of them tell lies to each other, yet carry on with the sordid affair. And things become dangerous as things get out of control on her part. Lukas isn't who he says he is and nor is Anna. Reading about Anna was really the most interesting part of the book as you see what kind of person she really is. I thought Watson's writing style is excellent and how the characters deceive you into thinking they're someone they're not. It's not till towards the end of the book you realise what exactly is going on.

This psychological thriller I found to be readable and enjoyable. The only disappointment was the ending, I think that could have had a different ending as I thought the story was left unfinished. That said, the book is well written with good, strong characters in it. There is certainly a lot of drama and tension in the book. But I'll take a point off for the ending as, like I say, I don't feel I know exactly what happened. That being said, I thought the story itself was good and exciting to read. I couldn't put the book down once I'd started it.

Second Life by S J Watson

© 2018 Louise Powles

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment
    • MsDora profile image

      Dora Weithers 

      23 months ago from The Caribbean

      Sounds like a great story. I would love to follow the conflict(s) in Julia's mind and how (or if) they are resolved. Thanks for the review.

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      23 months ago from Houston, TX USA

      A person (Julia) cannot legally take custody of someone elses child without court order. The issue should be explained.

      A person with coping and drug problems needs professional help.

      This is why I prefer interactive writing such as HubPages.

    • Coffeequeeen profile imageAUTHOR

      Louise Powles 

      23 months ago from Norfolk, England

      It doesn't go into detail about the court system. The author just mentions that Kate can't cope and has had problems with drugs, which is why Julia took custody of him. And there's no discussion of a psychiatrist. Thankyou for reading my review. =)

    • Jay C OBrien profile image

      Jay C OBrien 

      23 months ago from Houston, TX USA

      Does the book explain the child custody issue by the court system?

      Does the book go into the mental health issue by a psychiatrist?

    • Jodah profile image

      John Hansen 

      23 months ago from Queensland Australia

      Louise, this was a wonderful review and you do make the book sound quite gripping. I enjoy psychological thrillers so this is now on my 'to read' list.

    • Sean Dragon profile image

      Ioannis Arvanitis 

      23 months ago from Greece, Almyros

      Excellent review, as always, my dear Louise! And your opinion is helpful, too! Thank you for sharing!

      Sean

    • aesta1 profile image

      Mary Norton 

      23 months ago from Ontario, Canada

      I have not yet read any of S.J.Watson's books but I do like a psychological thriller. I am just slugging on non-fiction books now so this could be one I might enjoy. I don't like unclear endings though.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      23 months ago from USA

      Sounds like a great book, the kind I’d like to read except for that disappointing ending. I hope to read this!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://maven.io/company/pages/privacy

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
    ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)